Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

Mamac Current Sensing Switch/Switches, CT-800/CT800 NEW on Ebay


  • Please log in to reply
47 replies to this topic

#1 jwilson56

jwilson56

    Cocoonut

  • Registered
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1582 posts
  • Experience:average
  • Software:Elve, Girder, HomeSeer, NetRemote
  • Hardware:Elk M1, Ocelot, Custom
  • Tech:X10-PLC, X10-RF, 1-Wire, xAP, xPL
  • Audio:Custom
  • Video:SageTV
  • CCTV:dvr

Posted 26 September 2008 - 02:46 PM

Came across this item while looking for relay based current sensors to replace my CD Magnetics/Powerflash setup and tie it into my Elk.

This is a good deal on these...

Here is his description:


This item was acquired at a salvage freight sale recently, and they are brand new in the original, unopened factory bags. The cheapest I found them online was $25 apiece, and we only received one small box, so they won't last very long.

Best I can tell from reading about them, you run a wire or cable through the center hole of the switch. When the switch senses current traveling through the cable, the internal contacts close and connect the two wires attached to the screw terminals on top of the switch. The really neat thing is that the switch is passively powered by the flow of current through the center hole, and there is no current loss at the terminals as a result of powering the switch. Moreover, they can use either AC or DC voltage through the hole to power the switch, and the switch can control a .3 amp AC or DC load at any voltage up to 135V. These would solve a lot of voltage and amperage compatibility problems and prevent dozens of trips back to the shop to get parts. Not to sound like a snake oil salesman, but you might say they are "good fer what ails ya."

According to the calipers:

Length of mounting base: 3.500"

Length of switch body, excluding mounting base: 2.398"

Overall width: .940"

Inner core diameter: .730"

Mounting holes: .188" (3/16") spaced 3.020" OC (on centers)

The labels read as follows:

1A SETPOINT 0.3A @ 135 VAC/VDC MAX CT-800
MAMAC SYSTEMS
Minneapolis, MN 55344
MADE IN USA
CE (certification mark)
UL UL (certification marks)
id LISTED 5T44

MAMAC SYSTEMS
Minneapolis, MN 55344
MADE IN USA
LISTED 5T44 c (UL certification mark) US Ind. Con. Eq.


According to the manufacturer:

MAMAC CURRENT SWITCHES

Easy to install

Small size, built-in mounting flanges, and topmounted terminals

Intelligent design

-- Self-powered
-- Solid-core
-- UL listed and CSA certified
-- Compatible with EMS, SCADA, and automation systems

Broad application

CTs monitor all types of fans, pumps, heating elements, motors, lamps, and relays

The CT 800 Series provides a wide selection of current switching options in a small and durable solid-core design. These self-powered switches can be easily hung or tied directly to cables or wires. All models are UL listed and CSA certified and are compatible with EMS, SCADA, and automation systems. The CT current switches monitor all types of fans, pumps, heating elements, motors, lamps and relays.

Specifications -- CT-800

Monitored AC Current: 1 to 250 amps
Maximum Currents:
250 amps maximum continuous
500 amps maximum for 6 seconds
1000 amps maximum for 1 second
Switching Characteristics: sensor trips at 1 amp
Switches up to 0.3 amp continuous, 120 VAC or 120 VDC with zero offstate leakage
Contact is not polarity-sensitive. Switch can be used for both AC and DC circuits
Response Time: Depends on how much greater the load is than the setpoint. Motor-starting surges up to 6 times FLA can be as low as 0.2 seconds. If the setpoint is very close to the load, response time will be longer.
Isolation Voltage: UL/CSA approved for a withstand voltage of 1240 VAC
Temperature Range: -50C to 65C (-58F to 149F)




http://cgi.ebay.com/...id=p3286.c0.m14

#2 123

123

    Cocoonut

  • Registered
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 2054 posts
  • Location:Montreal, QC
  • Experience:average
  • Software:Premise
  • Hardware:Elk M1

Posted 26 September 2008 - 03:01 PM

More info: http://www.aamextras...s/MMC/CU_CT.pdf

Neat; attractive price! It'll activate when it detects at least 1A (a tad too high for a doorbell detector). What will you be using them for?

