Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

EZVIZ DB1 - Smart Video Doorbell, Wi-Fi Connected, 180 Vertical FOV, Free 3-Hour Cloud Storage $99.98


  • Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 pete_c

pete_c

    Cocoonut

  • -=Gold Supporter=-
  • 10065 posts
  • Location:House
  • Experience:average
  • Software:Main Lobby, Open Source Automation
  • Hardware:HAI OmniPro II, Mi Casa Verde Vera, Ocelot
  • Tech:X10-PLC, X10-RF, UPB, INSTEON, Z-Wave, ZigBee, 1-Wire, xAP, xPL, ALC
  • Audio:Russound
  • Video:MythTV
  • CCTV:analog, ip, dvr
  • Phone:Asterisk, FreePBX, Ooma, POTS, VoIP via ISP

Posted 16 December 2019 - 11:18 PM

  EZVIZ DB1 - Smart Video Doorbell, Wi-Fi Connected, 180° Vertical FOV, Free 3-Hour Cloud Storage

Is on sale on Amazon for $99.98
 
This is the Hikvision OEM clone that I wrote about above. It is running fine today without connecting to the cloud.
 
 

#2 sic0048

sic0048

    Cocoonut

  • Registered
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1622 posts
  • Location:USA
  • Experience:guru
  • Software:CQC
  • Hardware:Elk M1
  • Tech:CentraLite
  • Audio:B&K
  • Video:SageTV
  • CCTV:ip, dvr
  • Phone:Asterisk, FreePBX, OBi100/110

Posted 17 December 2019 - 10:04 AM

I picked one up a couple of weeks ago when they were on sale for $89.99.  Still a great buy at $99.99

 

IMHO, it is probably the best doorbell camera option available right now.  It has RTSP and ONVIF support as well as local SD card recording.  It has it's own OEM app that allows you to receive motion alerts and doorbell rings on mobile devices.  However it can also be set up on a local NVR system (like Blue Iris) and you can insulate it from the internet completely if you want.  The is certainly no cloud subscription required to make it work.  



#3 pete_c

pete_c

    Cocoonut

  • -=Gold Supporter=-
  • 10065 posts
  • Location:House
  • Experience:average
  • Software:Main Lobby, Open Source Automation
  • Hardware:HAI OmniPro II, Mi Casa Verde Vera, Ocelot
  • Tech:X10-PLC, X10-RF, UPB, INSTEON, Z-Wave, ZigBee, 1-Wire, xAP, xPL, ALC
  • Audio:Russound
  • Video:MythTV
  • CCTV:analog, ip, dvr
  • Phone:Asterisk, FreePBX, Ooma, POTS, VoIP via ISP

Posted 17 December 2019 - 11:14 AM

Wow $89.99 was a good deal.

 

Curious ...

 

Can you adjust the PIR sensitivity via the Hikvision Batch Configuration program? 

 

Mine saves motion / doorbell events just fine but the granular settings are ghosted out in Batch Configuration program.



#4 sic0048

sic0048

    Cocoonut

  • Registered
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1622 posts
  • Location:USA
  • Experience:guru
  • Software:CQC
  • Hardware:Elk M1
  • Tech:CentraLite
  • Audio:B&K
  • Video:SageTV
  • CCTV:ip, dvr
  • Phone:Asterisk, FreePBX, OBi100/110

Posted 17 December 2019 - 12:02 PM

Wow $89.99 was a good deal.
 
Curious ...
 
Can you adjust the PIR sensitivity via the Hikvision Batch Configuration program? 
 
Mine saves motion / doorbell events just fine but the granular settings are ghosted out in Batch Configuration program.

 
Not through the batch configuration tool.  But there is a setting in the EZVIZ Android app and I suspect a similar setting in any of the mobile apps that work with this camera.  To be honest, I'm not sure it actually does anything however.  I have it set to just 5' and it still triggers on motion much farther away than that (like 50' and farther). In fact, I got so annoyed at the camera's built in motion notifications that I actually turned them off completely. 

I use Blue Iris as my NVR and have ended up creating two sets of motion triggers for this camera.  The first will activate recording on pretty much any motion, including cars in the street, etc.  This way I don't miss any of the "action". However I do not get any notifications when this motion occurs so I am not overwhelmed with trivial events. Then I set up a second set of motion settings that are very limited and basically won't trigger unless someone is just a couple of feet from the camera.  This 2nd trigger doesn't record, but instead sends me a text message to my phone with an still image from the camera.  Because the trigger isn't fired until a subject is close to the camera, I get exactly the image I want - a full frame image of a person walking up to or standing at the door.
 
This has drastically cut down on the false motion events that I would get using the camera's built in notification settings. I've only had one false event since setting it up when a car's headlights hit the floor just right to trigger the event (but dozens of other cars each day/night haven't triggered the notification)

Edited by sic0048, 17 December 2019 - 02:13 PM.


#5 pete_c

pete_c

    Cocoonut

  • -=Gold Supporter=-
  • 10065 posts
  • Location:House
  • Experience:average
  • Software:Main Lobby, Open Source Automation
  • Hardware:HAI OmniPro II, Mi Casa Verde Vera, Ocelot
  • Tech:X10-PLC, X10-RF, UPB, INSTEON, Z-Wave, ZigBee, 1-Wire, xAP, xPL, ALC
  • Audio:Russound
  • Video:MythTV
  • CCTV:analog, ip, dvr
  • Phone:Asterisk, FreePBX, Ooma, POTS, VoIP via ISP

Posted 18 December 2019 - 04:37 PM

Yes mine too is a bit too sensitive.  That said noticed yesterday one delivery person did not ring the doorbell.

