Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

Elk's new web page


  • Please log in to reply
49 replies to this topic

#16 bucko

bucko

    Dedicated Cocooner

  • Registered
  • PipPipPip
  • 131 posts
  • Location:China
  • Experience:average
  • Hardware:Elk M1, Mi Casa Verde Vera, Custom
  • Tech:Z-Wave, Custom
  • Audio:Custom
  • Video:Custom
  • CCTV:ip, dvr

Posted 24 August 2010 - 10:28 PM

I registered again and they were good about getting me Levels 1,2, and3. This is vital to me to understand all the various moduals I will need prior to placing a big order for all this stuff.

I understand their need to control access to their security info. I helps protect all of us users with their security info. I bit of a hassle, but in the end worth it.

#17 Smarty

Smarty

    Dedicated Cocooner

  • Registered
  • PipPipPip
  • 347 posts
  • Location:San Antonio, Texas
  • Experience:average
  • Software:PowerHome
  • Hardware:Elk M1
  • Tech:INSTEON
  • Audio:Custom
  • Video:Custom
  • CCTV:analog, ip, dvr

Posted 25 August 2010 - 07:54 AM

FYI....

New user name and new password only work on the NEW site (your old bookmarks will take you to the old site = > where they won't work).

Update your bookmarks.

#18 n8bgb-1

n8bgb-1

    Newbie

  • Registered
  • Pip
  • 4 posts
  • Location:Western Chicago Suburbs

Posted 25 August 2010 - 07:19 PM

i didn’t seem to have any problems. i registered via the new website and got access to everything just as before. the first level is immediate and levels two and three approx 4 hrs later. i have a registered M1. Seems it would be a pity to pass on a platform such as this due to having to register and then sign in. most forums seem this way.


You must have a business relationship with ELK. It wasn't that easy for me.

It it my belief that the individual is being locked out of access to Elk. If your a distributor or do this for a bussiness then they'll hook ya right up. If it was done to weed out tech support time or something like that then I'd understand, given the economy. Instead through much dicussion, they made it clear to me it's about changing their relationships with individuals versus those signed up as distribution channels. Personally, I won't pay someone else to expand or maintain my system. Thats why ELK ruled when I bought into them. Personally, they've burn't up a lot of good will on my part. I wish them well, but plan to keep my options open.

#19 mustangcoupe

mustangcoupe

    Cocoonut

  • -=Gold Supporter=-
  • 1371 posts
  • Location:Manchester, NH
  • Experience:guru
  • Software:Elve
  • Hardware:Elk M1
  • Tech:UPB
  • CCTV:ip

Posted 25 August 2010 - 08:27 PM

I submitted my request today and received almost immediately level 1 access. then a few hours later I got level 2 access.


Does anyone know what each level gains access to? ex. am I missing something by not having level 3?

#20 Kevin L

Kevin L

    Dedicated Cocooner

  • -=Gold Supporter=-
  • 530 posts
  • Location:Southwest Florida
  • Experience:average
  • Hardware:Elk M1, HomeTroller
  • Tech:Z-Wave, ZigBee, CentraLite
  • Audio:Proficient
  • CCTV:ip, dvr
  • Phone:Vonage

Posted 26 August 2010 - 12:50 PM

I'm not sure what the three levels mean. I got all three. Try different options on the website, and if you are blocked from one, PM me and I'll see if I can access.

#21 ctwilliams

ctwilliams

    Dedicated Cocooner

  • Registered
  • PipPipPip
  • 155 posts

Posted 26 August 2010 - 01:57 PM

I signed up for access that was granted pretty quickly. BUT...

I received an email from ELK stating I had been given access that included my username AND PASSWORD in clear text!

I then received an email for me to verify my interest in receiving the monthly newsletter. This email contained not only my username AND PASSWORD, but my address and phone number as well.

Email is like sending a post card! I can not remember any company ever sending my password in plain text.

Can someone explain this? They are a security company.

CT

Edited by ctwilliams, 26 August 2010 - 02:00 PM.


#22 Digger

Digger

    Cocoonut

  • -=Gold Supporter=-
  • 3208 posts
  • Location:New York
  • Experience:average
  • Hardware:Elk M1, ISY-99
  • Tech:INSTEON, Z-Wave
  • CCTV:ip, dvr
  • Phone:VoIP via ISP

Posted 26 August 2010 - 09:15 PM

I signed up for access that was granted pretty quickly. BUT...

I received an email from ELK stating I had been given access that included my username AND PASSWORD in clear text!

I then received an email for me to verify my interest in receiving the monthly newsletter. This email contained not only my username AND PASSWORD, but my address and phone number as well.

Email is like sending a post card! I can not remember any company ever sending my password in plain text.

Can someone explain this? They are a security company.

CT


I would "guess" that the website is outsourced. Elk may not be aware of this practice.

