New home construction - newbie, need advice!

phandel

First off, I've never done any home automation before. I do like writing iOS apps.

From thinking about my wishes:
* everything controlled by iPad app (that I'll write) - don't want to have to constantly switch apps
* would like as much going over cat6 ip as possible, instead of separate wires for everything
* outlets (with power meters) and dimmable lights, thinking insteon (with the SmartLinc at the bottom)
----- do they make dimmable paddle light switches, that have a physical dimmer control which can also be controlled programmatically?
* temp control - leaning towards two Nests (upstairs and downstairs), is the API hackable?
* don't care about tv video - we'll just have a few appletv's, and rarely watch tv
* would like black-out window shade controls
* might write a very basic ip camera surveillance app, with two features: 1) high res immediate streaming to iPad controllers, 2) store low-res video stream on our media Mac for archive
* will run Cat6 everywhere, and also empty loom/conduit for future cables.
* would like car / front door unlock based on iPhone proximity, as well as "lights on when I get home"

I'd like to avoid getting a big expensive system, and just have smart switches and outlets, controlled by this:
* Insteon <-> IP
     - SmartLinc: smarthome.com/2412N/SmartLinc-INSTEON-Central-Controller/p.aspx

Thoughts? Thanks!!

Oh and audio, I'm thinking of just send it over AirPlay to an airport express, appletv, or AirPlay-receiver. Will probably need speaker wire for in-ceiling and outdoor speakers ...

Without me getting into the whole details, from a security standpoint, I would re-evaluate your unlock of the car/disarm house based on your phone proximity.