Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

Daylight Savings Issues


  • Please log in to reply
83 replies to this topic

#31 Lou Apo

Lou Apo

    Cocoonut

  • Registered
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 2614 posts
  • Location:Austin TX
  • Experience:average
  • Hardware:ISY-99
  • Tech:INSTEON
  • Audio:Custom
  • Video:Windows Media Center
  • CCTV:analog, dvr

Posted 15 March 2012 - 05:47 PM

I have to say this is a very odd issue that so many people have issues but they manifest in different ways. I would expect erroneous code to at least be consistenly erroneous.

#32 BraveSirRobbin

BraveSirRobbin

    Cocoonut

  • Moderators
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 7093 posts
  • Location:Las Vegas, Nevada
  • Experience:guru
  • Software:Main Lobby
  • Hardware:CaddX, Elk M1, Ocelot
  • Tech:X10-RF
  • Video:SageTV
  • CCTV:analog, ip, dvr
  • Phone:OBi100/110, Ooma

Posted 15 March 2012 - 08:34 PM

If only someone could write a tool for that ;)


There you go!!!

#33 gatchel

gatchel

    Cocoonut

  • Professionals
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1836 posts
  • Experience:average
  • Hardware:Elk M1, ISY-99
  • Tech:INSTEON, Z-Wave
  • Audio:Sonos
  • CCTV:analog, ip, dvr
  • Phone:POTS

Posted 16 March 2012 - 07:34 AM

Rather than put extra code in the firmware, why not have a command to set the time via the PC clock? This way we could just have an event correct the time once per day..issue solved! :rockon:


You mean the PC clock using Elk RP?

#34 chrisexv6

chrisexv6

    Dedicated Cocooner

  • Registered
  • PipPipPip
  • 289 posts

Posted 16 March 2012 - 07:44 AM

I have to say this is a very odd issue that so many people have issues but they manifest in different ways. I would expect erroneous code to at least be consistenly erroneous.


Exactly what I was thinking, thats why I asked why so many people are having so different experiences.

I know there are different firmware versions out there, so maybe we can start a poll of people having DST issues and ask them to include the firmware version they are running.

I went back to my M1G last night and Im on *very* old firmware (5.0.12)....since I wasnt checking the time on my system, I know it changed to DST (because its correct right now) but I dont know WHEN it changed to DST. It seems the DST code was already updated before that version, so technically mine might be working as expected but I wasnt there to catch it and check that.

#35 wuench

wuench

    Cocoonut

  • Registered
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1364 posts
  • Location:St. Louis, MO
  • Experience:guru
  • Software:CQC, EventGhost, Harmony
  • Hardware:Elk M1, ISY-99
  • Tech:INSTEON
  • Video:XBMC
  • CCTV:dvr
  • Phone:OBi100/110

Posted 16 March 2012 - 08:30 AM

Yeah, I think there are differences in firmware (I am not up to date 4.5.24, XEP 1.3.10) and probably different ways people have it setup, like if they have put in the custom DST settings or not (which I have). And probably different steps people are taking at troubleshooting. I just sync'd with my PC in ElkRP and so far so good.

Edited by wuench, 16 March 2012 - 08:34 AM.


#36 hagak

hagak

    Dedicated Cocooner

  • Registered
  • PipPipPip
  • 142 posts

Posted 16 March 2012 - 08:43 AM

Just to add more confusion to this issue. My clock changed correctly on Sunday, and on Monday changed again to be an hour behind. However by Wednesday it had corrected itself to be the right time. At no time did I make any change to my system.

I can only assume that the Elk handles stress very poorly and goes into meltdown at the added stress of changing its clock twice a year.

#37 wuench

wuench

    Cocoonut

  • Registered
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1364 posts
  • Location:St. Louis, MO
  • Experience:guru
  • Software:CQC, EventGhost, Harmony
  • Hardware:Elk M1, ISY-99
  • Tech:INSTEON
  • Video:XBMC
  • CCTV:dvr
  • Phone:OBi100/110

Posted 16 March 2012 - 08:55 AM

Or maybe, Elk Installers view it as Christmas two times a year. ^_^

#38 BraveSirRobbin

BraveSirRobbin

    Cocoonut

  • Moderators
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 7093 posts
  • Location:Las Vegas, Nevada
  • Experience:guru
  • Software:Main Lobby
  • Hardware:CaddX, Elk M1, Ocelot
  • Tech:X10-RF
  • Video:SageTV
  • CCTV:analog, ip, dvr
  • Phone:OBi100/110, Ooma

