PLC Code How To: Webset Every 5 minutes

ccthbsh01

Hi all,

I am still pretty new to the WC8 so please excuse me if this should have been obvious. I searched the forum but couldn't come up with the answer.

I have my WC8 setup to set variables on my ISY-994 upon the digital input status changes & is working fine. I want to set up a heartbeat to be sent every 5 minutes from the WC8 to the ISY by having the WC8 set an ISY variable every 5 minutes. This way ISY would alert me if the WC8 is down for some reason.

My question is how to setup the PLC code to have it do a Webset every 5 minutes? I cannot use delay since that would stop all the other WC8 stuff going on.

TIA.

Here is one basic idea how you could accomplish this. I created a time slice main routine based on a 6 second repeat / heartbeat.  Remember MOD(ulus) is your friend.

SEC0:
MOD CS UROM1 RAM2 # Div C)urrent S)econd by UROM1=6, remainder into RAM2
TSTNE RAM2 0 # check it for 0 remainder = timeslice 0
GOTO SEC0_DUN # not? then forget it
BNZ RAM1B1 SEC1 # Already done this timeslice? Then do next
CALLSUB CLOCK1 #
SET RAM1B1 1 # mark it as complete this timeslice
GOTO MAINLOOP # back to the PLC beginning
SEC0_DUN:
SET RAM1B1 0 # other timeslice? flag ready for next loop

SEC1:
TSTNE RAM2 1 # timeslice at 1 second mark
more PLC jobs

Here is my clock subroutine. I pack all the date and time together and ship it to ISY every 6 seconds and use it for a heartbeat and also to tell ISY what time it is, useable as individual elements.

CLOCK1:
TSTLT CYEAR 2014 # if clock isn't valid yet don't send it
GOTO CLOCK_X
MUL CMONTH 100 RAM2 # date and time format will be on integer MMDDhhmmss
ADD RAM2 CDAY RAM2
MUL RAM2 100 RAM2 #shift it left two decimal digits and keep adding LS values
ADD RAM2 CH RAM2
MUL RAM2 100 RAM2
ADD RAM2 CM RAM2
MUL RAM2 100 RAM2
ADD RAM2 CS RAM2
SETLED 1
SET VAR1 RAM2 #RAM2 is my global scratchpad variable.
WEBSET URL1 VAR1 #VAR1 is the last thing sent via WEBSET URL1
SETLED 0
CLOCK_X:
RET