Jump to content


Photo

In wall touchscreen


  • Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 TLCNORM

TLCNORM

    Dedicated Cocooner

  • Registered
  • PipPipPip
  • 112 posts
  • Location:Long Island,NY

Posted 10 November 2008 - 08:34 AM

I finally mounted my Ebay T/S. I put it in the hall heading to my kitchen. I would have liked it more centralized in my kitchen , but I don't have much free space. Here is the before:

Posted Image

As Norm Abram's would say " you can never have enough clamps."

Posted Image

Here is the hole in the wall...of course there was a stud in the way.

Posted Image

Edited by TLCNORM, 10 November 2008 - 01:12 PM.


#2 TLCNORM

TLCNORM

    Dedicated Cocooner

  • Registered
  • PipPipPip
  • 112 posts
  • Location:Long Island,NY

Posted 10 November 2008 - 01:11 PM

I cut out some of the stud (looks like most of the stud in the picture. It is not a load bearing wall)and ran the wires to my basement. Lucky for me it was an unfinished space there.

Posted Image

Dropped it into the wall and screwed through the center holes into the stud and put some backing behind the upper holes.

Posted Image

Here is the back of my frame. I used 2 dowels to hold it in the wall and still be able to remove it.

Posted Image

Here it is primed white. I wanted white but....

Posted Image

My wife preferred black. I am running Jriver for now.

Posted Image

#3 Dan (electron)

Dan (electron)

    CocoonTech Admin

  • Admin
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 10865 posts
  • Twitter:@CocoonTech
  • Location:Central NY
  • Experience:guru
  • Software:EventGhost, HomeSeer
  • Hardware:Elk M1, Mi Casa Verde Vera, Ocelot
  • Tech:X10-RF, UPB, Z-Wave, ZigBee
  • Audio:AirPlay
  • Video:SageTV
  • CCTV:analog, ip, dvr
  • Phone:OBi100/110

Posted 10 November 2008 - 01:18 PM

Looks very nice! Where are you getting power from, did you install an outlet in the wall? How did you extend the video/serial/usb cables?

#4 beelzerob

beelzerob

    Cocoonut

  • Registered
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 2057 posts
  • Location:State College, PA

Posted 10 November 2008 - 01:25 PM

This is handy, as I hope to be doing the same kind of thing within a month or so.

What did you use for blocking up above the screen? Did you just attach a piece of 2 X 4 to the one you shaved down? I see screws along the top..was that to hold the sheetrock to the blocking board, or vice versa? More details.... :o

#5 TLCNORM

TLCNORM

    Dedicated Cocooner

  • Registered
  • PipPipPip
  • 112 posts
  • Location:Long Island,NY

Posted 10 November 2008 - 07:17 PM

Looks very nice! Where are you getting power from, did you install an outlet in the wall? How did you extend the video/serial/usb cables?

Right now I took the easy way out. I ran the cables (I had a 10' USB and a 12' VGA) and the power down the wall to the basement right below the T/S. There I have a PC on a shelf and a power outlet right there. I will eventually buy a 25' VGA and USB cable (from monoprice) and run the wires to a wiring closet that is very close.

#6 TLCNORM

TLCNORM

    Dedicated Cocooner

  • Registered
  • PipPipPip
  • 112 posts
  • Location:Long Island,NY

Posted 10 November 2008 - 07:21 PM

This is handy, as I hope to be doing the same kind of thing within a month or so.

What did you use for blocking up above the screen? Did you just attach a piece of 2 X 4 to the one you shaved down? I see screws along the top..was that to hold the sheetrock to the blocking board, or vice versa? More details.... :)

At first I sat the T/S in the wall and it felt pretty solid against the 2x4 I shaved down. I pulled it out and added some 1x3 blocking behind the wall as you saw and I angled a couple of screws into the center 2x4 and put a couple of screws into the sheetrock to hold the blocking. After that I put the T/S in the wall and shot 1 screw into the top and 1 screw into the bottom of the center stud then put a couple in the blocking. It doesn't look very pretty but it feels real solid.

