Can anyone make any money doing this?

programmergeek

I am getting totally frustrated here. I have been doing alarms for about 15 years and have had 12 people working for me down to three now, but that is by choice. For about the past two years I have been trying to install HAI systems and others but every time I do someone under bids me on 90% of the projects. At the end of the day these customers go on line and say I am charging to much of a mark up because they look at what the internet guy is selling the stuff at and alot of time it is below my cost! Several times now I am gettng more and more calls to install HAI systems that people bought on line and make all sorts of make shift things work. Is this the new trend?

I am getting totally frustrated here. I have been doing alarms for about 15 years and have had 12 people working for me down to three now, but that is by choice. For about the past two years I have been trying to install HAI systems and others but every time I do someone under bids me on 90% of the projects. At the end of the day these customers go on line and say I am charging to much of a mark up because they look at what the internet guy is selling the stuff at and alot of time it is below my cost! Several times now I am gettng more and more calls to install HAI systems that people bought on line and make all sorts of make shift things work. Is this the new trend?

I think that as technologies become more well known the hardware moves to the category of commodity items. You may remember when PCs first began to appear stores dedicated to selling computers were the norm. Now computers are sold everywhere and the dedicated computer stores are rare. I think the same will apply to HA hardware.

I don't fight the trend - I sell the hardware at cost or let the customer provide it - and sell them my expertise - you can have the same bottom line without having to make money on the sale of the hardware.