Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

What is anyone using for HDMI switches?


  • Please log in to reply
15 replies to this topic

#1 Monk

Monk

    Dedicated Cocooner

  • -=Platinum Supporter=-
  • 764 posts
  • Location:USA
  • Experience:average
  • Hardware:Elk M1
  • Tech:Z-Wave
  • Audio:Russound
  • CCTV:ip
  • Phone:OBi100/110

Posted 15 May 2020 - 03:34 PM

I bought one of these https://www.monopric...duct?p_id=15378 4x4 switches.

 

I need to return it due to a quirk I can't live with (RS-232 control circumstance) but at 169.00 I thought it worked quite well for the most part.

 

Now I'm looking at larger switches like this 8X8 https://www.monopric...duct?p_id=39665

Eight outputs is cool. Unless there are some super new specs or formats / resolutions coming out soon I'm probably going to buy this one.

 

Any / All comments welcome.

 



#2 picta

picta

    Dedicated Cocooner

  • Registered
  • PipPipPip
  • 876 posts
  • Experience:average
  • Software:Custom
  • Hardware:HAI OmniPro II, StarGate
  • Tech:X10-PLC, X10-RF, Z-Wave, CentraLite
  • Audio:HAI
  • Video:Custom

Posted 16 May 2020 - 02:14 PM

I bought one of these https://www.monopric...duct?p_id=15378 4x4 switches.

 

I need to return it due to a quirk I can't live with (RS-232 control circumstance) but at 169.00 I thought it worked quite well for the most part.

 

Now I'm looking at larger switches like this 8X8 https://www.monopric...duct?p_id=39665

Eight outputs is cool. Unless there are some super new specs or formats / resolutions coming out soon I'm probably going to buy this one.

 

Any / All comments welcome.


What was the "quirk"?



#3 Monk

Monk

    Dedicated Cocooner

  • -=Platinum Supporter=-
  • 764 posts
  • Location:USA
  • Experience:average
  • Hardware:Elk M1
  • Tech:Z-Wave
  • Audio:Russound
  • CCTV:ip
  • Phone:OBi100/110

Posted 16 May 2020 - 02:58 PM

Quirk was RS232 commands aren't what I expected.

 

https://forums.homes...93&d=1588968694



#4 picta

picta

    Dedicated Cocooner

  • Registered
  • PipPipPip
  • 876 posts
  • Experience:average
  • Software:Custom
  • Hardware:HAI OmniPro II, StarGate
  • Tech:X10-PLC, X10-RF, Z-Wave, CentraLite
  • Audio:HAI
  • Video:Custom

Posted 16 May 2020 - 04:05 PM

I have been using Monoprice 4x4 switch for a while, but I wrote my own script for it. I am still on HS2 so it is really easy to write drivers, ASCII or hex. The old Homeseer scripting is very powerful. If you have to use the current plugin, I would think that 8x8 switch from Monoprice would have the same protocol and may have the same "quirk". I was looking at this model to upgrade to 8x8: ="https://www.amazon.com/TESmart-Matrix-Switcher-Supports-Control/dp/B06XK47R52" The comm protocol for it is ASCII.    


Edited by picta, 16 May 2020 - 04:43 PM.


#5 Monk

Monk

    Dedicated Cocooner

  • -=Platinum Supporter=-
  • 764 posts
  • Location:USA
  • Experience:average
  • Hardware:Elk M1
  • Tech:Z-Wave
  • Audio:Russound
  • CCTV:ip
  • Phone:OBi100/110

Posted 16 May 2020 - 04:28 PM

Nope - Their support had to send me that particular doc, it wasn't 
published elsewhere.
Any other switch has docs I can readily get to. That particular switch is "different".
PS - your link doesn't go any where.

#6 picta

picta

    Dedicated Cocooner

  • Registered
  • PipPipPip
  • 876 posts
  • Experience:average
  • Software:Custom
  • Hardware:HAI OmniPro II, StarGate
  • Tech:X10-PLC, X10-RF, Z-Wave, CentraLite
  • Audio:HAI
  • Video:Custom

Posted 16 May 2020 - 04:45 PM

I got the RS232 spec from their site: https://www.te-smart.com/download



#7 Monk

Monk

    Dedicated Cocooner

  • -=Platinum Supporter=-
  • 764 posts
  • Location:USA
  • Experience:average
  • Hardware:Elk M1
  • Tech:Z-Wave
  • Audio:Russound
  • CCTV:ip
  • Phone:OBi100/110

Posted 16 May 2020 - 04:57 PM

That is fine - I'm almost certainly going to send it back. Go for an 8X8



#8 picta

picta

    Dedicated Cocooner

  • Registered
  • PipPipPip
  • 876 posts
  • Experience:average
  • Software:Custom
  • Hardware:HAI OmniPro II, StarGate
  • Tech:X10-PLC, X10-RF, Z-Wave, CentraLite
  • Audio:HAI
  • Video:Custom

Posted 16 May 2020 - 05:08 PM

Can you post the Monoprice 8x8 protocol?



