Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

HAI/Leviton 4-Relay Module (Mounting)


  • Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 broconne

broconne

    Dedicated Cocooner

  • Registered
  • PipPipPip
  • 496 posts
  • Location:Cary, NC
  • Experience:average
  • Software:Elve
  • Hardware:HAI OmniPro II
  • Tech:UPB, 1-Wire
  • Audio:Nuvo
  • Video:SageTV

Posted 16 December 2018 - 02:01 PM

I am finally getting around to adding garage door control to my HAI system.  I am thinking about buying the 4 relay module, but it isn't clear how I could cleanly mount that in the same enclosure as my omni?  I don't see a mounting board, based on the pictures I don't see anywhere for plastic standoffs..  How do people mount this in a clean way?  

 

I also only need two relays..  So if I can't find a way to cleanly mount this inside of the box, is there a better alternative that can cleanly mount outside the box?  Some of the ELK relays look like they have holes for standoffs and are also a lot cheaper?  Has anyone gone that route?



#2 pete_c

pete_c

    Cocoonut

  • -=Gold Supporter=-
  • 9057 posts
  • Location:House
  • Experience:average
  • Software:Main Lobby, Open Source Automation
  • Hardware:HAI OmniPro II, Mi Casa Verde Vera, Ocelot
  • Tech:X10-PLC, X10-RF, UPB, INSTEON, Z-Wave, ZigBee, 1-Wire, xAP, xPL, ALC
  • Audio:Russound
  • Video:MythTV
  • CCTV:analog, ip, dvr
  • Phone:Asterisk, FreePBX, Ooma, POTS, VoIP via ISP

Posted 16 December 2018 - 06:50 PM

Good 3M double stick tape off to the side of the panel board. 



#3 ano

ano

    Cocoonut

  • Registered
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 3445 posts
  • Location:AZ
  • Experience:guru
  • Hardware:HAI OmniPro II
  • Tech:UPB, ZigBee
  • Audio:HAI
  • Phone:Ooma

Posted 16 December 2018 - 10:19 PM

You may only need two relays now, but you will likely need more in the future.  You don't need the Leviton ones as long as the relay has a diode to prevent kickback. The ELK ones are fine as they are diode protected.



#4 LQtechvn

LQtechvn

    Dedicated Cocooner

  • Registered
  • PipPipPip
  • 127 posts
  • Hardware:HAI OmniPro II
  • Audio:HAI
  • CCTV:ip, dvr

Posted 16 December 2018 - 11:14 PM

386036.jpg

 

Lot systems, that I was installed using external 12VDC coil din-rail relay working well since 2005.



#5 broconne

broconne

    Dedicated Cocooner

  • Registered
  • PipPipPip
  • 496 posts
  • Location:Cary, NC
  • Experience:average
  • Software:Elve
  • Hardware:HAI OmniPro II
  • Tech:UPB, 1-Wire
  • Audio:Nuvo
  • Video:SageTV

Posted 17 December 2018 - 05:50 AM

Good 3M double stick tape off to the side of the panel board. 

 

You have a picture you can share of that installation?  



#6 broconne

broconne

    Dedicated Cocooner

  • Registered
  • PipPipPip
  • 496 posts
  • Location:Cary, NC
  • Experience:average
  • Software:Elve
  • Hardware:HAI OmniPro II
  • Tech:UPB, 1-Wire
  • Audio:Nuvo
  • Video:SageTV

Posted 17 December 2018 - 05:54 AM

You may only need two relays now, but you will likely need more in the future.  You don't need the Leviton ones as long as the relay has a diode to prevent kickback. The ELK ones are fine as they are diode protected.

Awesome, they are a fair amount cheaper. 



#7 pete_c

pete_c

    Cocoonut

  • -=Gold Supporter=-
  • 9057 posts
  • Location:House
  • Experience:average
  • Software:Main Lobby, Open Source Automation
  • Hardware:HAI OmniPro II, Mi Casa Verde Vera, Ocelot
  • Tech:X10-PLC, X10-RF, UPB, INSTEON, Z-Wave, ZigBee, 1-Wire, xAP, xPL, ALC
  • Audio:Russound
  • Video:MythTV
  • CCTV:analog, ip, dvr
  • Phone:Asterisk, FreePBX, Ooma, POTS, VoIP via ISP

Posted 17 December 2018 - 10:42 AM

Here is a picture showing a CT forum member's 8 port relay attached to door and something else next to battery which could be a single relay.

 
haipanel.jpg

#8 broconne

broconne

    Dedicated Cocooner

  • Registered
  • PipPipPip
  • 496 posts
  • Location:Cary, NC
  • Experience:average
  • Software:Elve
  • Hardware:HAI OmniPro II
  • Tech:UPB, 1-Wire
  • Audio:Nuvo
  • Video:SageTV

Posted 17 December 2018 - 04:36 PM

Here is a picture showing a CT forum member's 8 port relay attached to door and something else next to battery which could be a single relay.

 
haipanel.jpg

 

Thanks!



#9 pete_c

pete_c

    Cocoonut

  • -=Gold Supporter=-
  • 9057 posts
  • Location:House
  • Experience:average
  • Software:Main Lobby, Open Source Automation
  • Hardware:HAI OmniPro II, Mi Casa Verde Vera, Ocelot
  • Tech:X10-PLC, X10-RF, UPB, INSTEON, Z-Wave, ZigBee, 1-Wire, xAP, xPL, ALC
  • Audio:Russound
  • Video:MythTV
  • CCTV:analog, ip, dvr
  • Phone:Asterisk, FreePBX, Ooma, POTS, VoIP via ISP

Posted 18 December 2018 - 09:08 AM

You have me neatening my panel can as I have 5 stickem's on the left side and a microrouter on the right side.  Noticed best stickem is that 3M lock.  I have two with double stick tape and 3 with the 3M lock stuff. (2 boards are for the smoke / CO 4 wire detectors, 2 are tiny 12VDC (with LED) power distribution boards and one relay board.  (very crowded).






0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users