 

I have detached from using the cloud apps for the Hikvision Doorbell.  Using VPN and the direct connect Hikvision App which works fine for me.

 

Still tinkering with the Amazon Show / IP camera stuff.  2 IP cameras work well.  Doorbell does not yet work...thinking it the resolution of the Doorbell camera.



#6 sic0048

sic0048

    Cocoonut

  • Registered
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1622 posts
  • Location:USA
  • Experience:guru
  • Software:CQC
  • Hardware:Elk M1
  • Tech:CentraLite
  • Audio:B&K
  • Video:SageTV
  • CCTV:ip, dvr
  • Phone:Asterisk, FreePBX, OBi100/110

Posted 19 December 2019 - 10:16 AM

Apparently the doorbell inserts a special frame into the RTSP stream which is designed for the cloud server.  Unfortunately that has caused issues with trying to view it on smart devices. I've tried several things myself including using Monocle which is a third party Alexa plugin that should allow you to pull up the camera feeds and nothing works.  As far as I know, no one has been successful in getting it to work yet.  The best chance I think we have is that Monocle is working on a solution. Certainly let me know if you find the special sauce that gets it to work.
 
If you haven't found the thread on IPCamTalk about this camera, you might want to check it out.  https://ipcamtalk.co...p-camera.31601/

Edited by sic0048, 19 December 2019 - 10:17 AM.


#7 pete_c

pete_c

    Cocoonut

  • -=Gold Supporter=-
  • 10065 posts
  • Location:House
  • Experience:average
  • Software:Main Lobby, Open Source Automation
  • Hardware:HAI OmniPro II, Mi Casa Verde Vera, Ocelot
  • Tech:X10-PLC, X10-RF, UPB, INSTEON, Z-Wave, ZigBee, 1-Wire, xAP, xPL, ALC
  • Audio:Russound
  • Video:MythTV
  • CCTV:analog, ip, dvr
  • Phone:Asterisk, FreePBX, Ooma, POTS, VoIP via ISP

Posted 20 December 2019 - 09:20 PM

Thank you Brian.

 

Yeah here wrote about using Monocle and the issue I was having with the Hikvision OEM doorbell.

 

I was not aware of the cloud adds to the RTSP stream.

 

I have posted on the Monocle forum about this issue (well a few months ago) and never did see a response.

 

I have two other test Hikvision cams working with the Monocle Alexa Show plugin.

 

Hopefully we have a solution soon. 



#8 pete_c

pete_c

    Cocoonut

  • -=Gold Supporter=-
  • 10065 posts
  • Location:House
  • Experience:average
  • Software:Main Lobby, Open Source Automation
  • Hardware:HAI OmniPro II, Mi Casa Verde Vera, Ocelot
  • Tech:X10-PLC, X10-RF, UPB, INSTEON, Z-Wave, ZigBee, 1-Wire, xAP, xPL, ALC
  • Audio:Russound
  • Video:MythTV
  • CCTV:analog, ip, dvr
  • Phone:Asterisk, FreePBX, Ooma, POTS, VoIP via ISP

Posted 21 December 2019 - 12:07 PM

Wondering if some sort of RTSP proxy would work striping down the stream to it's basics?



#9 pete_c

pete_c

    Cocoonut

  • -=Gold Supporter=-
  • 10065 posts
  • Location:House
  • Experience:average
  • Software:Main Lobby, Open Source Automation
  • Hardware:HAI OmniPro II, Mi Casa Verde Vera, Ocelot
  • Tech:X10-PLC, X10-RF, UPB, INSTEON, Z-Wave, ZigBee, 1-Wire, xAP, xPL, ALC
  • Audio:Russound
  • Video:MythTV
  • CCTV:analog, ip, dvr
  • Phone:Asterisk, FreePBX, Ooma, POTS, VoIP via ISP

Posted 23 December 2019 - 01:30 PM

Started new posts on the ipcamtalk and monocle forum relating the the HikVision OEM Doorbell ==>

 

1 - HIKVISION OEM Doorbell (AKA RCA, EZVIZ, LAVIEW, NELLY'S, LTS)

2 - Monocle Forum



#10 pete_c

pete_c

    Cocoonut

  • -=Gold Supporter=-
  • 10065 posts
  • Location:House
  • Experience:average
  • Software:Main Lobby, Open Source Automation
  • Hardware:HAI OmniPro II, Mi Casa Verde Vera, Ocelot
  • Tech:X10-PLC, X10-RF, UPB, INSTEON, Z-Wave, ZigBee, 1-Wire, xAP, xPL, ALC
  • Audio:Russound
  • Video:MythTV
  • CCTV:analog, ip, dvr
  • Phone:Asterisk, FreePBX, Ooma, POTS, VoIP via ISP

Posted 15 January 2020 - 06:33 AM

Found some documentation of the Hikvision first generation doorbell for the EU.  The firmware is totally open as a standard Hikvision IP camera with web interface, ONVIF and RTSP streaming and no cloud connectivity.  This doorbell camera doesn't include a PIR though and is lower resolution.

 

It is sold by Hikvision and not OEM for the EU.






0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users