How to connect input?

rfeyer

Once you read my question it will be obvious that I am very new to this.
Q: how do you attach your inputs to the WebControl digital input? Are there specific plugs one can purchase, use something from old computers? I have ordered Digital Thermomerters but have not received them yet.
Rainer

If you are connecting to 1-wire bus, you connect it to the 1-wire terminal. If you connect it to analog or TTL input, you will need to connect to the 16 pin plug.  That part number is listed in the user guide.  Or you can use Ross' terminal board,  you can write to RossW on this forum to order it. or  there is another post in this sub forum  points to a plug and connector that you can purchase online...

Code:
http://cocoontech.com/forums/topic/26848-io-breakout-hardware/

I have used a old 16 pin dual header to 15 pin mini-D cable found in the older PCs. These were cables that extended the serial ports from the I/O board to the back of the PC case. One pin wiring is missing but I didn't need that one. From there an old serial extension cable split in half gets me loose wires to connect to terminals or solder. There are also break-out boards just for this particular port but you will also need a cable jumper.
Code:
http://www.ebay.ca/itm/IDC16-2x8-Pins-0-1-Male-Header-Breakout-Board-Terminal-Block-Connector-/370899087938?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_0&hash=item565b4ef242

Breakout board - whoda thought! Again, am new to this - at 57 trying to understand electricity :)
TYVM for that information - it does help.
Still have to figure out how to connect 7 temp sensors in a row, but I will experiment when I get the order.
Great help!

Rainer

TY for the link and I most likely will once I understand electronics a little more - currently I am still not sure how to connect temp sensors in a row, so, that has to be tackled first

rfeyer said:
I am still not sure how to connect temp sensors in a row,
What kind of sensor did you order?