Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

Interfacing with Rainbird ESP-LX irrigation controller


  • Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 keepersg

keepersg

    Cocooner

  • Registered
  • PipPip
  • 91 posts
  • Location:Portland, OR

Posted 04 September 2008 - 05:28 PM

The new rainbird controllers can be upgraded with a module that communicates via rs232 or by modem with a computer running rainbirds proprietary IQ software. Seems to be entirely a dealer item as I can't find anywhere on the net to purchase these. Anybody have any experience with these, a source for the protocol or a plug in for standard HA packages?

#2 Work2Play

Work2Play

    Cocoonut

  • -=Gold Supporter=-
  • 4394 posts
  • Location:Northern California
  • Experience:guru
  • Software:Elve
  • Hardware:Elk M1, RUC-01
  • Tech:X10-RF, UPB
  • Audio:AirPlay
  • Video:XBMC
  • CCTV:ip, dvr
  • Phone:3CX, Asterisk, FreePBX, Grandstream, Ooma

Posted 05 September 2008 - 09:48 PM

If you can at least get your hands on one, it's pretty easy to monitor the communications and learn how to talk to them the way the app does... I've done that with devices in the past.

Perhaps they're just not out yet - they may have just made the announcement a little before the product was ready - happens all the time.

#3 Ranger Digital

Ranger Digital

    Dedicated Cocooner

  • Registered
  • PipPipPip
  • 801 posts
  • Location:Temple, TX

Posted 26 October 2010 - 08:40 PM

Old thread but its all I could find.

A custom home is being built and the customers irriagation company is installing a Rainbird ESP. Still want the manual control and all the automatic control that the rainbird supplied, however, would like to be able to interface with it via HAI OPII. I ran a cat5 from HAI can to where controller will be located.

What else do I need to do? One cat suffice?

Will I be able to comminicate with it?

Will I be able to make changes? Automate it via HAI?

Iphone/ipad control?

Any input would help. Sheet rock is going up in days and I dont want to miss something for the prewire.

The installer is open to changing to another model or maybe even manufacturer. As I understand it, the Rain8 is for automation only via something other than a physical control.

Appriate your thoughts. I figured there would be TONS of threads on this. Couldnt find it.

Thanks!

#4 BraveSirRobbin

BraveSirRobbin

    Cocoonut

  • Moderators
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 7018 posts
  • Location:Las Vegas, Nevada
  • Experience:guru
  • Software:Main Lobby
  • Hardware:CaddX, Elk M1, Ocelot
  • Tech:X10-RF
  • Video:SageTV
  • CCTV:analog, ip, dvr
  • Phone:OBi100/110, Ooma

Posted 26 October 2010 - 09:46 PM

http://wgldesigns.com/rain8pro.html




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users