Trying to get started Insteon or Z wave?

ozorowsky

Hi all, new here to home automation. So far I have 4 security cameras I bought from cctvhotdeals.com along with their dvr, I have a full wireless alarm from alarmsellout.com

I am looking to put in new lighting in my office where my computer is and I want to be able to control that lighting from my computer. I am researching and found z wave and recently stumbled on insteon, but the question is which way do I go?

I'm now in a whole new world, and searching home automation on youtube is making my head spin.

I do computer support for a living, so don't mind technology and learning new things at all.

That said, which direction should I move towards to make my whole house accessible from the internet, such that I can see what rooms have motion, make lights turn on and off on schedule, control my living room lighting from my harmony remote so I can hit movie mode and have the light auto dim and everything setup to movie mode etc?

Please help me get started in the right direction. I don't want to buy, sell re buy, and keep wasting money so trying to do this right. One thing I also saw on youtube that I LOVED was the guy talked said:

Guy: Computer
Computer: Yes
Guy: Play rock music
Computer; Ok, and rock music started playing.

I was thinking above could be accomplished by finding some wireless microphones that would shoot a signal to usb dongle in computer, then run from audio out on computer to my receiver, but am all ears and eager to learn

Thank you in advance.

anything but insteon - return to candles and oil lamps before insteon - get nekkid with janet reno before insteon

search any forum and read about insteon and the company that makes it