Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

New wifi device. Looks promising


  • Please log in to reply
13 replies to this topic

#1 johnlaroux

johnlaroux

    Cocooner

  • Registered
  • PipPip
  • 46 posts
  • Location:Gilbert, AZ
  • Experience:average
  • Software:ECS
  • Hardware:Ocelot
  • Tech:Z-Wave, ZigBee, 1-Wire
  • Phone:Ooma

Posted 22 November 2011 - 04:20 PM

I came across this new device in development by some guys at MIT. http://www.kickstart...to-the-internet

#2 potts.mike

potts.mike

    Dedicated Cocooner

  • Registered
  • PipPipPip
  • 261 posts

Posted 25 November 2011 - 05:45 PM

so would the http interface make it easy to get into ha software?

#3 johnlaroux

johnlaroux

    Cocooner

  • Registered
  • PipPip
  • 46 posts
  • Location:Gilbert, AZ
  • Experience:average
  • Software:ECS
  • Hardware:Ocelot
  • Tech:Z-Wave, ZigBee, 1-Wire
  • Phone:Ooma

Posted 26 November 2011 - 01:39 AM

I don't know. I will have to wait till the one I ordered shows up so I can see what all it does.

#4 MrGibbage

MrGibbage

    Dedicated Cocooner

  • Registered
  • PipPipPip
  • 245 posts

Posted 01 January 2012 - 01:29 PM

I don't know. I will have to wait till the one I ordered shows up so I can see what all it does.

I saw this on dvice today. Did you get yours yet?
http://dvice.com/arc...ne-the-tiny.php

#5 Dan (electron)

Dan (electron)

    CocoonTech Admin

  • Admin
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 10853 posts
  • Twitter:@CocoonTech
  • Location:Central NY
  • Experience:guru
  • Software:EventGhost, HomeSeer
  • Hardware:Elk M1, Mi Casa Verde Vera, Ocelot
  • Tech:X10-RF, UPB, Z-Wave, ZigBee
  • Audio:AirPlay
  • Video:SageTV
  • CCTV:analog, ip, dvr
  • Phone:OBi100/110

Posted 01 January 2012 - 05:29 PM

The device does look promising, but I am not too impressed with the fact that this relies on 'the cloud'.

#6 pete_c

pete_c

    Cocoonut

  • -=Gold Supporter=-
  • 4308 posts
  • Location:House
  • Experience:average
  • Software:Elve, Main Lobby, Open Source Automation
  • Hardware:HAI OmniPro II, Mi Casa Verde Vera, Ocelot
  • Tech:X10-PLC, X10-RF, UPB, INSTEON, Z-Wave, ZigBee, 1-Wire, xAP, xPL
  • Audio:Russound
  • Video:MythTV
  • CCTV:analog, ip, dvr
  • Phone:Asterisk, FreePBX, Ooma, POTS, VoIP via ISP

Posted 02 January 2012 - 07:52 AM

Personally here now testing with the Seagate Dockstar and 1-wire devices. Together they do make a small footprint on the network put anywhere type of setup. (wired or wirelessly). I have been playing with some newer or different style USB/9097 devices that I have not seen from Maxim technologies but using same methodologies somewhat. I've chopped up the device that I purchased a bit. It came with two cabled with probes temperature sensors using two stereo (3 pin connections) jacks on it. The specific testing right now is one Seagate dockstar sitting inside of the sprinkler box with two Rain8's and one USB to 1-wire setup running Archlinux. Works and can talk wired or wirelessly in any fashion you want to these hardware devices. That said the footprint is a bit bigger than the posted sensor.

Along a similiar trend is what is going on these days with Arduino "stuff" for that DIY person.

http://www.instructa...duino-Projects/

I guess then I wouldn't mind testing the device if it also had a built in NIC and more control of the software running on it. For the "beginner" in this realm the use of Twitter, email, or text messaging to get data from the device would be optimal; those seasoned HA/DIY folks would want other means to get data from the device or the option of said means not limited to just what is available.

#7 johnlaroux

johnlaroux

    Cocooner

  • Registered
  • PipPip
  • 46 posts
  • Location:Gilbert, AZ
  • Experience:average
  • Software:ECS
  • Hardware:Ocelot
  • Tech:Z-Wave, ZigBee, 1-Wire
  • Phone:Ooma

Posted 03 January 2012 - 06:50 PM

I saw this on dvice today. Did you get yours yet?
http://dvice.com/arc...ne-the-tiny.php


They don't get delivered till around March. I just ordered one to play with, but they are way to expensive to actually use.

With my home automation system I am able to send commands via email, so this device will work with my system. Did i mention that the twine is way to expensive???