Posted 16 March 2012 - 11:09 AM


You mean the PC clock using Elk RP?


http://cocoontech.com/forums/topic/10285-elk-m1g-setting-current-time-via-the-serial-port/page__view__findpost__p__89029

Just run this program, I tried it and it works great! B)

#39 gatchel

gatchel

    Cocoonut

  • Professionals
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1836 posts
  • Experience:average
  • Hardware:Elk M1, ISY-99
  • Tech:INSTEON, Z-Wave
  • Audio:Sonos
  • CCTV:analog, ip, dvr
  • Phone:POTS

Posted 16 March 2012 - 02:21 PM


http://cocoontech.co...dpost__p__89029

Just run this program, I tried it and it works great! B)



Wow that really diggin' in the crates. Nice program.

While I like that idea I am going to be a hard ass and say I paid for an M1XEP, it has NTP capability, my M1 clock should NEVER be wrong.... :D

#40 BraveSirRobbin

BraveSirRobbin

    Cocoonut

  • Moderators
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 7093 posts
  • Location:Las Vegas, Nevada
  • Experience:guru
  • Software:Main Lobby
  • Hardware:CaddX, Elk M1, Ocelot
  • Tech:X10-RF
  • Video:SageTV
  • CCTV:analog, ip, dvr
  • Phone:OBi100/110, Ooma

Posted 16 March 2012 - 05:18 PM


While I like that idea I am going to be a hard ass and say I paid for an M1XEP, it has NTP capability, my M1 clock should NEVER be wrong.... :D


Yup, and I paid good money for an operating system that should never have security issues, home automation software that should never hang up, hardware that should always work, etc... ;)

Though I undestand wanting this to work, I just don't see it as that big of a deal compared to all of the things the Elk M1 does correctly. -_-

#41 gatchel

gatchel

    Cocoonut

  • Professionals
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1836 posts
  • Experience:average
  • Hardware:Elk M1, ISY-99
  • Tech:INSTEON, Z-Wave
  • Audio:Sonos
  • CCTV:analog, ip, dvr
  • Phone:POTS

Posted 16 March 2012 - 05:53 PM

...You've got a good point except for...












just kidding.

I'll shut up now and stop :horse:

#42 Work2Play

Work2Play

    Cocoonut

  • -=Gold Supporter=-
  • 4455 posts
  • Location:Northern California
  • Experience:guru
  • Software:Elve
  • Hardware:Elk M1, RUC-01
  • Tech:X10-RF, UPB
  • Audio:AirPlay
  • Video:XBMC
  • CCTV:ip, dvr
  • Phone:3CX, Asterisk, FreePBX, Grandstream, Ooma

Posted 17 March 2012 - 02:46 AM

Well mine self-corrected overnight. Weird that it would change when it was supposed to, then revert for a few days, then straighten itself back - but at least I didn't have to tinker with it.

#43 Kazibole

Kazibole

    Dedicated Cocooner

  • Registered
  • PipPipPip
  • 148 posts
  • Software:Elve
  • Hardware:Elk M1
  • Tech:UPB
  • Video:SageTV
  • CCTV:analog, dvr

Posted 18 March 2012 - 09:05 AM

A few days after the DST change my panel corrected itself to the correct time. This morning I noticed that it is now 1 hour ahead again. I am not sure if it changed this morning but it happened at least in the past few days. This make it 3 times that it has jumped ahead 1 hour in the last 2 weeks.

This is utterly ridiculous on Elk's part. There is no excuse. Why can my computers, my cell phones, my PVRs, heck even my cheap Panasonic cordless phones switch properly but Elk can not?

Edited by Kazibole, 18 March 2012 - 09:06 AM.


#44 gatchel

gatchel

    Cocoonut

  • Professionals
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1836 posts
  • Experience:average
  • Hardware:Elk M1, ISY-99
  • Tech:INSTEON, Z-Wave
  • Audio:Sonos
  • CCTV:analog, ip, dvr
  • Phone:POTS

Posted 19 March 2012 - 06:33 AM

My panel performed a self-repair also. The time is now correct with no intervention.

#45 AnotherOne

AnotherOne

    Dedicated Cocooner

  • Registered
  • PipPipPip
  • 208 posts
  • Location:Seattle
  • Experience:average
  • Software:Custom
  • Hardware:Elk M1, Custom
  • Tech:Custom
  • Audio:Custom
  • Video:Custom
  • CCTV:analog

Posted 20 March 2012 - 01:32 PM

Mine jumped ahead one hour one the right sunday, then jumped ahead another hour 2 days ago sunday (3/18).

Firmware: 5.2.08




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users