Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

Elk cannot access internet


  • Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 alexh

alexh

    Newbie

  • Registered
  • Pip
  • 9 posts

Posted 11 August 2018 - 04:50 PM

Hi,

 

Did everything by the book but no luck.

I have a newer Netgear router, Comcast ISP.

 

Static IP on M1XEP, port 2601 forwarded on router.

Selected Obtain DNS auto on M1XEP. FW 2.0.34.

I have rebooted M1XEP.

 

 

Can't update clock or FW and test dns fails.

 

For dynamic DNS, my understanding is that this is only for external internet access but I did use the router dyn dns function.

I don't have anything filled in on the M1EXP Dyn DNS page.

 

Thanks


 

Attached Files



#2 BraveSirRobbin

BraveSirRobbin

    Cocoonut

  • Moderators
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 7414 posts

Posted 11 August 2018 - 07:16 PM

Can you access from the local LAN?

Can you see what your WAN IP address is (what's my IP's site), then try that IP:2601?

#3 alexh

alexh

    Newbie

  • Registered
  • Pip
  • 9 posts

Posted 12 August 2018 - 01:14 PM

So I set the DNS servers manually on the M1XEP and it seems to work now.

AFIK the DNS addresses rarely change so it should be OK.

 

It seems the M1XEP is not completely compatible with my router?

 

It's a Netgear N750 which is a big seller on Amazon.



#4 BraveSirRobbin

BraveSirRobbin

    Cocoonut

  • Moderators
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 7414 posts

Posted 12 August 2018 - 09:18 PM

I looked up the manual and that router does custom port forwarding the dynDNS compatability.

What connection problems are you having? Are they while you are accessing within your LAN (behind the firewall) or outside of the firewall?

#5 alexh

alexh

    Newbie

  • Registered
  • Pip
  • 9 posts

Posted 13 August 2018 - 11:40 AM

Inside my LAN, testing from the PC based RP2 software. I was able to get it working by setting the M1EXP DNS servers manually to the Comcast DNS servers. Now I can update the M1 clock and send e-mails.

 

My router has the latest firmware.

 

I once had a problem with another web appliance (sprinkler controller) and the appliance support blamed my router. I then updated router firmware and the appliance worked so I think these appliance -router incompatibilities are not that uncommon.






0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users