#23 Neurorad

Neurorad

    Cocoonut

  • Registered
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 2263 posts
  • Experience:novice
  • Tech:RadioRA2
  • Audio:Nuvo

Posted 27 August 2010 - 05:19 AM

I would agree with Digger.

But, a password isn't very secure at many websites. I assume the people who operate websites have access to my passwords.

Many manufacturer websites use the same ID and password for everyone, as just a hurdle to limit access from the public.

#24 Dan (electron)

Dan (electron)

    CocoonTech Admin

  • Admin
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 10853 posts
  • Twitter:@CocoonTech
  • Location:Central NY
  • Experience:guru
  • Software:EventGhost, HomeSeer
  • Hardware:Elk M1, Mi Casa Verde Vera, Ocelot
  • Tech:X10-RF, UPB, Z-Wave, ZigBee
  • Audio:AirPlay
  • Video:SageTV
  • CCTV:analog, ip, dvr
  • Phone:OBi100/110

Posted 27 August 2010 - 05:22 AM

There is definitely another company involved (at least for the e-mail marketing). That said, this is why you use strong passwords everywhere, and make sure they aren't similar ANYWHERE. Granted, this could lead to hundreds of passwords you have to remember, but that's why you use KeePass :mellow:

#25 ctwilliams

ctwilliams

    Dedicated Cocooner

  • Registered
  • PipPipPip
  • 155 posts

Posted 27 August 2010 - 09:19 AM

There is definitely another company involved (at least for the e-mail marketing). That said, this is why you use strong passwords everywhere, and make sure they aren't similar ANYWHERE. Granted, this could lead to hundreds of passwords you have to remember, but that's why you use KeePass :mellow:



Yep, that is great advice. I use lastpass and all of my passwords look something like "vkQY2zKkhp". Of course, make sure you don't loose your master password! That would be fun.

#26 mustangcoupe

mustangcoupe

    Cocoonut

  • -=Gold Supporter=-
  • 1371 posts
  • Location:Manchester, NH
  • Experience:guru
  • Software:Elve
  • Hardware:Elk M1
  • Tech:UPB
  • CCTV:ip

Posted 27 August 2010 - 09:25 AM

not to Hijack this thread, but Another item would be make sure you backup you password file! My laptop crashed last year and I almost panicked when I went to get into a few websites... I was Glad I had a backup from the week before!

#27 Dan (electron)

Dan (electron)

    CocoonTech Admin

  • Admin
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 10853 posts
  • Twitter:@CocoonTech
  • Location:Central NY
  • Experience:guru
  • Software:EventGhost, HomeSeer
  • Hardware:Elk M1, Mi Casa Verde Vera, Ocelot
  • Tech:X10-RF, UPB, Z-Wave, ZigBee
  • Audio:AirPlay
  • Video:SageTV
  • CCTV:analog, ip, dvr
  • Phone:OBi100/110

Posted 27 August 2010 - 09:33 AM

Has anyone figured out yet what Level 3 is? I was approved for Level 1 and 2, and seem to have access to everything (but maybe they are just not showing Level 3 functions to begin with)

#28 sic0048

sic0048

    Cocoonut

  • Registered
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1575 posts
  • Location:South Carolina
  • Experience:guru
  • Software:CQC
  • Hardware:Elk M1
  • Tech:CentraLite
  • Audio:B&K
  • Video:SageTV
  • CCTV:ip
  • Phone:Asterisk, FreePBX, VoIP via ISP

Posted 27 August 2010 - 09:51 AM

I think level 1 = consumer
level 2 = Professional Installer
level 3 = Distributor

Most DIYers would probably only need access to level 1 & 2.

#29 Lou Apo

Lou Apo

    Cocoonut

  • Registered
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 2614 posts
  • Location:Austin TX
  • Experience:average
  • Hardware:ISY-99
  • Tech:INSTEON
  • Audio:Custom
  • Video:Windows Media Center
  • CCTV:analog, dvr

Posted 27 August 2010 - 06:09 PM

They gave me level 2. I had to send them my units serial number to be approved. And, yes, they did put my username and password out there.

#30 sic0048

sic0048

    Cocoonut

  • Registered
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1575 posts
  • Location:South Carolina
  • Experience:guru
  • Software:CQC
  • Hardware:Elk M1
  • Tech:CentraLite
  • Audio:B&K
  • Video:SageTV
  • CCTV:ip
  • Phone:Asterisk, FreePBX, VoIP via ISP

Posted 27 August 2010 - 09:05 PM

I think level 1 = consumer
level 2 = Professional Installer
level 3 = Distributor

Most DIYers would probably only need access to level 1 & 2.


Well I don't know if this is right. I submitted my request as an Installer and got approved for all three levels. So that blows my theory out of the water.

Edited by sic0048, 27 August 2010 - 09:05 PM.





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users