• Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 Flow

Flow

• Pip
  • 1 posts

Posted 23 July 2012 - 12:40 PM

Hi all,

First, let me introduce myself. I am a French man, 27 years, and I am a computer engineer. For some years I'm interesting "Home Automation", called "Domoctique" in French, and one week since I'm trying to find something that will give me everything I need to know about it. But I can tell you it is very difficult to find something that is complete. Here is the reason for my topic.
Does anyone know where I can find a document or a website, book, ebook .... anything, that contain how it really works, as all protocols, these are the best practices to follow to start with Home Automation and so on?

Thank you in advance for your answers.

Sincerely,

Flow

#2 pete_c

pete_c

Cocoonut

• -=Gold Supporter=-
  • 3983 posts
  • Experience:average
  • Software:Elve, Main Lobby, Open Source Automation
  • Hardware:HAI OmniPro II, Mi Casa Verde Vera, Ocelot
  • Tech:X10-PLC, X10-RF, UPB, INSTEON, Z-Wave, ZigBee, 1-Wire, xAP, xPL
  • Audio:Russound
  • Video:MythTV
  • CCTV:analog, ip, dvr
  • Phone:Asterisk, FreePBX, Ooma, POTS, VoIP via ISP

Posted 24 July 2012 - 04:02 PM

Welcome to the forum Flow. The forum is very informative with much information related to home automation. The folks are helpful and friendly here.

I started with some home automation back in 1978 automating the lights in my house with X-10. To this day it is still an enjoyable hobby for me.

Hang around and you will find many examples of different types of home automation. Today you can do just about anything with automation.

#3 Dan (electron)

Dan (electron)

CocoonTech Admin

• Admin
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 10853 posts
  • Twitter:@CocoonTech
  • Experience:guru
  • Software:EventGhost, HomeSeer
  • Hardware:Elk M1, Mi Casa Verde Vera, Ocelot
  • Tech:X10-RF, UPB, Z-Wave, ZigBee
  • Audio:AirPlay
  • Video:SageTV
  • CCTV:analog, ip, dvr
  • Phone:OBi100/110