Jump to content


Photo

[How-to] Build an Antenna for Your X-10 Receiver


  • Please log in to reply
45 replies to this topic

#16 JeffCharger

JeffCharger

    Dedicated Cocooner

  • Registered
  • PipPipPip
  • 240 posts

Posted 13 March 2004 - 10:42 AM

I would suggest that you first get the ninja plug-in going. It opens up a whole new world for the ninja. And the ninja bases are currently onsale at x10 for 3 for $78. A great deal! (although I would hope that Martin could improve on this too!)

#17 jrfuda

jrfuda

    Dedicated Cocooner

  • Registered
  • PipPipPip
  • 687 posts
  • Location:Fayetteville, NC
  • Experience:average
  • Hardware:HomeTroller, Ocelot
  • Tech:X10-PLC, X10-RF, Z-Wave
  • Audio:Squeezebox
  • Video:Custom
  • CCTV:ip

Posted 13 March 2004 - 11:13 AM

Jeff, have you considered trying to hack the ninja and putting an antenna on it? Has anyone?

Also, it the camera on the flaky ninja wired or wireless? If it's wired, I wonder what would happen if you "injected" the CM19's signal into the same cable at the video signal, then split the signal at the ninja end, with one end going to the cam and the other either to a little antenna, or hardwired into the ninja?

#18 JeffCharger

JeffCharger

    Dedicated Cocooner

  • Registered
  • PipPipPip
  • 240 posts

Posted 13 March 2004 - 06:34 PM

I have found a hack for the ninja - putting an antenna on the base unit. I haven't tried it, but here it is ninja base antenna hack

I have only used a wireless X10 camera - and I still don't think you can beat the price/value. You could mount any type of camera on the base though. One note: the ninja base must be "ON" to accept commands and move.

Interesting thought on the wired cam idea - I am not adventurous enough to try that - but let me know if you try and how you make out!

#19 BraveSirRobbin

BraveSirRobbin

    Cocoonut

  • Moderators
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 7019 posts
  • Location:Las Vegas, Nevada
  • Experience:guru
  • Software:Main Lobby
  • Hardware:CaddX, Elk M1, Ocelot
  • Tech:X10-RF
  • Video:SageTV
  • CCTV:analog, ip, dvr
  • Phone:OBi100/110, Ooma

Posted 11 May 2005 - 07:40 PM

Wow, I just put this antenna on my W800 and I am VERY impressed with the range I am getting (at least doubled over my MR26a).

I can't do a comparison of antennas (one that came with the W800) because the antenna I made is in my attic and I just connected the cable that originally went to my MR26a to my new W800.

#20 Rewdi

Rewdi

    Newbie

  • Registered
  • Pip
  • 2 posts

Posted 01 June 2006 - 07:37 PM

How does the thickness of the rod effect reception? (only asking b/c got a free 1/4" rod from a radio shack store closing) I have room to mount it if it will do the job. If not I guess I could pay money for the right one.

Thanks,
Rewdi

#21 BraveSirRobbin

BraveSirRobbin

    Cocoonut

  • Moderators
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 7019 posts
  • Location:Las Vegas, Nevada
  • Experience:guru
  • Software:Main Lobby
  • Hardware:CaddX, Elk M1, Ocelot
  • Tech:X10-RF
  • Video:SageTV
  • CCTV:analog, ip, dvr
  • Phone:OBi100/110, Ooma

Posted 01 June 2006 - 08:10 PM

How does the thickness of the rod effect reception? (only asking b/c got a free 1/4" rod from a radio shack store closing)

I'm guessing it should work out OK! I'm not an expert, but I'm thinking as long as the length is correct I don't see why it would not work out.

Edited by BraveSirRobbin, 01 June 2006 - 08:10 PM.


#22 Rewdi

Rewdi

    Newbie

  • Registered
  • Pip
  • 2 posts

Posted 02 June 2006 - 11:20 AM

How does the thickness of the rod effect reception? (only asking b/c got a free 1/4" rod from a radio shack store closing)

Uh, so I looked at my post again this morning, and looked at the rod... it's actually 1/2" copper, do they make the ring crimp lugs that big??? and if so would they still fit on the Adapter?

Just a random thought.

Rewdi

#23 BraveSirRobbin

BraveSirRobbin

    Cocoonut

  • Moderators
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 7019 posts
  • Location:Las Vegas, Nevada
  • Experience:guru
  • Software:Main Lobby
  • Hardware:CaddX, Elk M1, Ocelot
  • Tech:X10-RF
  • Video:SageTV
  • CCTV:analog, ip, dvr
  • Phone:OBi100/110, Ooma

Posted 02 June 2006 - 12:16 PM

Just file/sand down the tips so they fit into the ring lugs.

#24 Jimboat

Jimboat

    Cocooner

  • Registered
  • PipPip
  • 14 posts

Posted 17 August 2006 - 12:56 PM

I have a question for all of you RF experts. Does the choice of materials affect (improve/degrade) the performance of the antenae? For example, will 1/8" rod work better than 1/16" rod? Will copper work better than brass? Also, when using the antenae for a transmitting cm19a (to control Ninja pan) - are there any optimizations that can be applied?

