Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

Z-Wave Toolbox


  • Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 upstatemike

upstatemike

    Cocoonut

  • Registered
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 3826 posts
  • Location:CNY
  • Experience:novice
  • Hardware:Elk M1, HomeTroller, ISY-99, StarGate
  • Tech:INSTEON
  • Audio:Custom
  • CCTV:ip, dvr
  • Phone:OBi100/110, POTS

Posted 25 February 2019 - 08:39 PM

If I was going to start playing around with Z-Wave is something like this a good idea to have? Or is it not all that useful?

 

https://www.zwavepro...ASACEgKqLPD_BwE

 

Also wondering why there are so many tools and programs for managing Z-Wave networks while I never see anything like that for Zigbee?

 

 



#2 ano

ano

    Cocoonut

  • Registered
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 3462 posts
  • Location:AZ
  • Experience:guru
  • Hardware:HAI OmniPro II
  • Tech:UPB, ZigBee
  • Audio:HAI
  • Phone:Ooma

Posted 25 February 2019 - 11:07 PM

Also wondering why there are so many tools and programs for managing Z-Wave networks while I never see anything like that for Zigbee?

I think you answered your own question.

 

When you first set up a Zigbee network, it does take a few hours to optimize the first day. Maybe even overnight. After that you never really need to worry about it again.



#3 macromark

macromark

    Dedicated Cocooner

  • Manufacturers
  • PipPipPip
  • 235 posts

Posted 02 March 2019 - 12:51 PM

Z-Wave Plus networks don't really need much attention at this point. I haven't "optimized" my network in nearly 5 years. Unless you're messing around with older 300 series products, I think it's a non-issue.



#4 upstatemike

upstatemike

    Cocoonut

  • Registered
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 3826 posts
  • Location:CNY
  • Experience:novice
  • Hardware:Elk M1, HomeTroller, ISY-99, StarGate
  • Tech:INSTEON
  • Audio:Custom
  • CCTV:ip, dvr
  • Phone:OBi100/110, POTS

Posted 02 March 2019 - 09:13 PM

Good to know. Thanks.






0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users