Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

New Alexa "Announce" Feature


  • Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 upstatemike

upstatemike

    Cocoonut

  • Registered
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 3556 posts
  • Location:CNY
  • Experience:novice
  • Hardware:Elk M1, HomeTroller, ISY-99, StarGate
  • Tech:INSTEON
  • Audio:Sonos
  • CCTV:ip
  • Phone:POTS

Posted 06 April 2018 - 12:02 PM

Having fun playing with the new Alexa "Announce" feature and seeing a lot of applications for it (especially as an easy way to call for help when elderly family members fall or just need assistance). Wonder when this feature will start getting incorporated into automation platforms for system announcements?



#2 ano

ano

    Cocoonut

  • Registered
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 3235 posts
  • Location:AZ
  • Experience:guru
  • Hardware:HAI OmniPro II
  • Tech:UPB, ZigBee
  • Audio:HAI
  • Phone:Ooma

Posted 06 April 2018 - 12:45 PM

Having fun playing with the new Alexa "Announce" feature and seeing a lot of applications for it (especially as an easy way to call for help when elderly family members fall or just need assistance). Wonder when this feature will start getting incorporated into automation platforms for system announcements?

That's a great feature.  If I could incorporate that with home automation, I'd buy more echos for every room.



#3 upstatemike

upstatemike

    Cocoonut

  • Registered
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 3556 posts
  • Location:CNY
  • Experience:novice
  • Hardware:Elk M1, HomeTroller, ISY-99, StarGate
  • Tech:INSTEON
  • Audio:Sonos
  • CCTV:ip
  • Phone:POTS

Posted 06 April 2018 - 12:50 PM

That's a great feature.  If I could incorporate that with home automation, I'd buy more echos for every room.

It also solves once and for all the question I had about what to use as a modern replacement for the "page all" feature of my Panasonic phone system.

#4 LarrylLix

LarrylLix

    Cocoonut

  • Registered
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1065 posts
  • Location:North, SouthWestern Ontario
  • Experience:guru
  • Hardware:ISY-99
  • Tech:INSTEON, 1-Wire
  • Video:XBMC
  • CCTV:ip
  • Phone:Ooma

Posted 06 April 2018 - 11:03 PM

That may be very useful! Thanks!!



#5 damage

damage

    Cocoonut

  • Registered
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1163 posts
  • Twitter:@doghouselabs
  • Location:silicon valley, ca
  • Experience:guru
  • Software:Custom
  • Hardware:TimeCommander+, Custom
  • Tech:X10-PLC, X10-RF, UPB, Z-Wave, ZigBee, 1-Wire, xAP, xPL
  • Audio:Squeezebox
  • Video:SageTV
  • CCTV:analog, ip, dvr
  • Phone:Asterisk, Linksys PAP2, OBi100/110

Posted 07 April 2018 - 04:25 PM

the eufy (anker) version of the dot is $19.99 right now https://slickdeals.n...exa-19-99-19-99



#6 upstatemike

upstatemike

    Cocoonut

  • Registered
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 3556 posts
  • Location:CNY
  • Experience:novice
  • Hardware:Elk M1, HomeTroller, ISY-99, StarGate
  • Tech:INSTEON
  • Audio:Sonos
  • CCTV:ip
  • Phone:POTS

Posted 08 April 2018 - 11:32 AM

Do Alexa enabled speakers like eufy support all of the native features like calling and intercom? I thought those features only worked on actual Amazon Echo products.



#7 damage

damage

    Cocoonut

  • Registered
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1163 posts
  • Twitter:@doghouselabs
  • Location:silicon valley, ca
  • Experience:guru
  • Software:Custom
  • Hardware:TimeCommander+, Custom
  • Tech:X10-PLC, X10-RF, UPB, Z-Wave, ZigBee, 1-Wire, xAP, xPL
  • Audio:Squeezebox
  • Video:SageTV
  • CCTV:analog, ip, dvr
  • Phone:Asterisk, Linksys PAP2, OBi100/110

Posted 09 April 2018 - 08:42 PM

not sure. i use google home instead of echo.



#8 LarrylLix

LarrylLix

    Cocoonut

  • Registered
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1065 posts
  • Location:North, SouthWestern Ontario
  • Experience:guru
  • Hardware:ISY-99
  • Tech:INSTEON, 1-Wire
  • Video:XBMC
  • CCTV:ip
  • Phone:Ooma

Posted 10 April 2018 - 10:21 PM

The ecobee4 with built in Alexa tells you it doesn't support the Announce feature yet.






0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users