Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

Phone line TIP/RING voltage?


  • Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 MRL

MRL

    Dedicated Cocooner

  • Registered
  • PipPipPip
  • 180 posts
  • Location:Maryland USA

Posted 05 June 2006 - 07:49 AM

Before I send my ELK control back due to the dialer not working, what is the voltage reading I should get between TIP and RING from the phone company?

#2 Guy Lavoie

Guy Lavoie

    Dedicated Cocooner

  • Registered
  • PipPipPip
  • 794 posts

Posted 05 June 2006 - 08:22 AM

The nominal voltage should be 48 volts dc (with all phones on-hook). With one phone off hook, it should drop to around 6 volts or so.

Edited by Guy Lavoie, 05 June 2006 - 08:23 AM.


#3 MRL

MRL

    Dedicated Cocooner

  • Registered
  • PipPipPip
  • 180 posts
  • Location:Maryland USA

Posted 05 June 2006 - 08:36 AM

I am getting between 42.5 and 45 volts across the TIP/RING terminals in the phone company demark box. Could this be the reason my ELK M1G will not dial out. My home phones work fine.

#4 electriclight

electriclight

    Cocooner

  • Registered
  • PipPip
  • 59 posts

Posted 05 June 2006 - 09:07 AM

Your phoneline voltage measurements are typical, so not likely to be the problem with dialing out. You also get dialtone when you take you house phone off hook so the phone company is happy with your line conditions.

#5 upstatemike

upstatemike

    Cocoonut

  • Registered
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 3340 posts
  • Location:CNY
  • Experience:novice
  • Hardware:Elk M1, HomeTroller, ISY-99, StarGate
  • Tech:INSTEON
  • Audio:Sonos
  • CCTV:ip
  • Phone:POTS

Posted 05 June 2006 - 09:26 AM

While you are there, verify your polarity. Tip should be positive and Ring negative. Tip is also your ground because phone lines are positive ground circuits.

#6 Spanky

Spanky

    Cocoonut

  • Manufacturers
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 2482 posts
  • Location:Hickory, NC USA
  • Experience:guru
  • Software:Custom
  • Hardware:Elk M1
  • Tech:X10-PLC, X10-RF, UPB
  • CCTV:ip
  • Phone:VoIP via ISP

Posted 05 June 2006 - 09:33 AM

What does user menu 8,6,4, "Last On Hook Voltage" say? If it has around 48 volts it may not be the control hardware.

#7 MRL

MRL

    Dedicated Cocooner

  • Registered
  • PipPipPip
  • 180 posts
  • Location:Maryland USA

Posted 05 June 2006 - 11:10 AM

I connected the RJ31X directly to the Elk eliminating the RJ45 plug/cable. Problem solved. Bad RJ45 plug/cable? I went by the RJ31X RJ45 cable color description on page 7 of the installation manual. I assume that is correct. Elk dialer now working fine.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users