Elk M1 Gold as a HVAC Zone Controller

In order to save money on energy and increase the comfort level in my house, I wanted to temperature control multiple zones. Through my research, I found that a complete 5 Zone installation can be quite expensive: http://www.cocoontech.com/index.php?showtopic=4150

Some items like controllable dampers are necessary, but costs incurred from others like the zone controller and extra thermostats could be avoided. I wrote up code for my Elk M1 Gold to basically replace the zone controller and multiple controllable thermostats. I've been running this code on my home system for a few months now and thought that others may want to try it out. This code saved me over $1000 in hardware.

I have 2 HVAC units (one for each floor). The downstairs is mostly open space, so zoning won't really help. I have zoned my upstairs (one bedroom per zone) and with this code I control all 6 zones (1 for downstairs and 5 bedrooms). Currently I am using only 2 controllable thermostats (RCS TR16) and temperature probes for each bedroom. I haven't installed dampers yet.

It was challenging to create a state machine given the limited language of the Elk control panel. Although this code is fairly stable (I haven't made any changes to it in a long time), you should consider this beta code. I haven't fully tested out everything (for example, I don't have the dampers installed yet). If you choose to use this code and experience unexpected behavior, please debug it. You can use the Ethernet module to email you on triggered events or perhaps use CQC to log the changes in outputs and temperatures.

Requirements:
1) Elk M1 Gold with some space for these additional rules. The amount of space that this code takes up depends on a number of things like the number of zones and how many windows you have and what features you want to implement. My system is at about 50% usage including some non HVAC control code.