Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

Dedicated Mac Mini


  • Please log in to reply
23 replies to this topic

#1 heffneil

heffneil

    Dedicated Cocooner

  • Registered
  • PipPipPip
  • 295 posts

Posted 09 March 2012 - 10:08 PM

Anyone using a dedicated mac mini for their HaikuHelper install? I am thinking of getting one for Haiku and some wifi syncing of ipads. Anyone else doing something similar and having success?

Thanks!

Neil

#2 lupinglade

lupinglade

    Cocoonut

  • Manufacturers
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1044 posts
  • Experience:guru
  • Software:Custom
  • Hardware:HAI OmniPro II
  • Tech:UPB, ZigBee, Custom
  • Audio:Nuvo
  • Video:AirPlay
  • CCTV:ip, dvr
  • Phone:Linksys PAP2, Vonage

Posted 09 March 2012 - 10:40 PM

That is the best way to do it. We recommend it whenever possible as of course it will give you the best reliability and performance. Plus the mini uses very little power (~10W idle).

Edited by lupinglade, 09 March 2012 - 10:42 PM.


#3 InspiredTim

InspiredTim

    Cocooner

  • Registered
  • PipPip
  • 49 posts

Posted 11 March 2012 - 01:46 AM

When the Haiku can play music straight from the iPhones or mac with metadata instead of having to flick through apps, this will be a definite end to the need of some other branded products. If we can get intercom between Haiku's as well, that would be awesome. I have shown many people Haiku and they have ceased to use Snaplink and have started using Haiku, due to its look, flexibility, functions and the dedication of the team behind it to build a product that the end user wants instead of trying to tell them what they want.

#4 JFab Design

JFab Design

    Dedicated Cocooner

  • Professionals
  • PipPipPip
  • 185 posts
  • Location:PA
  • Software:Custom
  • Hardware:2GIG, DSC, HAI OmniPro II, Custom
  • Tech:Z-Wave, ZigBee, RadioRA2
  • Audio:Custom
  • Video:Custom
  • CCTV:analog, ip, dvr
  • Phone:Vonage

Posted 12 March 2012 - 09:24 AM

I run a MacMini with HaikuHelper. In addition, I use the mini for backups using crash plan, iTunes streaming and cctv using SecuritySpy.
Also, I have a drobo connected to use for the streaming and backups.

#5 Steve

Steve

    Cocoonut

  • Registered
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 3763 posts
  • Location:South Fla
  • Experience:guru
  • Software:CQC
  • Hardware:HAI OmniPro II
  • Tech:UPB, ZigBee, CentraLite
  • Audio:Nuvo
  • Video:SageTV
  • CCTV:ip

Posted 12 March 2012 - 12:40 PM

I currently have HH on my daily workhorse mac mini.

#6 heffneil

heffneil

    Dedicated Cocooner

  • Registered
  • PipPipPip
  • 295 posts

Posted 12 March 2012 - 09:44 PM

Are you guys running the standard 10.7.3 or a server based OS? Also whats the hardware in your guys mac mini and is it seem suitable? Just not sure if its worth saving a few bucks to go refurb or new...

Thanks,

Neil

#7 JFab Design

JFab Design

    Dedicated Cocooner

  • Professionals
  • PipPipPip
  • 185 posts
  • Location:PA
  • Software:Custom
  • Hardware:2GIG, DSC, HAI OmniPro II, Custom
  • Tech:Z-Wave, ZigBee, RadioRA2
  • Audio:Custom
  • Video:Custom
  • CCTV:analog, ip, dvr
  • Phone:Vonage

Posted 12 March 2012 - 10:26 PM

I am running 10.7.3.

2.4 GHz Intel Core 2 Duo, 8GB Ram

HaikuHelper doesn't even hit 5% cpu.

I finally turned off my FitPC-even though it is probably more efficient than the Mini, but there is now one less machine running!

I would go refurb.

#8 lupinglade

lupinglade

    Cocoonut

  • Manufacturers
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1044 posts
  • Experience:guru
  • Software:Custom
  • Hardware:HAI OmniPro II
  • Tech:UPB, ZigBee, Custom
  • Audio:Nuvo
  • Video:AirPlay
  • CCTV:ip, dvr
  • Phone:Linksys PAP2, Vonage

Posted 13 March 2012 - 02:26 PM

10.7 client will be fine, no need for Server. Any machine capable of running 10.7 will work for HaikuHelper well.

#9 heffneil

heffneil

    Dedicated Cocooner

  • Registered
  • PipPipPip
  • 295 posts

Posted 21 March 2012 - 05:06 PM

I got a mac mini and want to move haikuhelper. I got it installed but is it the Haiku.sqlite file that I need to copy to get all my settings moved over?

Thanks,

Neil

#10 lupinglade

lupinglade

    Cocoonut

  • Manufacturers
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1044 posts
  • Experience:guru
  • Software:Custom
  • Hardware:HAI OmniPro II
  • Tech:UPB, ZigBee, Custom
  • Audio:Nuvo
  • Video:AirPlay
  • CCTV:ip, dvr
  • Phone:Linksys PAP2, Vonage

Posted 21 March 2012 - 06:06 PM

Yes. You should also include HaikuHelper.sqlite if you want to copy over statistics for the graphing feature of the web interface (if you use that).

#11 heffneil

heffneil

    Dedicated Cocooner

  • Registered
  • PipPipPip
  • 295 posts

Posted 22 March 2012 - 07:16 AM

i copied the entire package from the one computer and it says the config isn't valid. Do I have to re-enter my omnipro's information or won't that migrate over?

Thanks,

Neil

#12 lupinglade

lupinglade

    Cocoonut

  • Manufacturers
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1044 posts
  • Experience:guru
  • Software:Custom
  • Hardware:HAI OmniPro II
  • Tech:UPB, ZigBee, Custom
  • Audio:Nuvo
  • Video:AirPlay
  • CCTV:ip, dvr
  • Phone:Linksys PAP2, Vonage

Posted 22 March 2012 - 11:04 AM

Make sure you quit HaikuHelper on the destination machine before copying. Also ensure you are placing it in the right folder. It should work fine, we do this here for testing all of the time and it is designed to work this way. You can also just copy over the whole com.nullriver.HaikuHelper2 folder.

You should not have to reenter anything.

Edited by lupinglade, 22 March 2012 - 11:05 AM.


#13 heffneil

heffneil

    Dedicated Cocooner

  • Registered
  • PipPipPip
  • 295 posts

Posted 22 March 2012 - 04:37 PM

I copied the entire "package" from the Applications directory but that didn't work. I will check out the com.nullriver... if I can find it :)

i will post an update.

Thanks,

Neil

Yeah I can't find this directory?!

Edited by heffneil, 22 March 2012 - 04:39 PM.


#14 lupinglade

lupinglade

    Cocoonut

  • Manufacturers
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1044 posts
  • Experience:guru
  • Software:Custom
  • Hardware:HAI OmniPro II
  • Tech:UPB, ZigBee, Custom
  • Audio:Nuvo
  • Video:AirPlay
  • CCTV:ip, dvr
  • Phone:Linksys PAP2, Vonage

Posted 22 March 2012 - 10:56 PM

Its in the /Users/yourusername/Library/Application Support folder. You can use the Go menu in Finder to go to your Library folder by holding Option and clicking Go on the Finder menu bar.

#15 heffneil

heffneil

    Dedicated Cocooner

  • Registered
  • PipPipPip
  • 295 posts

Posted 23 March 2012 - 10:39 AM

Thanks for the education in OSX! What a PITA. I was looking all over for the files and couldn't find them! Looks like it is working! Thanks,

Neil




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users