Question about ethernet wiring

I have CAT5 pulled from each room in my house to a wiring closet.  In the rooms I am using leviton 8 wire ports and I have punched them down with the 568B standard.  In my wiring panel I have OnQ interface modules.  The punch down on the interface module is only color coded in pairs - blue, orange, green, brown.  Everytime I punch down my network test shows 1-2, and 3-6 miswired.  So I am assuming that changing the pairs in the wall jack but not at the interface module is causing the problem.  Should I be switching the pairs in the interface module in order for it to work?  As you can see I am not a network engineer so any help would be appreciated.  Thanks.

I believe the OnQ interface module uses 568A wiring. If you wired the other end using 568B, that would explain your problem.  Both ends must use the same wiring.

Ethernet cables have straight through wiring meaning pin1 connected to pin1, pin2 to pin2, pin3 to pin3 and so on up to pin8. The colors don't matter at all from a purely technical point of view but there are standards that should be followed. Following a standard makes life a lot easier for the next guy that works on the system.

The two common standards for cat cable are TIA 568A and TIA 568B. I chose to use 568B throughout my house. If you look very closely at a clear cable termination plug you can tell which standard was used on that cable by looking at pins 1 and 2. 568A will be the green pair and 568B will be the orange pair.

Here's a link that explains it pretty well:
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/TIA/EIA-568

Mike.

I just looked at the table in the link that I posted above and RAL is right on. 568A is the same as 568B with the exception of pins 1,2 3, and 6