Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

How to log my UPB activity with OmniPro II


  • Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 fdnyfish

fdnyfish

    Cocooner

  • Registered
  • PipPip
  • 26 posts

Posted 25 December 2011 - 05:19 PM

Is there a way I can log what UPB signals are being sent?

#2 Desert_AIP

Desert_AIP

    Cocoonut

  • Registered
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1382 posts
  • Location:Washington
  • Experience:average
  • Hardware:HAI OmniPro II, Ocelot, RUC-01
  • Tech:X10-PLC, UPB, ZigBee, Custom
  • Audio:HAI
  • CCTV:ip, dvr
  • Phone:POTS

Posted 25 December 2011 - 06:21 PM

Run Upstart from a PC and open the log.
You'll see all the UPB activity.

#3 fdnyfish

fdnyfish

    Cocooner

  • Registered
  • PipPip
  • 26 posts

Posted 25 December 2011 - 07:25 PM

does the pc have to be hooked directly to the hai panel? or can i retreive it via my lan connection with the panels IP address?

Trying to figure out why all my HAI modules randomly FLICKER together, ONLY when the modules are on do they flicker. Off modules to not power on to flicker.

Here is a video of it happening....


Edited by fdnyfish, 25 December 2011 - 07:45 PM.


#4 Desert_AIP

Desert_AIP

    Cocoonut

  • Registered
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1382 posts
  • Location:Washington
  • Experience:average
  • Hardware:HAI OmniPro II, Ocelot, RUC-01
  • Tech:X10-PLC, UPB, ZigBee, Custom
  • Audio:HAI
  • CCTV:ip, dvr
  • Phone:POTS

Posted 25 December 2011 - 07:45 PM

No the PC doesn't need to be hooked up to the HAI.
You need a PIM hooked to the PC.
It will receive all of the traffic on the UPB network regardless of source (HAI, local switches, other controllers).
Even using HLC and all HAI components, it's still a good idea to have a second standalone PIM and a copy of UPStart to program non-HLC behaviors and for troubleshooting/archiving UPB network setups.

As far as I know there is no way to directly log what the HAI is transmitting. Even if you were to add programming lines to log UPB transmissions, a lot of those transmissions are automatically sent in response to other traffic so it would be very difficult to capture them all.

Edited by Desert_AIP, 25 December 2011 - 07:47 PM.


#5 fdnyfish

fdnyfish

    Cocooner

  • Registered
  • PipPip
  • 26 posts

Posted 25 December 2011 - 07:54 PM

thanks, just ordered one...

http://www.amazon.co...24862316&sr=1-1

Edited by fdnyfish, 25 December 2011 - 08:19 PM.


#6 Desert_AIP

Desert_AIP

    Cocoonut

  • Registered
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1382 posts
  • Location:Washington
  • Experience:average
  • Hardware:HAI OmniPro II, Ocelot, RUC-01
  • Tech:X10-PLC, UPB, ZigBee, Custom
  • Audio:HAI
  • CCTV:ip, dvr
  • Phone:POTS

Posted 25 December 2011 - 08:29 PM

You need a serial commection from the PC to the PIM.
If you don't have an rs-232 serial port you need a USB to serial converter (not all work) or a USB PIM.
The USB PIMs work OK for programming, but you need a serial one for anything else.
So I use a USB to serial converter cable with an RS-232 PIM.

Doesn't have to be HAI's PIM, they all should send and receive UPB.
I use a Simply Automated PIM for UPStart, found one on e-bay for $10.
The cabling for the HAI can be a pain for use with a PC.

#7 fdnyfish

fdnyfish

    Cocooner

  • Registered
  • PipPip
  • 26 posts

Posted 25 December 2011 - 08:40 PM

so the USB model from Simply Automated (UMC-USB-W) will not allow me to see a log with upstart? it needs to be the serial version (UMC-DB9-W)

#8 Desert_AIP

Desert_AIP

    Cocoonut

  • Registered
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1382 posts
  • Location:Washington
  • Experience:average
  • Hardware:HAI OmniPro II, Ocelot, RUC-01
  • Tech:X10-PLC, UPB, ZigBee, Custom
  • Audio:HAI
  • CCTV:ip, dvr
  • Phone:POTS

Posted 25 December 2011 - 11:50 PM

The USB version should work fine with UPStart.
It can't be used with most controllers and stand alone products.
The RS-232 version is just more flexible.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users