• Please log in to reply
22 replies to this topic

#1 ericmoyer

ericmoyer

• Registered
  • Pip
  • 4 posts

Posted 11 May 2012 - 03:34 PM

Hi all. I recently purchased a home and would like to start automating it. I discovered this forum and have been combing through it but the amount of information is overwhelming so I'm looking for just a little guidance.

About me:
I'm pretty good with computers--great with Windows and I can survive with Linux if I have to. I can program a bit in various languages, but not great. Understand networking. I've built many PC's over the years. I'm also pretty good with home repairs/remodeling (painting, spackling, wiring, etc.). I've also fixed a few circuit boards over the last few years, but I'm no electrical engineer. I do understand the basics of electronics.

About the house:
Has a central sound system with speakers in every room with volume controls in each room. Most rooms in the house have cat5 wiring. Home has a pretty robust alarm system I'd like to tie in eventually. It has a 4-zone heating system. The house has 600amp electric service with about 8 panels and I'm concerned that the systems that communicate through the electric lines may not be able to talk to each other due to all the panels(though this may not be an issue at all).

Goals:
I'd like to be able to control the music and various lights(some on timers) and thermostats. Would also like to be about to arm and disarm the alarm system eventually though my alarm company tells me i'll have to replace the main board of the alarm system to do that. I'd like at least 1 touch-screen(probably more) in the house to control things. I'd prefer it to be a wifi or RF-based system. Voice recognition would be a huge plus. The ability to limit who accesses the system(ie. not my kids) would be good too. Eventually I'd like to tie in a small camera system.