#9 Monk

Monk

    Dedicated Cocooner

  • -=Platinum Supporter=-
  • 764 posts
  • Location:USA
  • Experience:average
  • Hardware:Elk M1
  • Tech:Z-Wave
  • Audio:Russound
  • CCTV:ip
  • Phone:OBi100/110

Posted 17 May 2020 - 07:23 AM

Argh. That one is also not directly accessible. I am liking the TESmart you linked to -  @~449 it would seem a bargain if it works as advertised. And the commands - they appear easily scripted you think? Maybe even do presets and choose by sending HTML strings/



#10 picta

picta

    Dedicated Cocooner

  • Registered
  • PipPipPip
  • 876 posts
  • Experience:average
  • Software:Custom
  • Hardware:HAI OmniPro II, StarGate
  • Tech:X10-PLC, X10-RF, Z-Wave, CentraLite
  • Audio:HAI
  • Video:Custom

Posted 17 May 2020 - 01:41 PM

I was looking at TESmart specifically because it uses ASCII strings and that allows me to link the switch to HAI. And the LAN protocol is good for web queries. Hopefully it does work as advertised.



#11 Monk

Monk

    Dedicated Cocooner

  • -=Platinum Supporter=-
  • 764 posts
  • Location:USA
  • Experience:average
  • Hardware:Elk M1
  • Tech:Z-Wave
  • Audio:Russound
  • CCTV:ip
  • Phone:OBi100/110

Posted 17 May 2020 - 01:49 PM

I decided to give it a shot - arrives Thursday.



#12 sic0048

sic0048

    Cocoonut

  • Registered
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1619 posts
  • Location:USA
  • Experience:guru
  • Software:CQC
  • Hardware:Elk M1
  • Tech:CentraLite
  • Audio:B&K
  • Video:SageTV
  • CCTV:ip, dvr
  • Phone:Asterisk, FreePBX, OBi100/110

Posted 19 May 2020 - 11:29 AM

Let us know how it works.

 

I'm still using a component matrix switcher and it works great.  But fewer and fewer TVs and source devices come with component inputs/outputs anymore.  I may be forced to switch to HDMI eventually.


Edited by sic0048, 19 May 2020 - 11:29 AM.


#13 Monk

Monk

    Dedicated Cocooner

  • -=Platinum Supporter=-
  • 764 posts
  • Location:USA
  • Experience:average
  • Hardware:Elk M1
  • Tech:Z-Wave
  • Audio:Russound
  • CCTV:ip
  • Phone:OBi100/110

Posted 21 May 2020 - 05:47 PM

I got it today. Have not hooked any video to it yet, checking the Serial / Lan abilities.

So far via serial I have tried most of the commands.

Create presets

Recall presets

Mute / unmute the key press "buzzer" as they call it.

Recall the current connection status - what input is connected to what output

Switch a single input to display on all outputs.

 

I haven't figured out the purpose of lan connection except to allow their app to control it.

The app they provide is near worthless / buggy. Trying to connect to it via web browser doesn't work.



#14 picta

picta

    Dedicated Cocooner

  • Registered
  • PipPipPip
  • 876 posts
  • Experience:average
  • Software:Custom
  • Hardware:HAI OmniPro II, StarGate
  • Tech:X10-PLC, X10-RF, Z-Wave, CentraLite
  • Audio:HAI
  • Video:Custom

Posted 22 May 2020 - 08:33 PM

Great to hear the serial part works. Mine is coming tomorrow. I will not have a need for LAN, but I guess it could be useful for someone who does not want to use the serial port.



#15 Monk

Monk

    Dedicated Cocooner

  • -=Platinum Supporter=-
  • 764 posts
  • Location:USA
  • Experience:average
  • Hardware:Elk M1
  • Tech:Z-Wave
  • Audio:Russound
  • CCTV:ip
  • Phone:OBi100/110

Posted 23 May 2020 - 10:30 AM

Testing begins.

I have had two sources / 2 outputs on continuously for > 24 hours.

I created a HS event that  alternates the sources back and forth between the outputs every 10 minutes.

There are anomalies, not enough for a return. I've seen reviews that mention what I'm seeing - one monitor blanking for a second when another output is switched to the same input. The 4x4 Monoprice also does this.

And of course - the LED panel stays on constant + power is extra bright.

 

I don't know the resolution of either source + I don't have anything 4K to send it. Going to have to fix that.






0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users