Jump to content


Photo

Who? What? Where?


  • Please log in to reply
37 replies to this topic

#1 AO-Brandon

AO-Brandon

    Dedicated Cocooner

  • Vendors
  • PipPipPip
  • 157 posts
  • Location:Lewisville, TX

Posted 18 June 2008 - 08:03 AM

Teaser image ... ;)

Attached File  IMG_0066___Copy.JPG   74.13K   468 downloads

#2 ASIHome

ASIHome

    Dedicated Cocooner

  • Vendors
  • PipPipPip
  • 501 posts

Posted 18 June 2008 - 09:03 AM

HAI OmniPro II w/16 zone expander.

Edited by ASIHome, 18 June 2008 - 09:03 AM.


#3 AO-Brandon

AO-Brandon

    Dedicated Cocooner

  • Vendors
  • PipPipPip
  • 157 posts
  • Location:Lewisville, TX

Posted 18 June 2008 - 09:09 AM

HAI OmniPro II w/16 zone expander.


Close! there are TWO 16 zone hardwire expanders ... ;)

hehe

#4 ASIHome

ASIHome

    Dedicated Cocooner

  • Vendors
  • PipPipPip
  • 501 posts

Posted 18 June 2008 - 09:13 AM

Now that I look closer, I can see the edge of the second board.

#5 AnthonyZ

AnthonyZ

    Dedicated Cocooner

  • -=Gold Supporter=-
  • 662 posts
  • Location:Denver, CO
  • Experience:guru
  • Software:CQC
  • Hardware:HAI OmniPro II, Custom
  • Tech:UPB, ZigBee, Custom
  • CCTV:analog, ip, dvr

Posted 18 June 2008 - 11:10 AM

While clearly very well done, God forbid it ever requires service or changes...

#6 Photon

Photon

    Dedicated Cocooner

  • Registered
  • PipPipPip
  • 440 posts
  • Location:SE Wisconsin
  • Hardware:Elk M1
  • Tech:X10-PLC
  • Video:Windows Media Center
  • CCTV:analog, ip
  • Phone:Vonage

Posted 18 June 2008 - 11:18 AM

Looks really nice. Please show us another one zoomed out to include the individual cable labels.

#7 AO-Brandon

AO-Brandon

    Dedicated Cocooner

  • Vendors
  • PipPipPip
  • 157 posts
  • Location:Lewisville, TX

Posted 18 June 2008 - 12:30 PM

While clearly very well done, God forbid it ever requires service or changes...


Every single screw terminal on the panel is terminated to a 110 distribution block, so if a change ever needs to be made all I have to do is change a wire configuration on the 110 block. The only time the panel would ever need to be removed would be in the event of a catastrophic failure, and in that situation I could just un-snap the terminal strips.

Looks really nice. Please show us another one zoomed out to include the individual cable labels.


For some reason, I am unable to actually upload images here, so I will point you to my website where you can view all the lates images as they are available. I will not be able to work on it this weekend so it may be another week before an update ... ;)

Click here for photos!!!

#8 Photon

Photon

    Dedicated Cocooner

  • Registered
  • PipPipPip
  • 440 posts
  • Location:SE Wisconsin
  • Hardware:Elk M1
  • Tech:X10-PLC
  • Video:Windows Media Center
  • CCTV:analog, ip
  • Phone:Vonage

Posted 18 June 2008 - 01:40 PM

Brandon, I hate 66-blocks because I seem to always get the wire I'm punching down caught in the adjacent pickle fork. Additionally, I usually manage to tear up my hands when populating a panel. In spite of that, I use them because I have not mastered the art of removing C-4 or C-5 clips without damaging the basic 110-block when I have to test wires or make changes. An LVDS contractor where I work told me to grab the C-4 with a channel lock and wiggle vertically until it loosens from the bumps, then horizontally until it snaps off the frame. Then he cracked the frame at the row of little bumps the clip catches on when he demonstrated this for me, just like what happens when I've done it.

Do you have a technique that works? Is there a special tool for the job?

Regards. . . .John

#9 AO-Brandon

AO-Brandon

    Dedicated Cocooner

  • Vendors
  • PipPipPip
  • 157 posts
  • Location:Lewisville, TX

Posted 18 June 2008 - 04:39 PM

Brandon, I hate 66-blocks because I seem to always get the wire I'm punching down caught in the adjacent pickle fork. Additionally, I usually manage to tear up my hands when populating a panel. In spite of that, I use them because I have not mastered the art of removing C-4 or C-5 clips without damaging the basic 110-block when I have to test wires or make changes. An LVDS contractor where I work told me to grab the C-4 with a channel lock and wiggle vertically until it loosens from the bumps, then horizontally until it snaps off the frame. Then he cracked the frame at the row of little bumps the clip catches on when he demonstrated this for me, just like what happens when I've done it.

