Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

Does anyone else have to login everyday?


  • Please log in to reply
20 replies to this topic

#1 kmitchell

kmitchell

    Cocooner

  • Registered
  • PipPip
  • 72 posts
  • Location:San Jose, CA

Posted 28 October 2009 - 02:50 PM

I've noticed in the last couple of days (not sure which day it started) I've had to log into the forum at least one a day even though I'm selecting "Remember me". I this only a problem with my setup or is it something with the site?

I'm using Firefox on a mac (10.4.11) in case that matters.

Thanks,
Ken

#2 potts.mike

potts.mike

    Dedicated Cocooner

  • Registered
  • PipPipPip
  • 261 posts

Posted 28 October 2009 - 03:03 PM

I've noticed in the last couple of days (not sure which day it started) I've had to log into the forum at least one a day even though I'm selecting "Remember me". I this only a problem with my setup or is it something with the site?

I'm using Firefox on a mac (10.4.11) in case that matters.

Thanks,
Ken


It has been like that for me ever since I joined. Safari on a macbook.

#3 mdonovan

mdonovan

    Dedicated Cocooner

  • Registered
  • PipPipPip
  • 302 posts
  • Location:York Haven Pa
  • Experience:average
  • Software:Elve, Custom
  • Hardware:Elk M1, Custom
  • Tech:Custom, xAP
  • Video:XBMC
  • CCTV:analog, ip, dvr

Posted 28 October 2009 - 03:37 PM

I have to always log in, but I believe that's because I have Firefox set to delete all cookies when I close it.

Matt

#4 WayneW

WayneW

    Cocoonut

  • -=Gold Supporter=-
  • 2558 posts
  • Location:Florida
  • Experience:average
  • Hardware:Elk M1, ISY-99

Posted 28 October 2009 - 04:32 PM

I think you also have to log back in if you change IP addresses. I think it remembers two IPs. My IP at home rarely changes, but my work IP can change when they reroute things and I often have to re-login after a work outage/repair.

#5 znelbok

znelbok

    Dedicated Cocooner

  • Registered
  • PipPipPip
  • 252 posts

Posted 28 October 2009 - 06:30 PM

I too am logging in every day now - never had to.

The mention of cookies reminded me that I had made a chance to firefox's handling of cookies. I changed them from keeping them until they expire to until I close firefox. That is what is causing the login for every visit.

Go to tool, options and privacy and check your cookie settings.

Mick

#6 Automation

Automation

    Cocooner

  • Banned
  • PipPip
  • 23 posts

Posted 29 October 2009 - 06:51 AM

It's both a Cookie thing and an ip thing. If you change ipaddresses (ie from work to home) or do not keep cookies then you will have to login each time you visit.

#7 WayneW

WayneW

    Cocoonut

  • -=Gold Supporter=-
  • 2558 posts
  • Location:Florida
  • Experience:average
  • Hardware:Elk M1, ISY-99

Posted 29 October 2009 - 07:57 AM

If you change ipaddresses (ie from work to home) or do not keep cookies then you will have to login each time you visit.

Not exactly true... baring network issues that causes an unexpected IP change, I can visit CT from work and home every day without logging in. Using a third IP address (such as due to an IP change or using VPN or something), causes me to have to log in again.

#8 Neurorad

Neurorad

    Cocoonut

  • Registered
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 2241 posts
  • Experience:novice
  • Tech:RadioRA2
  • Audio:Nuvo

Posted 13 September 2010 - 10:23 AM

Now that many people use a phone to access CT, perhaps 3 ip addresses should be the norm, if that's an option e. :)

#9 Dan (electron)

Dan (electron)

    CocoonTech Admin

  • Admin
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 10853 posts
  • Twitter:@CocoonTech
  • Location:Central NY
  • Experience:guru
  • Software:EventGhost, HomeSeer
  • Hardware:Elk M1, Mi Casa Verde Vera, Ocelot
  • Tech:X10-RF, UPB, Z-Wave, ZigBee
  • Audio:AirPlay
  • Video:SageTV
  • CCTV:analog, ip, dvr
  • Phone:OBi100/110

