Home theater

benzjas

Hello All,

New to the forum and home automation and really looking to gain some needed information and knowledge for an upcoming project.  My wife and I are looking to finish off our basement which will have a home theater as on of the rooms.  My goal is to start my home automation with the new home theater.  I am looking to control all the lights in the basement (more so the home theater), my AV equipment which will include receiver, blu ray player, DTV, projector, ect. All of the AV equipment will be in a closet in another room.   I want to do this all with a tablet (android).  The home theater would have 3-4 zone which will have dim able lights.  I would like to be able to set up certain scenes where if for example i press play the play button and all lights dim and the movie starts.  

Since i am new to home automation I am not sure where to start.  What hardware is required for such a set up? Is it possible to control this all with one tablet app.  Thank you in advance for the help.

How tech-savvy is your wife?  There's a term for just how much tech nonsense you can get away with, it's the W.A.F or wife acceptance factor.  Do not assume your spouse is going to tolerate the same level of nonsense you might when it comes to using the TV.

When we build out our theater this summer I'll be putting in a Control 4 and Kaleidescape setup.  The WAF here is very low.  Low enough that the estimated costs for such a configuration were accepted.  Now, if I can find alternatives that's great, but if not we'll be shelling out some coin.

Trouble is a lot of the theater stuff is really not very user-proof.  All sorts of nonsense involving ripping, converting, transcoding, etc, just to get content stored.  Having all that coordinated is definitely worth considering.  Otherwise you start risking the WAF...