Detached garage, M1, and Temperature sensors

sbwright

Looking for some guidance from you veterans. This is my first time M1 install. Have read a lot of threads here and learned a lot from all your experiences. Prefer wired vs. wireless wherever possible resorting to wireless only when I have to. Although I must say I have a Z-wave network at our current house I installed for testing and it has been rock solid.

We are currently finishing up a garage build on a new property. Plan is to build the house next. In the meantime currently installing an Elk-M1 temporarily in the garage, once the house is built we will relocate the M1 to the house hoping for minimal wiring (hopefully databus only) from the house to the garage. The distance between the 2 buildings is approx 150'.

The M1 is in its own box with only the essentials for communication and battery backup. All expansion cards required for the garage security and automation are in a separate box along with required aux. power supply which will stay in the garage.

The one area I'm having an issue with is the temperature sensors (M1ZTS) which require connection to the M1 inputs 1-16. Looking for possible alternatives in this area, is 1-wire the only other option here other than wiring the temp sensors to the M1 relocated to the house.

Thanks,

There is a Z-Wave sensor that does motion, temp and humidity I believe... It's meant for homeseer so I don't know how widely it's supported.

Also, an unsupported option is to place temperature sensors on an M1XOVR output expansion board, but to do that you have to cut off the pull-up resistor. This is totally unsupported but it does work from what I understand.