#8 Dan (electron)

Dan (electron)

    CocoonTech Admin

  • Admin
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 10853 posts
  • Twitter:@CocoonTech
  • Location:Central NY
  • Experience:guru
  • Software:EventGhost, HomeSeer
  • Hardware:Elk M1, Mi Casa Verde Vera, Ocelot
  • Tech:X10-RF, UPB, Z-Wave, ZigBee
  • Audio:AirPlay
  • Video:SageTV
  • CCTV:analog, ip, dvr
  • Phone:OBi100/110

Posted 03 January 2012 - 07:48 PM

It really is way too expensive. I guess it's useful if you have a single home automation task in mind, but home automation is expensive enough as it is.

#9 NewZealandHome

NewZealandHome

    Cocooner

  • Registered
  • PipPip
  • 90 posts
  • Location:New Zealand
  • Experience:guru
  • Software:EventGhost, Custom
  • Hardware:Custom
  • Tech:C-Bus, Custom
  • Video:Windows Media Center
  • CCTV:ip

Posted 04 January 2012 - 03:00 AM

Hey guys, I'm new to home automation,

I've found some temperature sensors for 2.2cents each, yep you read it right. how can home automation still be expensive, its bogling my mind. So DIY is the way to go for me. Can you guys point me at some wholesale supplier sites for PIR sensors and other types of sensors. thanks. I also started a new thread with some of my research.

#10 pete_c

pete_c

    Cocoonut

  • -=Gold Supporter=-
  • 4308 posts
  • Location:House
  • Experience:average
  • Software:Elve, Main Lobby, Open Source Automation
  • Hardware:HAI OmniPro II, Mi Casa Verde Vera, Ocelot
  • Tech:X10-PLC, X10-RF, UPB, INSTEON, Z-Wave, ZigBee, 1-Wire, xAP, xPL
  • Audio:Russound
  • Video:MythTV
  • CCTV:analog, ip, dvr
  • Phone:Asterisk, FreePBX, Ooma, POTS, VoIP via ISP

Posted 04 January 2012 - 06:00 PM

I found these a while ago and always wanted to buy one to play with. Its Ebay item: 130617149865 for $2.71 USD

Dimension: 3.2cm x 2.4cm x 2.8cm (approx)
Infrared sensor with control circuit board
The sensitivity and holding time can be adjusted
Working Voltage Range: DC 4.5V- 20V
Current drain:<60uA
Voltage Output: High/Low level signal:3.3V TTL output
Detection distance: 3--7M(can be adjusted)
Detection range: <140°
Delay time: 5-200S(can be adjusted, default 5s +-3%)
Blockade time: 2.5 S (default)
Trigger: L: Non-repeatable trigger H: Repeat Trigger (default)
Work temperature:-20-+80°C
Trigger Method: L unrepeatable trigger / H repeatable trigger

Attached Files



#11 Lou Apo

Lou Apo

    Cocoonut

  • Registered
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 2614 posts
  • Location:Austin TX
  • Experience:average
  • Hardware:ISY-99
  • Tech:INSTEON
  • Audio:Custom
  • Video:Windows Media Center
  • CCTV:analog, dvr

Posted 04 January 2012 - 09:42 PM

Looks like you could link that device up with a cai webcontrol board quite nicely. If you have a an ISY unit then you can use WCLink and use it to control Insteon devices.

#12 murphy

murphy

    Cocooner

  • Registered
  • PipPip
  • 93 posts

Posted 02 February 2012 - 05:54 PM

http://supermechanical.com/twine/

Just FYI.

Yes a bare Temp.sensor may be 2.2. cents only.
And this device is much more expensive.
But it looks like a rather complete system

#13 NewZealandHome

NewZealandHome

    Cocooner

  • Registered
  • PipPip
  • 90 posts
  • Location:New Zealand
  • Experience:guru
  • Software:EventGhost, Custom
  • Hardware:Custom
  • Tech:C-Bus, Custom
  • Video:Windows Media Center
  • CCTV:ip

Posted 13 April 2012 - 07:54 AM

twine $179. meh, you can buy a 10inch full colour capacitive touchscreen tablet with all those sensors inside for $140.

#14 freedom

freedom

    Cocooner

  • Registered
  • PipPip
  • 25 posts
  • Twitter:twitter.com/freedomotic
  • Location:Italy
  • Software:Custom
  • Tech:X10-RF, KNX

Posted 13 April 2012 - 03:13 PM

Hi, I suggest this device with wifi support. Flyport by http://www.openpicus.com.

Edited by freedom, 13 April 2012 - 03:13 PM.





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users