Dedicated Cocooner

• Registered
  • PipPipPip
  • 234 posts
  • Experience:average
  • Hardware:Elk M1
  • Tech:UPB

Posted 26 October 2010 - 01:44 PM

DISCLAIMER: I'm a computer programmer, not an installer. I definitely need guidance here.

I am building a new house and will be purchasing the Elk M1 Gold. Due to the number of devices that I need to connect to the Elk I am trying to decide the "best" way to organize the alarm panels.

I will have a total of 147 "devices", including keypads and more. Here is the list:

Number of Alarm Keypads: 4
Number of Interior Door Sensors: 24
Number of Exterior Door Sensors: 5
Number of Furnace Monitor Sensors: 1
Number of Garage Door Openers: 2
Number of Garage Door Sensors: 2
Number of Glass Break Sensors: 10
Number of Heat Detector Sensors: 1
Number of Irrigation System Sensors: 1
Number of Temperature Sensors: 6
Number of Occupancy Sensors: 47
Number of Piezo Screamers: 2
Number of Sirens: 2
Number of Strobes: 1
Number of Water Leak Detectors: 20
Number of Window Sensors: 19

Now, do you guys prefer buying one large panel and putting most things in one? Or do you prefer to break things up? If so, do you organize by device type (doors and windows to one panel, glass breaks to a different panel)? Do you organize by location (basement, bedroom, main floor)?

I was thinking of going with multiple panels to better organize everything. What do you guys recommend?

#2 Digger

Digger

Cocoonut

• -=Gold Supporter=-
  • 3204 posts
  • Hardware:Elk M1, HomeTroller
  • Tech:UPB, Z-Wave
  • CCTV:ip, dvr
  • Phone:VoIP via ISP

Posted 26 October 2010 - 02:27 PM

The temp sensors have to be in the first 16 zones on the main board so must be home run. You may want to reserve zone 16 for future 2 wire smoke detectors.