Ballpark Costs & Effort to move to AlarmRelay Cellular monitoring?

Sendero

I have an Elk M1 that I've been using with NextAlarm for 5+ years. However, I'm looking to add backup cellular monitoring and also probably move to AlarmRelay as I've heard their monitoring costs are less.

I see mention of needing to add a Uplink 4500EZ (along with extra power supply). What is required to 'activate' that 4500EZ with cellular service? Can I just plug in a freedompop sim and use its included free data? How much data is typically used in a month for the monitoring?

What am I looking at in terms of total cost?
4500EZ - $120 @ Amazon
Power supply?? I see the Elk P983 for $44+shipping. But I don't need the box. My ELK install location should be fine for cell reception so I was just planning on installing the 4500EZ next to the Elk Box. Just looking for basic power supply & battery. I have plenty of space in the Elk box to put them in there.

Monthly costs
What is cost for the service for 4500EZ?
What is the cost for AlarmRelay to add on cellular in addition to internet based monitoring? Their site seems to hide any detailed pricing info.

How hard is install of the 4500EX?

Thanks in advance!

If you want a power supply without the can that the P983 includes, just buy the Elk P624.  That's the same board that is used in the P983.  Another alternative would be an Altronix SMP3.  You can find them on eBay for $20 or less.

I wouldn't mount the 4500EZ right next to the M1, as there is the potential for RF interference. Better to locate it at least 6 to 10 feet away.

TurboSam said:
You're also going to need an M1XSP for the Uplink 4500EZ (but not the Uplink 4530EX).  

It's true that the 4530EX doesn't need a serial connection, but I believe the 4530EX differs from the 4500EZ as it is intended as the primary communicator, and not a backup for a POTS line.

The 4500EZ will also require a special cable to make the serial connection to the M1XSP.