Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

Elk M1G GE Wireless Sensor Questions


  • Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 malelan

malelan

    Newbie

  • New Member
  • Pip
  • 2 posts

Posted 23 May 2018 - 07:19 PM

I am migrating to an Elk M1G, i've installed the panel, and purchased the GE Wireless Sensor Module (Elk-M1XRFEG)  I've added the first two sensors that i had without a problem, and everything looks good, appears to be working.

 

When i pulled my 3rd sensor from my window, the sticky tape on the back of the sensor ripped off the label with the Tx ID and DL ID on it.  (or maybe it was ripped off before? it doesn't even look like on the back of my sticky tape that there is any evidence of the missing label.  I opened the sensor (i've been doing battery changes at the same time) and don't see any info in there that looks like a 6 digit Tx or DL,  

 

Is there any way for me to ID this sensor?  Can i look at the raw packets that my M1XRFEG picks up to ID the sensor?  When I open/close the sensor, i can see the lights on the M1XRFEG blink, so i know it's picking it up at 319 mhz,

 

Jon



#2 TurboSam

TurboSam

    Dedicated Cocooner

  • Registered
  • PipPipPip
  • 240 posts
  • Location:Seattle
  • Experience:average
  • Software:CQC
  • Hardware:Elk M1
  • Tech:X10-RF, UPB
  • Audio:Sonos
  • CCTV:ip

Posted 24 May 2018 - 10:55 AM

Yes, you can enroll the wireless transmitter from the Elk keypad. 

 

See page 11 of the M1XRFEG manual. 

 

Basically, you tell the keypad what zone you want to "learn," and then you remove the cover of wireless sensor without the ID which triggers the tamper spring/switch and the Elk picks us the signal.

 

Good luck!


Edited by TurboSam, 24 May 2018 - 01:12 PM.


#3 malelan

malelan

    Newbie

  • New Member
  • Pip
  • 2 posts

Posted 24 May 2018 - 08:29 PM

Thanks! this did the trick.  I had read through that a few times but skipped all the touchpad sections because i was doing all my programming through ElkRP, this makes sense and is way better than trying to read raw packet data.

 

One tip for anyone that may find this post looking for the same info I did.  My GE sensors are apparently pretty old, and they didn't have an "obvious" tamper switch when i popped the case off.  I actually had to slide the battery out and in a little bit to get the tamper to trigger and recognize the sensor.

 

Jon



#4 TurboSam

TurboSam

    Dedicated Cocooner

  • Registered
  • PipPipPip
  • 240 posts
  • Location:Seattle
  • Experience:average
  • Software:CQC
  • Hardware:Elk M1
  • Tech:X10-RF, UPB
  • Audio:Sonos
  • CCTV:ip

Posted 24 May 2018 - 08:51 PM

Glad it worked!



#5 ano

ano

    Cocoonut

  • Registered
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 3324 posts
  • Location:AZ
  • Experience:guru
  • Hardware:HAI OmniPro II
  • Tech:UPB, ZigBee
  • Audio:HAI
  • Phone:Ooma

Posted 24 May 2018 - 09:27 PM

Thanks! this did the trick.  I had read through that a few times but skipped all the touchpad sections because i was doing all my programming through ElkRP, this makes sense and is way better than trying to read raw packet data.

 

One tip for anyone that may find this post looking for the same info I did.  My GE sensors are apparently pretty old, and they didn't have an "obvious" tamper switch when i popped the case off.  I actually had to slide the battery out and in a little bit to get the tamper to trigger and recognize the sensor.

 

Jon

On GE sensors, if they don't have a tamper switch, then pulling out and reinstalling the battery will do it.






0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users