Posted 13 September 2010 - 01:07 PM

There is no limit afaik. I just tried from 3 different IP addresses (home, work, phone), and didn't encounter any problems. Might be a berry issue :)

#10 JonW

JonW

    Dedicated Cocooner

  • Registered
  • PipPipPip
  • 598 posts
  • Location:Huntington Beach, CA
  • Hardware:HAI OmniPro II
  • Tech:UPB

Posted 13 September 2010 - 01:23 PM

There is something funky about the way the CocoonTech (CT) forum tracks cookies. I quite often open a VPN tunnel from work to home or home to work and it causes me to have to log back in to CT. I have bookmarks for several other online forums (mostly VBulletin based ones) and none of the other forums have this problem.

I can be in the middle of reading new messages on another forum, open a VPN connection to my house, and then continue reading the messages without missing a beat. If I try that with CT, I have to log back in. Likewise, if I use some WiFi spots from my laptop, I have to log into CT each time.

#11 Dan (electron)

Dan (electron)

    CocoonTech Admin

  • Admin
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 10853 posts
  • Twitter:@CocoonTech
  • Location:Central NY
  • Experience:guru
  • Software:EventGhost, HomeSeer
  • Hardware:Elk M1, Mi Casa Verde Vera, Ocelot
  • Tech:X10-RF, UPB, Z-Wave, ZigBee
  • Audio:AirPlay
  • Video:SageTV
  • CCTV:analog, ip, dvr
  • Phone:OBi100/110

Posted 13 September 2010 - 02:58 PM

If your IP changes while using the same system/session, then you will definitely run into issues. It's a security feature designed to prevent session hijacking (so no one else can grab your cookie and have access to you account).

#12 personalt

personalt

    Dedicated Cocooner

  • Registered
  • PipPipPip
  • 287 posts

Posted 13 September 2010 - 03:39 PM

If your IP changes while using the same system/session, then you will definitely run into issues. It's a security feature designed to prevent session hijacking (so no one else can grab your cookie and have access to you account).

This is the most annoying 'feature' ever.. At my office we must have some sort of load balancer. I kicked out ever 3rd or 4th message I read. I notice that when I get kicked out my IP changes so it is based on the security features that are implemented here.

I work for a big financial firm and I can connect to all sorts of banks and brokerages without problem via this connection. Only cocoontech seems to have has this super high security that tosses the cookie

I understand the idea behind IP checking but with ipads and phones that go from wifi to cellular connection back to wifi as someone take it from home to bus to work(exactly what I do). My opinion would be that the cookie should persist. I dont know how long the cookie persists with ip changes but maybe shorten the life it persists for but allow multiple IPs..

Of course I am just a guy that comes here to read the messages, either way it is still the best message forum that I read. I just would love to be able to read it easier.

Edited by personalt, 13 September 2010 - 03:40 PM.


#13 Dan (electron)

Dan (electron)

    CocoonTech Admin

  • Admin
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 10853 posts
  • Twitter:@CocoonTech
  • Location:Central NY
  • Experience:guru
  • Software:EventGhost, HomeSeer
  • Hardware:Elk M1, Mi Casa Verde Vera, Ocelot
  • Tech:X10-RF, UPB, Z-Wave, ZigBee
  • Audio:AirPlay
  • Video:SageTV
  • CCTV:analog, ip, dvr
  • Phone:OBi100/110

Posted 13 September 2010 - 07:23 PM

Since this isn't the first time this issue has been brought up, I decided to disable this feature for now, and will see how it works out.

#14 Neurorad

Neurorad

    Cocoonut

  • Registered
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 2241 posts
  • Experience:novice
  • Tech:RadioRA2
  • Audio:Nuvo

Posted 13 September 2010 - 09:35 PM

that's great, thanks so much!

#15 JonW

JonW

    Dedicated Cocooner

  • Registered
  • PipPipPip
  • 598 posts
  • Location:Huntington Beach, CA
  • Hardware:HAI OmniPro II
  • Tech:UPB

Posted 14 September 2010 - 11:21 AM

Sweet!! Thank you! I just opened my VPN session while I was reading new threads and it kept me logged in! Previously I always had to remind myself - don't go to CT if you're on the VPN!

Thanks again.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users