Elk M1 or Homeseer

msayewich

Hey guys!

Got a new house I'm ripping down to the studs. Any tips on ensuring I prep the home to make sure it'll be accommodating for home automation? 

Also more on the topic title. I was planning on using the Elk M1 as the security system and the home automation system. But now I found this Homeseer product. I liked how the homeseer will integrate with the Nest thermostats and other smart products whereas the Elk doesn't. But the elk seemed like it had a really good security platform. Im just torn if i should do the Homeseer with the DSC alarm or Elk M1. 

Any tips helps! Im a complete noobie here!

msayewich said:
Hey guys!

Got a new house I'm ripping down to the studs. Any tips on ensuring I prep the home to make sure it'll be accommodating for home automation? 

Also more on the topic title. I was planning on using the Elk M1 as the security system and the home automation system. But now I found this Homeseer product. I liked how the homeseer will integrate with the Nest thermostats and other smart products whereas the Elk doesn't. But the elk seemed like it had a really good security platform. Im just torn if i should do the Homeseer with the DSC alarm or Elk M1. 

I'm very happy with my Elk M1. I use an ISY for home automation which works with the Elk M1. You may want to check out this forum: 

http://forum.universal-devices.com

My two cents....

ElkM1 for alarm and base automation controller is hard to beat (agree with the post above...Elk plus ISY is nice!) . 

Homeseer or some other PC based software controller (CQC, PowerHome, many others) will prvide higher level functionality to augment the "ladder logic" type built-proof base alarm/controller of the Elk..

I use Elk M1 AND Homeseer AND ISY... I don't see how I could get by eliminating any of them. Even my Stargate covers functions that cannot easily be moved to any of the other three platforms. There is no single platform that covers everything.