Jump to content


Photo
* * * * * 1 votes

Photo Beam sensor - connect to Elk J16 output.


  • Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1 treo650

treo650

    Dedicated Cocooner

  • Registered
  • PipPipPip
  • 176 posts

Posted 30 May 2012 - 05:33 AM

Per my understanding, ELK J16 pumps 50mA output, will it work with this photobeam sensor>?

http://www.gatedepot...ual_file/14107/

(note that the photobeam above will work with 12V-240V)


**I have a small dog in the garage, he likely goes to the attached house door to "call" us when he needs to use the restroom at night, so I plan to have the beam sensor across the door when he is near, and the ELK will text me for notification.


1) will the above photobeam sensor work? OR is it a better idea for me to use a PIR motion detector instead?

2) How will I wire it to the ELK M1 board? OR an M1XOR should I buy one in the future?

Problem with a PIR motion is, I currently only have two strand wire to the location, and not the necessary 4 wire needed for PIR

#2 video321

video321

    Dedicated Cocooner

  • Registered
  • PipPipPip
  • 777 posts
  • Location:NJ
  • Hardware:Elk M1, Mi Casa Verde Vera
  • Tech:Z-Wave
  • Audio:Custom
  • Video:Custom
  • CCTV:analog, dvr
  • Phone:Ooma

Posted 30 May 2012 - 05:45 AM

That photobeam would work for you except J16 is for outputs - you need to wire it to an input and give it constant power.

#3 treo650

treo650

    Dedicated Cocooner

  • Registered
  • PipPipPip
  • 176 posts

Posted 30 May 2012 - 05:47 AM

yes, I just had a eureka moment, right before you post....

So Im supposed to wire it to an INPUT ZONE on the elk.


For the power, will it work if I power it with a standard 12v wall wart?

I only have access to 2 wires at the garage for now...so 12V wall wart into an ac outlet, then 2 wires as NORMALLY OPEN back to the ELK panel?

correct?

#4 BraveSirRobbin

BraveSirRobbin

    Cocoonut

  • Moderators
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 7093 posts
  • Location:Las Vegas, Nevada
  • Experience:guru
  • Software:Main Lobby
  • Hardware:CaddX, Elk M1, Ocelot
  • Tech:X10-RF
  • Video:SageTV
  • CCTV:analog, ip, dvr
  • Phone:OBi100/110, Ooma

Posted 30 May 2012 - 06:23 AM

It looks like just about any wall wart would work looking at their power specs:

12-240 VDC or 24-240 VAC

12VDC 40mA
24VDC 20mA

N.O./N.C./Common Relay Output

I would just use the NC and C connections back to the Elk so it looks like any typical door or window sensor. Make sure to disable the EOL setting if you are not using one.

Edited by BraveSirRobbin, 30 May 2012 - 06:23 AM.


#5 treo650

treo650

    Dedicated Cocooner

  • Registered
  • PipPipPip
  • 176 posts

Posted 30 May 2012 - 06:54 AM

GREAT, thanks!

another to do project...

aka, more money spent!

for those interested, the aforementioned photobeam is found on amazon for $51.99...

http://www.amazon.co...wms_ohs_product

#6 treo650

treo650

    Dedicated Cocooner

  • Registered
  • PipPipPip
  • 176 posts

Posted 30 May 2012 - 07:36 AM

I was browsing through ebay and I found this.

Is this the same concept? And will the elk provide enough voltage for self powering?

http://www.ebay.com/...=item25701d53ec

#7 treo650

treo650

    Dedicated Cocooner

  • Registered
  • PipPipPip
  • 176 posts

Posted 30 May 2012 - 07:50 AM

Here is a better image... With wiring diagram

http://www.ebay.com/...=item3cc5f8b32a


Is it essentially the same concept as amazon unit?

#8 wuench

wuench

    Cocoonut

  • Registered
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1364 posts
  • Location:St. Louis, MO
  • Experience:guru
  • Software:CQC, EventGhost, Harmony
  • Hardware:Elk M1, ISY-99
  • Tech:INSTEON
  • Video:XBMC
  • CCTV:dvr
  • Phone:OBi100/110

Posted 30 May 2012 - 08:00 AM

Yes, but to be clear you need 4 wires for those sensors as well, 2 for power, 2 for the input (COM/OUT). You don't power these sensors from the input itself, the power wires connect to the AUX power bus on the M1. You can add any 12V sensors you want but you want the total power draw to be <1amp normal, <2amp in alarm for all devices totaled up.

Doubtful you will find any beam detectors that are not 4-wire, just like motion detectors. They need power to run the beam and there is no power when the input is open.

Edited by wuench, 30 May 2012 - 08:05 AM.


#9 treo650

treo650

    Dedicated Cocooner

  • Registered
  • PipPipPip
  • 176 posts

Posted 30 May 2012 - 08:10 AM

Can I use a wall wart for the 12v on the beams?... hook it up to an AC outlet in the garage

Then simply run two wires to the NC outputs to the M1?

#10 wuench

wuench

    Cocoonut

  • Registered
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1364 posts
  • Location:St. Louis, MO
  • Experience:guru
  • Software:CQC, EventGhost, Harmony
  • Hardware:Elk M1, ISY-99
  • Tech:INSTEON
  • Video:XBMC
  • CCTV:dvr
  • Phone:OBi100/110

Posted 30 May 2012 - 08:16 AM

Yeah, like BSR stated that should work, just follow his advice above.

#11 treo650

treo650

    Dedicated Cocooner

  • Registered
  • PipPipPip
  • 176 posts

Posted 30 May 2012 - 08:17 AM

Thanks, will order it tonight

#12 video321

video321

    Dedicated Cocooner

  • Registered
  • PipPipPip
  • 777 posts
  • Location:NJ
  • Hardware:Elk M1, Mi Casa Verde Vera
  • Tech:Z-Wave
  • Audio:Custom
  • Video:Custom
  • CCTV:analog, dvr
  • Phone:Ooma

Posted 30 May 2012 - 08:17 AM

Yes, you could use the wall wart. Set the zone as 16 (IIRC) non-alarm and use rules to accomplish what you need for notification.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users