BIG Home Automation Project 2011

Hi All,

Ok so its not going to be the BIGest project ever done, and it might take more than just 2011, but I can't change the title now :) lol.

I'm new to cocoontech, I'm just building my first home... I didn't even know this industry even existed. Great site you guys have here.

Are there any other forums that are good I can read?

I would like to start with home lighting, then set up some security features and irrigation, then set up some media center features. Please keep the thread to home lighting for now, else I'll get too overwhelmed. thanks.

1st Project Goal:
• Lighting Switches: 2011 style switches (must be a cat5 wired to each switch for reliability and google-like millisecond response times) lights must react to within 300ms of pressing the button.
• Lighting Dimmers: 1amp 240Volt AC for each lighting circuit in the house (should give me up to 200Watts per circuit?). (a dimmer normally comes in a 4 lighting circuit or 8 lighting circuit module)
• Lighting Relays: 10amp 240Volt AC for each lighting circuit in the house. (should give me up to 1000Watts per circuit?) (a relay is just like a normal computer controlled 240V switch: on/off, these can be bought individually or as a pack of 4,8,12)
• Lighting Wiring Plan: All lights in the house will be wired back to a central cupboard, where the dimmers and relays can turn them on and off, from a central control box or PC.
• Central Control Box or PC: Will use a miniPC. All controllers I have found are WindowsXP(or embedded) or Linux(or Android) based anyway. A miniLaptop with 128GB solidstate and battery (great for backup) will do just fine for reliability using Windows7 - should get close to 500+ days uptime. Will allow remote internet access to the lighting system, including Android and iPad/iPhone control via WiFi.

I will build an interface from the miniPC to the lighting bus.
next will be to build an interface to the Infrared and RS232 ports on the AV equipment.