Baby back pork ribs

mikefamig

Cocoontech has national and even some international participation so I think that it's a good place to ask this question. It ahs nothing to do with security or automation, it's about BBQ.

I've been using my wood pellet cooker for over ten years now and got pretty good at a few cooks and I especially love the baby back ribs. I had a recipe that didn;t fail me for many years and in teh last couple of years it's been so disappointing that I'm thinking of giving up the ribs altogether.

After a bunch of failures my wife and I have agreed that the problem is with the ribs themselves. We used to be able to get nice small baby back ribs at the club stores and at the local supermarket and cook up some great ribs. Now the ribs are all about twice or three times as large as we are used to getting and cook up like a pork cop. they are just too meaty and not fatty enough. After doing some research I learned that a rack of pork ribs can run from 1 pound per rack up to 3 pounds per rack and most of what I am getting now is 2.5 - 3 pounds and larger.

I have called a few butchers and they all remember the small ribs but claim that they can not get them anymore. No one knows (or is willing to say) why.

Can anyone out there with some knowledge of pig farming or the neat business help me out here?

Mike.

Interesting link. I'm pretty sure that you are right about it being cost effective to fatten up the pig and the chickens too but I don't want my pork ribs to come out like pork chops or pork tenderloin. I like tender juicy, fatty ribs and I can't find them anymore.

I used to get good ribs from Costo and BJ's but no more. The search goes on.

Mike.

Dammit!  I just finished dinner and now this topic has made me hungry again!  ;)

Craig

DELInstallations said:
I'll dig up a friend's farm info for you, will be local, probably in the Newtown/Bethlehem area of the state's .
That would be great!