Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

Thermostat with VeraLite


  • Please log in to reply
16 replies to this topic

#1 BraveSirRobbin

BraveSirRobbin

    Cocoonut

  • Moderators
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 7100 posts
  • Location:Las Vegas, Nevada
  • Experience:guru
  • Software:Main Lobby
  • Hardware:CaddX, Elk M1, Ocelot
  • Tech:X10-RF
  • Video:SageTV
  • CCTV:analog, ip, dvr
  • Phone:OBi100/110, Ooma

Posted 28 February 2013 - 12:33 PM

I'm thinking about dabbling into the world of Z-Wave, particularly the Mi Casa Verde VeraLite unit.

I was wondering what thermostat was the best that will work with this unit as past searches here didn't lead to an obvious choice.

I'm leaning towards the Trane TZEMT400BB3.

 

http://www.automated...com/TZEMT400BB3

http://www.amazon.co...howViewpoints=1

 

Thanks,

 

BSR



#2 Dan (electron)

Dan (electron)

    CocoonTech Admin

  • Admin
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 10853 posts
  • Twitter:@CocoonTech
  • Location:Central NY
  • Experience:guru
  • Software:EventGhost, HomeSeer
  • Hardware:Elk M1, Mi Casa Verde Vera, Ocelot
  • Tech:X10-RF, UPB, Z-Wave, ZigBee
  • Audio:AirPlay
  • Video:SageTV
  • CCTV:analog, ip, dvr
  • Phone:OBi100/110

Posted 28 February 2013 - 01:42 PM

I have the Schlage thermostat linked to my Vera controller (currently disconnected for other reasons), and it works fine.  The Schlage is just a rebranded Trane unit, so I don't see a reason why this wouldn't work.



#3 video321

video321

    Dedicated Cocooner

  • Registered
  • PipPipPip
  • 780 posts
  • Location:NJ
  • Hardware:Elk M1, Mi Casa Verde Vera
  • Tech:Z-Wave
  • Audio:Custom
  • Video:Custom
  • CCTV:analog, dvr
  • Phone:Ooma

Posted 28 February 2013 - 02:48 PM

I've been running the Trane for a couple months now with a Vera 2 and I like it. Communication has been flawless and come cooling season I plan on taking advantage of the deltas with my single stage unit. Basically, setting the AC 1 degree lower than I normally would, but allow the temp to fall 2 degrees before kicking on. I want to see about reducing my cycles and pulling out more humidity.



#4 BraveSirRobbin

BraveSirRobbin

    Cocoonut

  • Moderators
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 7100 posts
  • Location:Las Vegas, Nevada
  • Experience:guru
  • Software:Main Lobby
  • Hardware:CaddX, Elk M1, Ocelot
  • Tech:X10-RF
  • Video:SageTV
  • CCTV:analog, ip, dvr
  • Phone:OBi100/110, Ooma

Posted 28 February 2013 - 03:19 PM

Thanks for the comments.  So far it seems nothing runs like a Trane with the Vera2/VeraLite then! :D

 

Curious to hear some more details about your cooling strategy when you get a chance video321.



#5 TaterTot

TaterTot

    Cocooner

  • Registered
  • PipPip
  • 43 posts

Posted 28 February 2013 - 04:25 PM

I know you guys have been talking about the Trane thermostat, but what about the Radio Thermostats (specifically the CT30)?

 

http://www.radiother...om/control.html

 

The reason I ask is because they look a lot better than the Trane thermostat and I found them on eBay for like $65 (with the Z-Wave module)

 

http://www.ebay.com/...=item4ac0c977f8


Edited by TaterTot, 28 February 2013 - 04:42 PM.


#6 BraveSirRobbin

BraveSirRobbin

    Cocoonut

  • Moderators
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 7100 posts
  • Location:Las Vegas, Nevada
  • Experience:guru
  • Software:Main Lobby
  • Hardware:CaddX, Elk M1, Ocelot
  • Tech:X10-RF
  • Video:SageTV
  • CCTV:analog, ip, dvr
  • Phone:OBi100/110, Ooma

Posted 28 February 2013 - 04:35 PM

Well, there are a LOT of Z-Wave enabled thermostats, I am asking specifically for ones known to work well with the VeraLite unit! ;)  I would rather pay a bit more knowing it registers with the VeraLite and that the control via that unit is workable as well.


Edited by BraveSirRobbin, 28 February 2013 - 04:36 PM.


#7 TaterTot

TaterTot

    Cocooner

  • Registered
  • PipPip
  • 43 posts

Posted 28 February 2013 - 05:24 PM

Well, there are a LOT of Z-Wave enabled thermostats, I am asking specifically for ones known to work well with the VeraLite unit! ;)  I would rather pay a bit more knowing it registers with the VeraLite and that the control via that unit is workable as well.

 

Sorry, I did not realize there were known issues with the CT30 and VeraLite. Looks like I need to do some research on the micasaverde forums before I make my final decision...



