Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

Need to block X10 signal from appliance


  • Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1 ricks

ricks

    Cocooner

  • Registered
  • PipPip
  • 75 posts

Posted 24 November 2010 - 01:01 PM

This is a strange one. I have a humidifier in my bedroom which starts (not wanted) whenever the X10 lightswitch is in an on or dimmed position. It doesn't really start like it would if the button was pressed on the humidifier but rather moans as if a very small amout of power was being applied. The humidifier is not plugged into a controlled outlet but is on the same circuit as the light. I have no other outlets available in this room.

Does anyone make an X10 filter that would block X10 signals? I've seen whole-house X10 blocking filters but I need something like a wall-wart version for the humidifier. Web searches only give me noise filters or whole-house blocking filters.

Short of finding such a device does anyone have a work-around to this type of problem? Presently, I unplug the humidifier when not is use. Sort of defeats the idea of home automation. :rolleyes:

Thanks in advance.

Rick

#2 BraveSirRobbin

BraveSirRobbin

    Cocoonut

  • Moderators
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 7060 posts
  • Location:Las Vegas, Nevada
  • Experience:guru
  • Software:Main Lobby
  • Hardware:CaddX, Elk M1, Ocelot
  • Tech:X10-RF
  • Video:SageTV
  • CCTV:analog, ip, dvr
  • Phone:OBi100/110, Ooma

Posted 24 November 2010 - 01:13 PM

According to THIS WIki (under 'X10 Noise Filters"), THIS noise filter will block the X-10 signal. Just note that if the applicance draws over five amps, you will need the higher rated model.

#3 pete_c

pete_c

    Cocoonut

  • -=Gold Supporter=-
  • 3992 posts
  • Location:House
  • Experience:average
  • Software:Elve, Main Lobby, Open Source Automation
  • Hardware:HAI OmniPro II, Mi Casa Verde Vera, Ocelot
  • Tech:X10-PLC, X10-RF, UPB, INSTEON, Z-Wave, ZigBee, 1-Wire, xAP, xPL
  • Audio:Russound
  • Video:MythTV
  • CCTV:analog, ip, dvr
  • Phone:Asterisk, FreePBX, Ooma, POTS, VoIP via ISP

Posted 24 November 2010 - 01:17 PM

I would run a separate circuit to it if possible and see if that would help. I guess thats a bit to do though for one humidifier. You can test scenario by using a long heavy duty power cord to another room to see if that works. You might be able to do this by adding a room to room box to box wire. Much of my wiring is passed box to box even though its totally autonomous from local wiring. I did that adding one outdoor outlet box. I went to one box in the living room; jumped to two more boxes in the living room, then to the family room thru two boxes before going to the fuse panel in the basement.

#4 ricks

ricks

    Cocooner

  • Registered
  • PipPip
  • 75 posts

Posted 24 November 2010 - 01:46 PM

Thanks guys. Ya, adding a new circuit is probably overkill for a humidifier. I'll check out the XPPF and see if it works 2-ways.

Thanks again.

Rick

#5 ano

ano

    Cocoonut

  • Registered
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1538 posts
  • Experience:guru
  • Software:CQC
  • Hardware:HAI OmniPro II
  • Tech:UPB, ZigBee
  • Audio:HAI

Posted 24 November 2010 - 02:10 PM

Thanks guys. Ya, adding a new circuit is probably overkill for a humidifier. I'll check out the XPPF and see if it works 2-ways.

Thanks again.

Rick


There are lots of brands of X-10 filters available. All work well, as its pretty easy to filter out X-10 with a low-pass filter.

#6 BLH

BLH

    Dedicated Cocooner

  • Registered
  • PipPipPip
  • 702 posts
  • Location:South East CT.
  • Experience:average
  • Hardware:ISY-99
  • Tech:X10-PLC, X10-RF, INSTEON

Posted 24 November 2010 - 03:52 PM

Be careful with an XPPF. It maybe rated at five amps but in the X10 forums. We have seen them reported to overheat if pushed close to five amps.

#7 BraveSirRobbin

BraveSirRobbin

    Cocoonut

  • Moderators
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 7060 posts
  • Location:Las Vegas, Nevada
  • Experience:guru
  • Software:Main Lobby
  • Hardware:CaddX, Elk M1, Ocelot
  • Tech:X10-RF
  • Video:SageTV
  • CCTV:analog, ip, dvr
  • Phone:OBi100/110, Ooma

Posted 24 November 2010 - 04:31 PM

Be careful with an XPPF. It maybe rated at five amps but in the X10 forums. We have seen them reported to overheat if pushed close to five amps.



WOW! That is good to know and thanks for passing along that info!

#8 Lou Apo

Lou Apo

    Cocoonut

  • Registered
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 2614 posts
  • Location:Austin TX
  • Experience:average
  • Hardware:ISY-99
  • Tech:INSTEON
  • Audio:Custom
  • Video:Windows Media Center
  • CCTV:analog, dvr

Posted 24 November 2010 - 04:55 PM

Yes, the x10 noise filters don't just filter noise, they filter everything in the x10 frequency area. Simply put, they isolate x10 frequencies whether they are real or noise. So putting one on your dehumidifier keeps the dehumidifier from injecting noise into your house and keeps your house from injecting noise (or x10 signal) into the dehumidifier.

#9 ricks

ricks

    Cocooner

  • Registered
  • PipPip
  • 75 posts

Posted 24 November 2010 - 10:05 PM

I didn't know that about X10 noise filters... always assumed they just filtered noise.

Thanks again.

Rick

#10 htsource

htsource

    Dedicated Cocooner

  • Registered
  • PipPipPip
  • 193 posts

Posted 25 November 2010 - 12:10 AM

Be very careful about these X10 filters. They can't really handle any high continues load. I have some 15A filters the internal housing by the connectors have started to melt.

#11 BLH

BLH

    Dedicated Cocooner

  • Registered
  • PipPipPip
  • 702 posts
  • Location:South East CT.
  • Experience:average
  • Hardware:ISY-99
  • Tech:X10-PLC, X10-RF, INSTEON

Posted 25 November 2010 - 06:35 AM

I have seen the five amp ones reported, but not any of the fifteens.
What brand and model was the fifteen amp ones?

#12 batwater

batwater

    Dedicated Cocooner

  • Registered
  • PipPipPip
  • 122 posts
  • Location:St. Louis
  • Experience:guru
  • Software:CQC, EventGhost
  • Hardware:DSC
  • Tech:X10-RF, UPB, Z-Wave
  • Audio:Squeezebox
  • Video:SageTV
  • CCTV:analog, dvr
  • Phone:Asterisk, OBi100/110

Posted 25 November 2010 - 11:10 AM

You might try a noise filtering surge protector; appropriate current rating of course. I use this technique to make sure that the UPSs around the house and florescent fixtures in my shop that I have plugged in don't attenuate the X10 signal. This technique got me to 95ish% reliability.
-Ben




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users