Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

Virtual KVM's


  • Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 nov0798

nov0798

    Dedicated Cocooner

  • Registered
  • PipPipPip
  • 524 posts
  • Location:Dumfries, VA
  • Experience:average
  • Software:Premise
  • Hardware:Elk M1
  • Tech:UPB, 1-Wire
  • Phone:VoIP via ISP

Posted 31 October 2011 - 06:15 PM

We are interested in using something similar to the Synergy software (http://synergy-foss.org/)on our computers. Here is the issue. We have 5 computers on 5 different networks. Can this product be configured to recognize the machines on different networks, or does anyone know if there is a similar product that will allow us to use one keyboard/mouse over 5 computers on different networks?

Thanks

#2 video321

video321

    Dedicated Cocooner

  • Registered
  • PipPipPip
  • 776 posts
  • Location:NJ
  • Hardware:Elk M1, Mi Casa Verde Vera
  • Tech:Z-Wave
  • Audio:Custom
  • Video:Custom
  • CCTV:analog, dvr
  • Phone:Ooma

Posted 31 October 2011 - 07:11 PM

Never used the software but if you can specify hosts by IP then I don't see why not???

#3 nlaredo

nlaredo

    Cocooner

  • Registered
  • PipPip
  • 29 posts
  • Location:Mountain View, CA
  • Experience:average
  • Software:Custom
  • Hardware:Elk M1, ISY-99
  • Tech:INSTEON
  • Audio:Sonos
  • Video:Custom
  • CCTV:analog, ip, dvr
  • Phone:Linksys PAP2, OBi100/110

Posted 01 November 2011 - 09:50 AM

I've used synergy for machines in different networks for years. If you can't route traffic between the networks (for example, if one is a restricted guest network), then it will likely not work without extra effort.

#4 Work2Play

Work2Play

    Cocoonut

  • -=Gold Supporter=-
  • 4447 posts
  • Location:Northern California
  • Experience:guru
  • Software:Elve
  • Hardware:Elk M1, RUC-01
  • Tech:X10-RF, UPB
  • Audio:AirPlay
  • Video:XBMC
  • CCTV:ip, dvr
  • Phone:3CX, Asterisk, FreePBX, Grandstream, Ooma

Posted 01 November 2011 - 07:13 PM

Is this to remotely access computers that are somewhere else, or is this to really access all the computers from one place like that, but where the computers really are isolated on separate networks?

I've never heard of synergy but that looks like something I'll be downloading tonight after the kids go to bed - looks awesome, especially with the cross-platform integration.

#5 video321

video321

    Dedicated Cocooner

  • Registered
  • PipPipPip
  • 776 posts
  • Location:NJ
  • Hardware:Elk M1, Mi Casa Verde Vera
  • Tech:Z-Wave
  • Audio:Custom
  • Video:Custom
  • CCTV:analog, dvr
  • Phone:Ooma

Posted 01 November 2011 - 07:38 PM

Is this to remotely access computers that are somewhere else, or is this to really access all the computers from one place like that, but where the computers really are isolated on separate networks?

This would be for computers all housed in a single area but are segmented by routers or VLANs.

#6 Dan (electron)

Dan (electron)

    CocoonTech Admin

  • Admin
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 10853 posts
  • Twitter:@CocoonTech
  • Location:Central NY
  • Experience:guru
  • Software:EventGhost, HomeSeer
  • Hardware:Elk M1, Mi Casa Verde Vera, Ocelot
  • Tech:X10-RF, UPB, Z-Wave, ZigBee
  • Audio:AirPlay
  • Video:SageTV
  • CCTV:analog, ip, dvr
  • Phone:OBi100/110

Posted 01 November 2011 - 07:49 PM

Synergy should work, just need to make sure you open up the ports. Microsoft just released a similar tool (Mouse Without Borders) which also supports transferring clipboard and files. As long as you can specify a host name or IP, the solution should work.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users