#8 video321

video321

    Dedicated Cocooner

  • Registered
  • PipPipPip
  • 780 posts
  • Location:NJ
  • Hardware:Elk M1, Mi Casa Verde Vera
  • Tech:Z-Wave
  • Audio:Custom
  • Video:Custom
  • CCTV:analog, dvr
  • Phone:Ooma

Posted 28 February 2013 - 05:24 PM

I know you guys have been talking about the Trane thermostat, but what about the Radio Thermostats (specifically the CT30)?

 

http://www.radiother...om/control.html

 

The reason I ask is because they look a lot better than the Trane thermostat and I found them on eBay for like $65 (with the Z-Wave module)

 

http://www.ebay.com/...=item4ac0c977f8

There were a few things, but I don't remember off-hand. I think one of the issues was no local schedule. I know...we're automating! Still nice to have to fall back on if need be. Personal difference, I think the Trane looks better :) Also, the price you can get the Trane for is only around $30 more.



#9 BraveSirRobbin

BraveSirRobbin

    Cocoonut

  • Moderators
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 7100 posts
  • Location:Las Vegas, Nevada
  • Experience:guru
  • Software:Main Lobby
  • Hardware:CaddX, Elk M1, Ocelot
  • Tech:X10-RF
  • Video:SageTV
  • CCTV:analog, ip, dvr
  • Phone:OBi100/110, Ooma

Posted 28 February 2013 - 05:27 PM

Right, thus the reason for this posting.  I wanted proven assurance from our members that a thermostat works well with the VeraLite unit.



#10 video321

video321

    Dedicated Cocooner

  • Registered
  • PipPipPip
  • 780 posts
  • Location:NJ
  • Hardware:Elk M1, Mi Casa Verde Vera
  • Tech:Z-Wave
  • Audio:Custom
  • Video:Custom
  • CCTV:analog, dvr
  • Phone:Ooma

Posted 28 February 2013 - 05:33 PM

Curious to hear some more details about your cooling strategy when you get a chance video321.

Not so much of a strategy yet... more theory!

Going from memory, my condensing unit will run for ~7-10 mins. on a typical summer day. Considering most units don't reach their peak efficiency until that point and the longer the unit runs the more humidity it will draw, I decided I'll try something. Using 72 as the normal setpoint, I'll instead set it to 71. However, using the deltas I'll set the thermostat to not turn on until the temp is 73. So, the thermostat will still turn on at the same point and the temp will never fall past our normal comfort point. Now, though, the unit will run longer, drawing out more humidity and at a more efficient cycle, but reduce the number of cycles.

 

I'll let you know more in the summer!



#11 signal15

signal15

    Cocoonut

  • Registered
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1282 posts

Posted 28 February 2013 - 06:07 PM

Nest works fine with it.  There's a plugin that talks to the Nest cloud service and pulls stats and allows you to change settings.  Because Nest has no official API, it could break at any time.  But it's been working fine since I installed it a couple of months ago.

 

The Nest's auto-away sensor is generally slow to respond, so when I arm the alarm, vera explicitly sets the Nest to away mode, and sets it back when I open the garage door or disarm the alarm.

 

Even if my Nest didn't talk to Vera, there's no way in hell I'd give it up.  Best thermostat ever.



#12 Dan (electron)

Dan (electron)

    CocoonTech Admin

  • Admin
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 10853 posts
  • Twitter:@CocoonTech
  • Location:Central NY
  • Experience:guru
  • Software:EventGhost, HomeSeer
  • Hardware:Elk M1, Mi Casa Verde Vera, Ocelot
  • Tech:X10-RF, UPB, Z-Wave, ZigBee
  • Audio:AirPlay
  • Video:SageTV
  • CCTV:analog, ip, dvr
  • Phone:OBi100/110

Posted 28 February 2013 - 06:34 PM

Do you have a Nest v1?  I thought v2 had an open API.



#13 BraveSirRobbin

BraveSirRobbin

    Cocoonut

  • Moderators
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 7100 posts
  • Location:Las Vegas, Nevada
  • Experience:guru
  • Software:Main Lobby
  • Hardware:CaddX, Elk M1, Ocelot
  • Tech:X10-RF
  • Video:SageTV
  • CCTV:analog, ip, dvr
  • Phone:OBi100/110, Ooma

Posted 28 February 2013 - 06:43 PM

Yea, now I'm corn-fuzed...do I need to look out for a different version(s)?



#14 signal15

signal15

    Cocoonut

  • Registered
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1282 posts

Posted 01 March 2013 - 12:47 AM

I have a v1. But from what I can tell, it doesn't matter. You're talking to the cloud service and not the thermostat directly.

#15 BraveSirRobbin

BraveSirRobbin

    Cocoonut

  • Moderators
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 7100 posts
  • Location:Las Vegas, Nevada
  • Experience:guru
  • Software:Main Lobby
  • Hardware:CaddX, Elk M1, Ocelot
  • Tech:X10-RF
  • Video:SageTV
  • CCTV:analog, ip, dvr
  • Phone:OBi100/110, Ooma

Posted 01 March 2013 - 11:14 PM

I just realized there is a cheaper model of the Trane that should work with the VeraLite on Amazon's website that is $112 dollars! :)


Edited by BraveSirRobbin, 01 March 2013 - 11:43 PM.





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users