Rookie Questions: Unit vs Scene vs Room

I'm new to HAI Omni and PC Access (Dealer Version), I configured all my switches with Upstart and trying to determine next steps.

When I setup "Units" there's RM1, then RM1-2, since I don't have a room controller do I skip the 1 unit of each room blank and setup unit 2 etc ?

In the links the unit starts at 001, but the RM2 unit number would be 002, so in the automation programming do I reference the link units or room units ?

How do I implement scenes ? 

When I setup "Units" there's RM1, then RM1-2, since I don't have a room controller do I skip the 1 unit of each room blank and setup unit 2 etc ?

Initially I did then later on did not as I do not have room controllers.  I did update most of my UPB switches to multitoggle and dual load switches.

In the links the unit starts at 001, but the RM2 unit number would be 002, so in the automation programming do I reference the link units or room units ?

Links

I implemented scenes with Upstart and reference them in PCA.

Personally here mapped out my stuff with the OPII in the notes section of PCA for the panel.

On the top if you want put your name, address, telephone and whatever else should be looked at in case of an emergency. (you do not have to do anything like this; it is up to you).

You can put names of users here too if you want.  It is easier to document your OPII stuff on a piece of paper; then go to configuring your panel.

You can do this initially say with notepad or something similiar.  If you do not want to utilize the notes section then just save a file on your PC along with a print out for you to refer to.

Zones -

Exit doors and windows?

1 - front door
2 - deck door
et al

3 - window-1
4 - window-2

5 - switch sensor for whatever -1
6 - switch sensor for whatever-2

7 - PIR #1
8 - PIR #2

Play with this some - mostly important to document what zone is what

Next document Units

1 - unit 1 - front coach lamps
2 - unit 2 - garage coach lamps