Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

I think I知 done with most of Google for HA


  • Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 Madcodger

Madcodger

    Dedicated Cocooner

  • Registered
  • PipPipPip
  • 402 posts
  • Location:Eastern PA, USA
  • Experience:average
  • Hardware:Elk M1, HomeTroller, ISY-99
  • Tech:INSTEON, Z-Wave
  • Audio:Sonos
  • Video:AirPlay
  • CCTV:ip
  • Phone:VoIP via ISP

Posted 11 May 2019 - 07:39 AM

Nest was not our first smart thermostat, but we had two for a while and I was a big defender of the brand early on, as it worked great and played well with HA systems (thanks to some smart plugin authors). We now have only one that has been tied into a pellet stove. But this takeover by Google and killing of the works with Nest program now means Im likely going to get rid of it because it will likely stop playing well with the rest of the system.

I think the lesson here is that I will no longer rely on anything Google, other than perhaps their browser and the fun of Maps and Earth, both of which are just novelties that would have little effect on me if they disappeared. Ive come to the conclusion that Google just doesnt play well with others, and when they buy a company, theres always a significant risk they will kill off the things that made it a good company/product. So yeah, Im out.

Also, to those of you who long argued with me about how cloud-based products were evil (I took the cloud-supporting view), Im much less sure of my past position. I dont think we can get away from cloud-based products for some things in todays world, but actions like this (by Google) do make these products/services seem a lot less reliable. My big fear now is with what could eventually happen to Ecobee, which is my current tstat flavor.

#2 BraveSirRobbin

BraveSirRobbin

    Cocoonut

  • Moderators
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 7450 posts

Posted 11 May 2019 - 04:12 PM

I'm still upset with Google for killing SageTV. :(



#3 George M

George M

    Dedicated Cocooner

  • Registered
  • PipPipPip
  • 165 posts
  • Location:Colorado
  • Experience:average
  • Software:CQC
  • Hardware:Elk M1
  • Tech:X10-PLC, INSTEON, Z-Wave
  • Audio:Nuvo
  • Video:SageTV

Posted 12 May 2019 - 08:30 AM

I'm still upset with Google for killing SageTV. :(

YES!

I still use my SageTV's daily.

Haven't seen anything that beats them.



#4 pvrfan

pvrfan

    Dedicated Cocooner

  • Registered
  • PipPipPip
  • 225 posts
  • Location:Near Toronto, Canada
  • Audio:AirPlay
  • Video:MythTV

Posted 12 May 2019 - 08:52 AM

... My big fear now is with what could eventually happen to Ecobee, which is my current tstat flavor.

 

Agreed.  I've had my Ecobee for 6-7 years (or is it more?) and I would have been more comfortable if they charged a few dollars per year for continued connection.  As it is, it is a kind of Ponzi scheme where new sales of the t-stat fund the ongoing operation of the installed base.  

 

That said, I wonder if the server-side stuff could be reverse engineered and replaced with a local proxy.  Probably wouldn't be able to have remote access anymore but that is my least-used feature.

 

Craig



#5 upstatemike

upstatemike

    Cocoonut

  • Registered
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 3826 posts
  • Location:CNY
  • Experience:novice
  • Hardware:Elk M1, HomeTroller, ISY-99, StarGate
  • Tech:INSTEON
  • Audio:Custom
  • CCTV:ip, dvr
  • Phone:OBi100/110, POTS

Posted 12 May 2019 - 10:35 AM

My Nest thermostats look good but otherwise are nothing special apart from the features added by an excellent Homeseer plugin. Ecobee looks good and I will likely switch to that. Being cloud based provides easy integration to Alexa and still works fine for manual control when the Internet connection is down. Ecobee is expanding its product line so the company seems healthy enough to risk the investment.

 

Does anybody know what frequency Ecobee uses for its remote temperature sensors? Are those 2.4GHz Wi-Fi or something else?


Edited by upstatemike, 12 May 2019 - 10:37 AM.


#6 vc1234

vc1234

    Dedicated Cocooner

  • Registered
  • PipPipPip
  • 275 posts

Posted 12 May 2019 - 03:28 PM

Does anybody know what frequency Ecobee uses for its remote temperature sensors? Are those 2.4GHz Wi-Fi or something else?

 

A proprietary 915MHz protocol.



#7 ano

ano

    Cocoonut

  • Registered
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 3462 posts
  • Location:AZ
  • Experience:guru
  • Hardware:HAI OmniPro II
  • Tech:UPB, ZigBee
  • Audio:HAI
  • Phone:Ooma

Posted 13 May 2019 - 08:12 PM

Google is EVIL. Don't forget that.

 

https://killedbygoogle.com/



#8 upstatemike

upstatemike

    Cocoonut

  • Registered
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 3826 posts
  • Location:CNY
  • Experience:novice
  • Hardware:Elk M1, HomeTroller, ISY-99, StarGate
  • Tech:INSTEON
  • Audio:Custom
  • CCTV:ip, dvr
  • Phone:OBi100/110, POTS

Posted 13 May 2019 - 09:39 PM

Google Nest is the new Revolv






0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users