Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

Kodi 17 - Ubuntu 18.04 - MCE Remote


  • Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 pete_c

pete_c

    Cocoonut

  • -=Gold Supporter=-
  • 8609 posts
  • Location:House
  • Experience:average
  • Software:Main Lobby, Open Source Automation
  • Hardware:HAI OmniPro II, Mi Casa Verde Vera, Ocelot
  • Tech:X10-PLC, X10-RF, UPB, INSTEON, Z-Wave, ZigBee, 1-Wire, xAP, xPL, ALC
  • Audio:Russound
  • Video:MythTV
  • CCTV:analog, ip, dvr
  • Phone:Asterisk, FreePBX, Ooma, POTS, VoIP via ISP

Posted 13 July 2018 - 02:51 PM

Just upgraded my mini PC running Kodi 17 in Ubuntu 16.04 to Ubuntu 18.04.

 

Runs fine except that I noticed my MCE remote was not working correctly.

 

Fixing it to use the MCE IR remote control is easy.

 

1 - sudo apt-get install ir-keytable

2 - sudo mkdir /etc/rc_keymaps

3 - copy the rc6-mce config file from github to rc_keymaps file rc6_mce

4 - nano /etc/rc_keymaps/rc6_mce (copy and paste keymaps)

5 - sudo ir-keytable -c -w /etc/rc_keymaps/rc6_mce

6 - sudo reboot



#2 wkearney99

wkearney99

    Cocoonut

  • Registered
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1288 posts
  • Location:Bethesda, MD USA
  • Experience:guru
  • Software:EventGhost, Girder, Mister House, NetRemote
  • Tech:X10-PLC, X10-RF, Z-Wave, ZigBee, RadioRA, RadioRA2, Crestron, xAP, xPL
  • Audio:Russound
  • Video:Windows Media Center
  • CCTV:analog, dvr
  • Phone:Asterisk, Grandstream, Linksys PAP2, OBi100/110, POTS, VoIP via ISP

Posted 13 July 2018 - 03:02 PM

Which mini PC?  I've had a Qotom Q355G4 i5 running a pfsense router setup for several months now.  Plenty of CPU and throughput for my Fios uplink.


I'm debating an attempt at using another mini PC for the boat and maybe for travel.  I'd love to get as much as possible consolidated into one box. 



#3 pete_c

pete_c

    Cocoonut

  • -=Gold Supporter=-
  • 8609 posts
  • Location:House
  • Experience:average
  • Software:Main Lobby, Open Source Automation
  • Hardware:HAI OmniPro II, Mi Casa Verde Vera, Ocelot
  • Tech:X10-PLC, X10-RF, UPB, INSTEON, Z-Wave, ZigBee, 1-Wire, xAP, xPL, ALC
  • Audio:Russound
  • Video:MythTV
  • CCTV:analog, ip, dvr
  • Phone:Asterisk, FreePBX, Ooma, POTS, VoIP via ISP

Posted 13 July 2018 - 03:31 PM

Base here for Kodi boxes is (they are STB's for all LCD TV's here today).

 

1 - Aopen Digital engines

2 - Pipo X7 (new crop is smaller and faster) - there are a bunch of new Intel based mini PCs now which run Ubuntu just fine.

3 - Xi5A mini AMD cube

 

My personal preference is using Ubuntu for Kodi (versus Android or Windows).

 

I do save some streams to the SSD hard drive in the box for later viewing.

 

For just movie watching here purchased a tiny media player with SD / USB playback.  It is about 2" X 3" and has no network connectivity.

 

I was going to purchase small PC - same as you for PFSense and instead built a new PFSense box using a mini ITX board with 6 Gb Intel NICs. 

 

Probably spent more building it than purchasing the Qotom Q355G4.

 

Waiting a bit for next generation mini multiport PC for time bean.

 

You can also just purchase an el cheapo $50 Android box. 



#4 wkearney99

wkearney99

    Cocoonut

  • Registered
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1288 posts
  • Location:Bethesda, MD USA
  • Experience:guru
  • Software:EventGhost, Girder, Mister House, NetRemote
  • Tech:X10-PLC, X10-RF, Z-Wave, ZigBee, RadioRA, RadioRA2, Crestron, xAP, xPL
  • Audio:Russound
  • Video:Windows Media Center
  • CCTV:analog, dvr
  • Phone:Asterisk, Grandstream, Linksys PAP2, OBi100/110, POTS, VoIP via ISP

Posted 14 July 2018 - 07:39 AM

The qotom box is 'overkill' for acting as a SOHO router but I've long grown tired of underpowered junk letting me down.  

 

I'd really like to construct an all-in-one mobile server box. It's likely worth a whole separate thread, so:


http://cocoontech.co...le-htpc-server/



#5 pete_c

pete_c

    Cocoonut

  • -=Gold Supporter=-
  • 8609 posts
  • Location:House
  • Experience:average
  • Software:Main Lobby, Open Source Automation
  • Hardware:HAI OmniPro II, Mi Casa Verde Vera, Ocelot
  • Tech:X10-PLC, X10-RF, UPB, INSTEON, Z-Wave, ZigBee, 1-Wire, xAP, xPL, ALC
  • Audio:Russound
  • Video:MythTV
  • CCTV:analog, ip, dvr
  • Phone:Asterisk, FreePBX, Ooma, POTS, VoIP via ISP

Posted 14 July 2018 - 11:07 AM

Yeah here DIY'd a low energy but fast iSeries 3, 8-16 Gb of RAM, XXX 4 port Intel NIC (plus two on board)...more for multiple VPN connections, failover WAN and multiple internal LAN connections.  It is bigger than the NUC sized motherboards.  It doesn't fit in my Leviton Media can as planned.  Did upgrade can with a 24port managed switch and an 8 port managed POE switch which works for a small network all in one solution.






0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users