#7 Monk

Monk

    Dedicated Cocooner

  • -=Platinum Supporter=-
  • 753 posts
  • Location:USA
  • Experience:average
  • Hardware:Elk M1
  • Tech:Z-Wave
  • Audio:Russound
  • CCTV:ip
  • Phone:OBi100/110

Posted 08 January 2009 - 10:05 AM

Thats an interesting install! What did you use to shave down the 2x4?

#8 Squiddy

Squiddy

    Cocooner

  • Registered
  • PipPip
  • 37 posts
  • Location:Fort St. John, BC

Posted 12 January 2009 - 12:42 AM

I'm also interested in what you mounted the screen to. Not to hijack but in my install, the LCD fit perfectly between the studs so I used the screw holes on each side and mounted it right to the studs. The problem is that the screen sticks out about a 1/4" past the drywall so the screen has been sitting there for 2 months with no trim because I didn't know what I should do.

Posted Image

Posted Image

#9 robolo

robolo

    Dedicated Cocooner

  • Professionals
  • PipPipPip
  • 228 posts
  • Location:San Diego, CA
  • Experience:guru
  • Software:CQC
  • Hardware:Elk M1
  • Tech:UPB, Crestron
  • Audio:Russound
  • Video:MythTV
  • CCTV:analog, ip
  • Phone:FreePBX

Posted 12 January 2009 - 03:12 PM

I'm also interested in what you mounted the screen to. Not to hijack but in my install, the LCD fit perfectly between the studs so I used the screw holes on each side and mounted it right to the studs. The problem is that the screen sticks out about a 1/4" past the drywall so the screen has been sitting there for 2 months with no trim because I didn't know what I should do.

Posted Image

Posted Image


Looks like the thing that is holding the screen out are the metal flanges on the top and bottom of the chassis (and the small tabs along the sides) What I did was simply to carve a little channel along the top and bottom edge of the drywall, just enough for the metal flanges to sit back a little and get the touchscreen surface to be flush with the drywall surface. The small metal chassis tabs along the side I simply cut off or bent straight.

Hope that helps

BTW nice job TLCNORM

robolo

Edited by robolo, 12 January 2009 - 03:13 PM.


#10 sic0048

sic0048

    Cocoonut

  • Registered
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1590 posts
  • Location:South Carolina
  • Experience:guru
  • Software:CQC
  • Hardware:Elk M1
  • Tech:CentraLite
  • Audio:B&K
  • Video:SageTV
  • CCTV:ip
  • Phone:Asterisk, FreePBX, VoIP via ISP

Posted 12 January 2009 - 03:40 PM

Actually I think the flanges away from the wall about 1/4". It is the screw mounting point that is preventing the screen from fitting farther back into the wall.

If that is the case, I would remove the screen and take a wood chisel and notch the stud back a little where the screen needs to sit. It shouldn't take that much time to do (especially if the chisel is sharp) and would allow the screen to fit against the wall. Then you might find that you want to follow Robolo's advice so that even the flanges are inset into the wall instead of sitting on top of the wall.

I think it should be an easy fix.

#11 TLCNORM

TLCNORM

    Dedicated Cocooner

  • Registered
  • PipPipPip
  • 112 posts
  • Location:Long Island,NY

Posted 21 February 2009 - 07:46 AM

Squiddy,

I had to cut out the 2x4 behind the screen enough so that it would sit flush in the wall. I used 2x4 blocking at the top to hold it in the wall. 2x4 blocking behind 1/2 " sheetrock seems to be the perfect setback if you use the metal flanges on the top and bottom. Hope that helps. I think I used a sawzall to cut out the stud behind t/s.

Edited by TLCNORM, 21 February 2009 - 07:48 AM.





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users