Premise Occupancy and Lighting control

Motorola Premise

kzboray

I've installed a couple of occupancy sensors and would like to control lighting with them. To start off I added the SmartRooms Class from the Premise help. I quickly found it had errors in the code that didn't allow it to work. I then tried writing my own code (I have no experience writing code). I managed to setup a OnChangeMotionDetected script that kinda works.

Code:
If Home.House.Second_Floor.Master_Bathroom.Occupancy = True Then
	 If system.times.sysTime > system.times.sysSunset(system.times.sysDate) Then
		  Home.House.Second_Floor.Master_Bathroom.RecessedLight.PowerState = True
		  addTimer 180,"Home.House.Second_Floor.Master_Bathroom.RecessedLight.PowerState = False",1,this.Name
	 End If
End If

This works as long as it is before midnight. I assume that at midnight sysSunset move to the next day and therefore the check is no longer true, and it falls through the logic check.

I also tried:

Code:
	 If system.times.sysTime > system.times.sysSunset(system.times.sysDate) And _
	 system.times.sysTime < system.times.sysSunRise(system.times.sysDate)
		  Home.House.Second_Floor.Master_Bathroom.RecessedLight.PowerState = True
		  addTimer 180,"Home.House.Second_Floor.Master_Bathroom.RecessedLight.PowerState = False",1,this.Name
	 End If
End If

This causes a impending overflow error. Again I am assuming this is due to the sysSunset and sysSunrise potentially being different days.

So..............

How do you all have your occupancy sensors setup?

Ultimately I would like to be able to have multiple brightnesses depending on the time of day and the state of my alarm panel. Any examples would be much appreciated.

Kaz

Kaz, search for "sysSunset method" in Premise's help file. Notice how the example checks if the current time is between Sunset and Sunrise.

So if we apply the same thinking to your first code example:

Code:
With Home.House.Second_Floor.Master_Bathroom
   If .Occupancy Then