/Jimboat

#25 Fuego

Fuego

    Newbie

  • Registered
  • Pip
  • 4 posts

Posted 04 April 2007 - 01:33 PM

Image links are broken for me.

cocoontech.com is not resolving in DNS this side of the pond.
www.cocoontech.com is OK, of course, but the image links are to the former and not to the latter.

e.g.
http://cocoontech.co...ntSolderRod.JPG doesn't work and is the URL in the post
http://www.cocoontec...ntSolderRod.JPG does work

#26 Skibum

Skibum

    Cocoonut

  • Registered
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1055 posts
  • Location:Canton, Connecticut

Posted 04 April 2007 - 02:20 PM

Now Jeff....

You have made things far too easy.... Here is the code that I use a button:

<td width="156" height="22" align="center" bgcolor="#77AFF1" style="border-left-style: inset; border-left-width: 4px; border-right-style: inset; border-right-width: 4px">

<img border="0" id="img11" src="Images/ultimate/lowres/button39.jpg" height="20" width="140" onmouseover="FP_swapImg(1,0,/*id*/'img11',/*url*/'Images/ultimate/lowres/button3A.jpg')" onmouseout="FP_swapImg(0,0,/*id*/'img11',/*url*/'Images/ultimate/lowres/button39.jpg')" onmousedown="FP_swapImg(1,0,/*id*/'img11',/*url*/'Images/ultimate/lowres/button3B.jpg')" onclick="camera(7);I1.location.href='placeholderb.htm'" onmouseup="FP_swapImg(0,0,/*id*/'img11',/*url*/'Images/ultimate/lowres/button3A.jpg')" fp-style="fp-btn: Embossed Capsule 1; fp-font-size: 8; fp-font-color-normal: #000080; fp-font-color-hover: #FF0000; fp-font-color-press: #FFFF00; fp-bgcolor: #77AFF1; fp-proportional: 0" fp-title="Cat Cam"></td>


:lol: :D :P

#27 Skibum

Skibum

    Cocoonut

  • Registered
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1055 posts
  • Location:Canton, Connecticut

Posted 04 April 2007 - 02:22 PM

I have a question for all of you RF experts.  Does the choice of materials affect (improve/degrade) the performance of the antenae?  For example, will 1/8" rod work better than 1/16" rod?  Will copper work better than brass?  Also, when using the antenae for a transmitting cm19a (to control Ninja pan)  - are there any optimizations that can be applied?

/Jimboat

The diameter will do almost nothing except possibly make the antenna a little more wideband. No difference in materials.

Edited by Skibum, 04 April 2007 - 02:23 PM.


#28 Rambler

Rambler

    Newbie

  • Registered
  • Pip
  • 2 posts

Posted 24 August 2007 - 10:57 PM

I built this antenna according to your plans and it works great. With the antenna hung from the cieling of my computer room my little key chain remotes will reach the middle of the street with no problem. No reason to put it in the attic except for aesthetics.

http://www.cuebuilt....ly/img_0020.jpg

My question: A friend wants me to build him an antenna, but doesn't want it mounted like mine. Can I mount it upside down with the single rod pointing up and the ground plane rods pointing down with the coax running up through a piece of PVC pipe so it resembles a floor lamp? Will the signal be degraded?

Bill

#29 mustangcoupe

mustangcoupe

    Cocoonut

  • -=Gold Supporter=-
  • 1371 posts
  • Location:Manchester, NH
  • Experience:guru
  • Software:Elve
  • Hardware:Elk M1
  • Tech:UPB
  • CCTV:ip

Posted 25 August 2007 - 06:45 AM

[quote name='Rambler'
My question: A friend wants me to build him an antenna, but doesn't want it mounted like mine. Can I mount it upside down with the single rod pointing up and the ground plane rods pointing down with the coax running up through a piece of PVC pipe so it resembles a floor lamp? Will the signal be degraded?

Bill
[/quote]


Bill,

That should work fine also.... I used an antenna of this style mounted the same way in a diffrent frequency band for years

#30 mustangcoupe

mustangcoupe

    Cocoonut

  • -=Gold Supporter=-
  • 1371 posts
  • Location:Manchester, NH
  • Experience:guru
  • Software:Elve
  • Hardware:Elk M1
  • Tech:UPB
  • CCTV:ip

Posted 25 August 2007 - 06:50 AM

[quote name='Rambler'
My question: A friend wants me to build him an antenna, but doesn't want it mounted like mine. Can I mount it upside down with the single rod pointing up and the ground plane rods pointing down with the coax running up through a piece of PVC pipe so it resembles a floor lamp? Will the signal be degraded?

Bill
[/quote]


Bill,

That should work fine also.... I used an antenna of this style mounted the same way in a diffrent frequency band for years




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users