Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

Help with Elk m1


  • Please log in to reply
2 replies to this topic

#1 Holmz

Holmz

    Newbie

  • Registered
  • Pip
  • 4 posts

Posted 13 January 2019 - 02:38 AM

We were forced to NBN in Australia, and everything was working swimmingly before under ADSL.
The router is an ASUS NRT16 running DDWRT, and not much has changed on that side.

All I did was just replaced a Vigor ADLS modem with a Vigor VDSL modem.

However the registration was from the ASUS using the Vigor ADSL as a bridge.

I do not think that the ASUS NRT16 can negotiate the VDLS handshaking with the Vigor-VDSL in bridged??
Now I can only get into the Elk with the iPhone app, and only when inside of the house.
It was accessible from the WAN but then the NBN modem did not allow the VoIP phones to come in.

 

 

Onto the near-term issue:

I need to add a sprinkler station, however

 

What i cannot connect to the M1EXP with the ElkRP S/W to the device in order to add a sprinkler station.

When I click network connection it says:

"Connection error: Could not connect.
Possible reasons: The port is not forwarded through the router.
The router Address or URL is incorrect, The remote site is down.
"

 

However the fact that the iphone hits it from the LAN seems to be at odds with that?

 

ASUS - Port forwarding:

On Protocol Src Address      Ext Ports Int Port Int Address Description On Both        172.16.0.21/24    2601         2601     172.16.0.21

Elk LAN

 

With ^that^ set up, then in the ElkRP using the "M1EXP SETUP" I can see the device.

And I can go into the iPhone and turn on a sprinkler.

And I cannot get to the device from the WAN side when away from the house.

 

I am open to some ideas to get into the system from the LAN side as a start

 

 

 

I would have thought that the WAN side would be something like:

 

On Protocol Src Address      Ext Ports    Int Port      Int Address Description On Both        <my Static IP>    2601          2601            172.16.0.21 Elk WAN

 



#2 wuench

wuench

    Cocoonut

  • Registered
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1639 posts
  • Location:St. Louis, MO
  • Experience:guru
  • Software:Harmony, Open Source Automation
  • Hardware:Elk M1, ISY-99
  • Tech:INSTEON, Z-Wave
  • Audio:Sonos
  • Video:Custom
  • CCTV:ip
  • Phone:OBi100/110

Posted 13 January 2019 - 12:19 PM

If you are on older firmware it could also be this:

https://www.elkprodu...s-compatibility



#3 Holmz

Holmz

    Newbie

  • Registered
  • Pip
  • 4 posts

Posted 13 January 2019 - 03:59 PM

Thanks Wuench. Maybe that is it?
Running Windows XP, and I changed out the M1EXP and now I can get in.

But I went to get the email working and the fields were too short for any 'free' smtp password. (Which seems pretty long).


Going to see if the VDSL modem can be bridged and the ASUS handshake.






0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users