#3 sic0048

sic0048

    Cocoonut

  • Registered
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1583 posts
  • Location:South Carolina
  • Experience:guru
  • Software:CQC
  • Hardware:Elk M1
  • Tech:CentraLite
  • Audio:B&K
  • Video:SageTV
  • CCTV:ip
  • Phone:Asterisk, FreePBX, VoIP via ISP

Posted 26 September 2008 - 03:53 PM

Those look pretty cool. I don't think I have a need for one, but I can see their benefit.

FYI - these don't look like they are split core, so just make sure the power plug is small enough to go through the hole, or that your power cord can be disconnected and feed through the hole.

#4 DeLicious

DeLicious

    Dedicated Cocooner

  • Registered
  • PipPipPip
  • 773 posts
  • Location:Seattle, WA
  • Experience:guru
  • Software:Harmony
  • Tech:Z-Wave, ZigBee

Posted 26 September 2008 - 03:58 PM

sounds like a good way to see if the tv is off or on... connect the relay back to the global cache and it will tell your automation system what the tv status is (assuming the tv draws under 1A while in standby).

or i guess whether the washer and dryer are still going... would be good for a whole-house reminder that the dryer is finished and get the damn clothes out of the dryer already, wife.

#5 jwilson56

jwilson56

    Cocoonut

  • Registered
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1582 posts
  • Experience:average
  • Software:Elve, Girder, HomeSeer, NetRemote
  • Hardware:Elk M1, Ocelot, Custom
  • Tech:X10-PLC, X10-RF, 1-Wire, xAP, xPL
  • Audio:Custom
  • Video:SageTV
  • CCTV:dvr

Posted 26 September 2008 - 04:41 PM

Ok a couple of technical items if you decide to use these.

First you must only put one leg od a cord through the hole to have it detect current. I often buy a cheap short orange extension cord and cut into it carefully and separate the wires and cut the black wire then wrap that wire around the hole then solder it back together.

Second.... most current devices like will multiply the current sensing for each turn of wire you wrap into the hole.

I use these for the dryer as well as anything else you want to monitor its power state. I have used the CR Magnetics ones in the past with a Powerflash X10 unit as it put out AC voltage. These however have a built in relay. In fact the entire unit is self powered. So you only need to wire it into anything that needs a closed contact such as an Elk zone or an Ocelot input.

Yeah you can't beat the price and his shipping is some of the lowest I have ever seen on Ebay.

Edited by jwilson56, 26 September 2008 - 04:43 PM.


#6 jwilson56

jwilson56

    Cocoonut

  • Registered
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1582 posts
  • Experience:average
  • Software:Elve, Girder, HomeSeer, NetRemote
  • Hardware:Elk M1, Ocelot, Custom
  • Tech:X10-PLC, X10-RF, 1-Wire, xAP, xPL
  • Audio:Custom
  • Video:SageTV
  • CCTV:dvr

Posted 05 October 2008 - 08:06 AM

He has some more listed on Ebay.

I have a couple of these installed now for my dryer and washing machine. They are a nice find. Easy to use with an Elk or Ocelot as they provide a relay contact closure at 1 amp (less if you wind the wire more times around).

http://cgi.ebay.com/...ME:B:SS:US:1123

#7 Dan (electron)

Dan (electron)

    CocoonTech Admin

  • Admin
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 10859 posts
  • Twitter:@CocoonTech
  • Location:Central NY
  • Experience:guru
  • Software:EventGhost, HomeSeer
  • Hardware:Elk M1, Mi Casa Verde Vera, Ocelot
  • Tech:X10-RF, UPB, Z-Wave, ZigBee
  • Audio:AirPlay
  • Video:SageTV
  • CCTV:analog, ip, dvr
  • Phone:OBi100/110

Posted 05 October 2008 - 08:13 AM

John, you are an enabler ;)

#8 jwilson56

jwilson56

    Cocoonut

  • Registered
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1582 posts
  • Experience:average
  • Software:Elve, Girder, HomeSeer, NetRemote
  • Hardware:Elk M1, Ocelot, Custom
  • Tech:X10-PLC, X10-RF, 1-Wire, xAP, xPL
  • Audio:Custom
  • Video:SageTV
  • CCTV:dvr

Posted 05 October 2008 - 09:45 AM

Well I can't see anyone who is really into home automation not needing some of these...

