How do you guys charge?

gf5300

Maybe somebody here can steer me in the right path.
I am seriously considering starting an HA business. Due to the lack of knowledge (really, more like zero) where I live, I went ahead and educated myself and automated my new construction house mostly with HAI products. I have almost completed the project with almost all the subsystems normally associated with HA. I have had several friends and neighboors asking me to do the same with their homes for a fee. I do consider myself quite capable of doing it again. I will also be attending HAI factory training shortly to pursue a dealer certification.
I am a professional pilot and do have a lot of free time to work on the business part time. My intention is to advertise and to showcase my own home by appointment to prospective clients.
Due to the lack of competition in my neck of the woods and the enjoyment I get from this field, I believe this enterprise is worth giving it a try.
With that said, how does an HA integrator charge for services? Does he make money stricktly on selling the hardware or does he also charge for planning, programming and installation? How about call backs such as reprogramming or adding extra features?
Any help would be appreciated.

I think you're in a great part of the state to start your HA business. Also make sure you hit the area between Port Aransas and Rockport. There is a lot of business just north of you without many installers at all. I've met with builders in Port A and they don't have a clue or even know where to find people to do that type of work. With the rapid rising in home prices down there and the amount of new building, it's a great market.