Do you have a technique that works? Is there a special tool for the job?

Regards. . . .John


an IDC remover and a "hooked" icepick is the only method i have found to work. The IDC remover will distribute pressure evenly along the entire surface of the C4, and the icepick is used to lightly lift up the part that hooks into the "bumps". Unfortunately, the 110 block is not designed as a temporary solution, so there is no "fool-proof" method ...

#10 AnthonyZ

AnthonyZ

    Dedicated Cocooner

  • -=Gold Supporter=-
  • 662 posts
  • Location:Denver, CO
  • Experience:guru
  • Software:CQC
  • Hardware:HAI OmniPro II, Custom
  • Tech:UPB, ZigBee, Custom
  • CCTV:analog, ip, dvr

Posted 18 June 2008 - 05:06 PM

While clearly very well done, God forbid it ever requires service or changes...


Every single screw terminal on the panel is terminated to a 110 distribution block, so if a change ever needs to be made all I have to do is change a wire configuration on the 110 block. The only time the panel would ever need to be removed would be in the event of a catastrophic failure, and in that situation I could just un-snap the terminal strips.

Looks really nice. Please show us another one zoomed out to include the individual cable labels.


For some reason, I am unable to actually upload images here, so I will point you to my website where you can view all the lates images as they are available. I will not be able to work on it this weekend so it may be another week before an update ... ;)

Click here for photos!!!

Fair enough. In following your link, I found a couple more photos. Frick, that is pretty. I've pulled the truck in the garage and left it running as there's no way I can top that. Seriously, you've pushed me to another level with your dressing and my client's will be better served (if paying a bit more for time) by it! I've uploaded a couple that show my most recent piss ant work...hanging my head in shame...

Attached Files


Edited by AnthonyZ, 18 June 2008 - 05:12 PM.


#11 AO-Brandon

AO-Brandon

    Dedicated Cocooner

  • Vendors
  • PipPipPip
  • 157 posts
  • Location:Lewisville, TX

Posted 19 June 2008 - 07:23 AM

Fair enough. In following your link, I found a couple more photos. Frick, that is pretty. I've pulled the truck in the garage and left it running as there's no way I can top that. Seriously, you've pushed me to another level with your dressing and my client's will be better served (if paying a bit more for time) by it! I've uploaded a couple that show my most recent piss ant work...hanging my head in shame...


LOL Anthony! Your wiring job is fine! Thing is, you do it for profit and I am OCD :ph34r: ... Just think ... I can spend over 90 hours (EASY) just on dressing wires!! ;) :o

Edited by BrandonStapp, 19 June 2008 - 07:24 AM.


#12 Steve

Steve

    Cocoonut

  • Registered
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 3764 posts
  • Location:South Fla
  • Experience:guru
  • Software:CQC
  • Hardware:HAI OmniPro II
  • Tech:UPB, ZigBee, CentraLite
  • Audio:Nuvo
  • Video:SageTV
  • CCTV:ip

Posted 19 June 2008 - 08:06 AM

Are those actually EOL's AT the panel??? The OmniPro does not let you wire as plain N/C like the Elk letting you eliminate the wasted EOL at the panel??

#13 AO-Brandon

AO-Brandon

    Dedicated Cocooner

  • Vendors
  • PipPipPip
  • 157 posts
  • Location:Lewisville, TX

Posted 19 June 2008 - 08:11 AM

The main board does not require EOL, but any of the expansion enclosures DO require the EOL resistors. We will be carrying the contacts with the resistors built in for HAI soon.

#14 Snypez

Snypez

    Dedicated Cocooner

  • Registered
  • PipPipPip
  • 355 posts
  • Location:Chi-Town

Posted 19 June 2008 - 12:49 PM

Wow, very nice Brandon. Quick look, you can't even tell there's wires running to it, lol!

#15 AO-Brandon

AO-Brandon

    Dedicated Cocooner

  • Vendors
  • PipPipPip
  • 157 posts
  • Location:Lewisville, TX

Posted 19 June 2008 - 01:23 PM

Wow, very nice Brandon. Quick look, you can't even tell there's wires running to it, lol!


:P Thanks!




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users