BTW the guy said in an email to me "we have an outrageous quantity of various sensors, switches, relays, connectors" so I will keep an eye out for other goodies.

#9 Squiddy

Squiddy

    Cocooner

  • Registered
  • PipPip
  • 37 posts
  • Location:Fort St. John, BC

Posted 05 October 2008 - 11:04 AM

That auction has ended but he put up another one at: http://cgi.ebay.com/...em=300264084838

I just bought 4 of them. 2 left!

#10 beelzerob

beelzerob

    Cocoonut

  • Registered
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 2057 posts
  • Location:State College, PA

Posted 05 October 2008 - 11:19 AM

I just bought 4 of them. 2 left!


*click*

Not anymore.

god, I hate you guys. ;)

#11 jwilson56

jwilson56

    Cocoonut

  • Registered
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1582 posts
  • Experience:average
  • Software:Elve, Girder, HomeSeer, NetRemote
  • Hardware:Elk M1, Ocelot, Custom
  • Tech:X10-PLC, X10-RF, 1-Wire, xAP, xPL
  • Audio:Custom
  • Video:SageTV
  • CCTV:dvr

Posted 05 October 2008 - 12:23 PM

That auction has ended but he put up another one at: http://cgi.ebay.com/...em=300264084838

I just bought 4 of them. 2 left!



I posted the link for the new auction above... but as you can see the Cocoontech effect is amazing.


BTW I used a couple of these with the NX-650 for a wireless Elk solution to detect current. It sure beats wiring in an old house like mine. Just hook across the internal contacts and disable the built in reed switch in ElkRP.

Edited by jwilson56, 05 October 2008 - 12:27 PM.


#12 damage

damage

    Cocoonut

  • Registered
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1161 posts
  • Twitter:@doghouselabs
  • Location:silicon valley, ca
  • Experience:guru
  • Software:Custom
  • Hardware:TimeCommander+, Custom
  • Tech:X10-PLC, X10-RF, UPB, Z-Wave, ZigBee, 1-Wire, xAP, xPL
  • Audio:Squeezebox
  • Video:SageTV
  • CCTV:analog, ip, dvr
  • Phone:Asterisk, Linksys PAP2, OBi100/110

Posted 05 October 2008 - 02:23 PM

a nice deal, especially with the 30% live.com cashback.

#13 beelzerob

beelzerob

    Cocoonut

  • Registered
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 2057 posts
  • Location:State College, PA

Posted 05 October 2008 - 07:28 PM

a nice deal, especially with the 30% live.com cashback.


Damn, forgot about that. Wasn't there a post about how to set that up in ebay? I can't find it...

#14 damage

damage

    Cocoonut

  • Registered
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1161 posts
  • Twitter:@doghouselabs
  • Location:silicon valley, ca
  • Experience:guru
  • Software:Custom
  • Hardware:TimeCommander+, Custom
  • Tech:X10-PLC, X10-RF, UPB, Z-Wave, ZigBee, 1-Wire, xAP, xPL
  • Audio:Squeezebox
  • Video:SageTV
  • CCTV:analog, ip, dvr
  • Phone:Asterisk, Linksys PAP2, OBi100/110

Posted 05 October 2008 - 08:00 PM

a nice deal, especially with the 30% live.com cashback.


Damn, forgot about that. Wasn't there a post about how to set that up in ebay? I can't find it...

http://www.cocoontec...showtopic=11233

#15 jwilson56

jwilson56

    Cocoonut

  • Registered
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1582 posts
  • Experience:average
  • Software:Elve, Girder, HomeSeer, NetRemote
  • Hardware:Elk M1, Ocelot, Custom
  • Tech:X10-PLC, X10-RF, 1-Wire, xAP, xPL
  • Audio:Custom
  • Video:SageTV
  • CCTV:dvr

Posted 06 October 2008 - 11:30 AM

His last batch from what he told me in an email


http://cgi.ebay.com/...em=300264484560




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users