Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

Pop3


  • Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

#1 chucklyons

chucklyons

    Dedicated Cocooner

  • Registered
  • PipPipPip
  • 648 posts
  • Location:Santa Cruz, Ca
  • Experience:average
  • Software:Premise
  • Hardware:Elk M1
  • Tech:INSTEON, Z-Wave, RadioRA
  • Audio:Xantech
  • CCTV:ip

Posted 20 December 2010 - 12:53 AM

I have been trying to install 123's POP3 module - I continue to get a 'ActiveX component can't create object: OSPOP3.Session'. I downloaded the Ostrosoft POP3 component in the default installation, but continue to get the error. Ihave the module above plug-ins, rebooted, etc etc...any ideas????

Edited by chucklyons, 20 December 2010 - 12:53 AM.


#2 John in VA

John in VA

    Dedicated Cocooner

  • -=Gold Supporter=-
  • 178 posts
  • Location:Reston, VA
  • Experience:average
  • Software:Premise
  • Tech:INSTEON
  • Audio:Nuvo
  • Video:Windows Media Center
  • CCTV:analog, ip, dvr
  • Phone:Vonage

Posted 20 December 2010 - 11:27 AM

You may need to manually register the component with regsvr32. I've never used this particular component, but have seen the registration issue a bunch.


-John

#3 chucklyons

chucklyons

    Dedicated Cocooner

  • Registered
  • PipPipPip
  • 648 posts
  • Location:Santa Cruz, Ca
  • Experience:average
  • Software:Premise
  • Hardware:Elk M1
  • Tech:INSTEON, Z-Wave, RadioRA
  • Audio:Xantech
  • CCTV:ip

Posted 20 December 2010 - 09:43 PM

Thanks, John. I had given that a whirl...gives me the 'entry point' error. Guess I'll need to go a diff route for reading my Yahoo mail....

#4 nov0798

nov0798

    Dedicated Cocooner

  • Registered
  • PipPipPip
  • 526 posts
  • Location:Dumfries, VA
  • Experience:average
  • Software:Premise
  • Hardware:Elk M1
  • Tech:UPB, 1-Wire
  • Phone:VoIP via ISP

Posted 20 December 2010 - 09:57 PM

Heck, with the luck Ive been having, try restarting SYS services, and server.

Edited by nov0798, 20 December 2010 - 09:58 PM.


#5 chucklyons

chucklyons

    Dedicated Cocooner

  • Registered
  • PipPipPip
  • 648 posts
  • Location:Santa Cruz, Ca
  • Experience:average
  • Software:Premise
  • Hardware:Elk M1
  • Tech:INSTEON, Z-Wave, RadioRA
  • Audio:Xantech
  • CCTV:ip

Posted 21 December 2010 - 01:18 AM

I've bounced it more than Kobe Bryant....seriously, two different issues. I should be able to register it regardless of whether I use the .xdo...

#6 123

123

    Cocoonut

  • Registered
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1978 posts
  • Location:Montreal, QC
  • Experience:average
  • Software:Premise
  • Hardware:Elk M1

Posted 21 December 2010 - 09:21 AM

Chuck,

There are two versions of the Ostrosoft POP3 component (.NET version and COM version), which one are you using and what is the operating system (XP, Vista, Win 7, x86 or x64)?

Taras

#7 chucklyons

chucklyons

    Dedicated Cocooner

  • Registered
  • PipPipPip
  • 648 posts
  • Location:Santa Cruz, Ca
  • Experience:average
  • Software:Premise
  • Hardware:Elk M1
  • Tech:INSTEON, Z-Wave, RadioRA
  • Audio:Xantech
  • CCTV:ip

Posted 21 December 2010 - 07:09 PM

Thanks for the pointers - all is fine now. What the problem is/was is the link to the pop3 component in the Pop3 Module write-up in Premise downloads takes you to a different page than the link you provided in your response.

Thanks for the quick response. I thought it was incredibly easy the last time I installed it. And it was incredibly fast this time (after I got the right link)!!

I'll have the minibrowser version done this week - a question. It starts at message 1 - which is at the bottom of the inbox; can we have it read from latest time backwards?

Edited by chucklyons, 21 December 2010 - 07:46 PM.


#8 123

123

    Cocoonut

  • Registered
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1978 posts
  • Location:Montreal, QC
  • Experience:average
  • Software:Premise
  • Hardware:Elk M1

Posted 22 December 2010 - 09:15 AM

Chuck,

Thanks for bringing that to my attention. I've updated the description and the URL now points to the COM version. There are no changes to the Module (even though the Download page indicates a new attachment).

#9 chucklyons

chucklyons

    Dedicated Cocooner

  • Registered
  • PipPipPip
  • 648 posts
  • Location:Santa Cruz, Ca
  • Experience:average
  • Software:Premise
  • Hardware:Elk M1
  • Tech:INSTEON, Z-Wave, RadioRA
  • Audio:Xantech
  • CCTV:ip

Posted 22 December 2010 - 09:42 PM

Just an update on the POP3 - the minibrowser version is working fine, done my 'testing' on it. (I'm almost always using Chrome). I have sorting working for Date, Subject, Sender. A little bit more work to incorporate those features into the MB. Also added a few other minor features...This is extremely cool for me, as I can't get to my personal email from work, and getting the sysconnector thru the firewall hasn't happened, so this is great..

#10 chucklyons

chucklyons

    Dedicated Cocooner

  • Registered
  • PipPipPip
  • 648 posts
  • Location:Santa Cruz, Ca
  • Experience:average
  • Software:Premise
  • Hardware:Elk M1
  • Tech:INSTEON, Z-Wave, RadioRA
  • Audio:Xantech
  • CCTV:ip

Posted 30 December 2010 - 12:57 AM

anybody interested in looking at the minibrowser version of the POP3? I added sorting on date, subject, sender; update on demand; still need to make it 'realtime' (no refresh)...I haven't been able to figure out how to only grab the new emails since the last update (hint - 123 for some help, here!)

#11 etc6849

etc6849

    Cocoonut

  • Registered
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1605 posts
  • Location:Irmo, SC
  • Experience:average
  • Software:Premise
  • Hardware:Elk M1
  • Tech:X10-RF, Z-Wave, Custom
  • Phone:OBi100/110

Posted 01 February 2011 - 10:47 PM

I tried using the COM version of OSPOP3 for gmail, but it doesn't support SSL. Any suggestions?

I tried using the .NET version of OSPOP3 which does support SSL, but the regasm command didn't help in getting it to work properly with vbscript (http://msdn.microsof...y/tzat5yw6.aspx)...

#12 chucklyons

chucklyons

    Dedicated Cocooner

  • Registered
  • PipPipPip
  • 648 posts
  • Location:Santa Cruz, Ca
  • Experience:average
  • Software:Premise
  • Hardware:Elk M1
  • Tech:INSTEON, Z-Wave, RadioRA
  • Audio:Xantech
  • CCTV:ip

Posted 15 March 2012 - 01:45 AM

So...how do I get the POP3 messages from the newest backwards? (in last, first out)...I have some other things to do after that particular issue, but I'm kinda stuck...

#13 etc6849

etc6849

    Cocoonut

  • Registered
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1605 posts
  • Location:Irmo, SC
  • Experience:average
  • Software:Premise
  • Hardware:Elk M1
  • Tech:X10-RF, Z-Wave, Custom
  • Phone:OBi100/110

Posted 15 March 2012 - 03:38 PM

I tried this long ago and finally read somewhere that it is not possible. I can't remember why, it was either a limitation of POP3 (most likely) or of the activex COM object that 123's module uses.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users