Jump to content


Photo

[CES 2009] Exclusive Updates - Flatwire


  • Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 BraveSirRobbin

BraveSirRobbin

    Cocoonut

  • Moderators
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 7109 posts
  • Location:Las Vegas, Nevada
  • Experience:guru
  • Software:Main Lobby
  • Hardware:CaddX, Elk M1, Ocelot
  • Tech:X10-RF
  • Video:SageTV
  • CCTV:analog, ip, dvr
  • Phone:OBi100/110, Ooma

Posted 17 January 2009 - 12:32 AM

CocoonTech CES 2009 Exclusive Updates:
Posted Image

CocoonTech visited the large Flat Wire booth display at CES 2009. Flatwire is, well, 'flat' wire that lets you glue it onto the side of your interior wall, then tape/drywall over so it's invisible. This has a great advantage as you don't have to blindly drill/fish behind an existing wall to run wiring anymore!

They had all kinds of wire applications including Cat5e, Cat6, HDMI, Speaker, and even AC Power!

I asked how can they meet NEC code for power and they said because they 'layer' the conductors and have the power's "hot" conductor in the middle, then sandwiched by a neutral and then ground layer, anything that can pierce the conductors will cause a short, because you first hit the ground/neutral layers and 'short' them to the hot (they are able to meet NEC code 382 using this methodology).

For some of the more complicated applications, like HDMI, Flatwire will have to terminate the ends of the cable (into useable connectors). But, for others, you can purchase the ends and install them yourself.

So now, with all the different types of flat wiring available, you can hang that big flat screen on the wall, have a pair of speakers next to it, and run all the wiring applications on your exterior wall without them being visible (after appropriate drywall techniques are used).

Posted Image
(Click on Picture for Full Sized Image)

Posted Image
(Click on Picture for Full Sized Image)

Please visit Flatwire's site for further information on this product.

Edited by BraveSirRobbin, 17 January 2009 - 01:01 AM.


#2 auto man

auto man

    Cocooner

  • Registered
  • PipPip
  • 21 posts

Posted 06 May 2009 - 11:09 AM

HI ,
Has anyone tried this stuff yet.

#3 DeLicious

DeLicious

    Dedicated Cocooner

  • Registered
  • PipPipPip
  • 751 posts
  • Location:Dallas, TX

Posted 06 May 2009 - 01:42 PM

$70 for 10ft of CAT5 equivalent (only 2 pairs though), and $120 for 20 ft? no, I haven't tried it :blush:

EDIT: oh, forgot the extra $40 for the connector set

Edited by DeLicious, 06 May 2009 - 01:44 PM.


#4 Aaron

Aaron

    Dedicated Cocooner

  • Registered
  • PipPipPip
  • 199 posts
  • Location:Arizona
  • Experience:guru
  • Software:EventGhost, mControl
  • Tech:INSTEON, Z-Wave
  • Audio:Custom
  • Video:Windows Media Center
  • Phone:POTS

Posted 23 May 2009 - 07:15 PM

no kidding...

you can hire an electrician and get it done right for the cost of the wire and connectors!




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users