Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

Cowon Q5W


  • Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 DeLicious

DeLicious

    Dedicated Cocooner

  • Registered
  • PipPipPip
  • 751 posts
  • Location:Dallas, TX

Posted 06 March 2008 - 10:56 AM

Check out this link for an interesting device: http://www.cowonamer...ucts/cowon/q5w/

It's labeled as a PMP, but it runs on top of Windows CE, has a 5" touchscreen with 800 x 480 resolution, built-in wi-fi and bluetooth, and flash 7 built into the web browser. Seems like it could serve a whole bunch of purposes including running ElkRM (windows and resolution), running the upcoming HSTouch (flash 7!), among any number of other things...

does anyone have any experience with one of these?

#2 thumbnail

thumbnail

    Newbie

  • Registered
  • Pip
  • 3 posts

Posted 13 March 2008 - 12:24 AM

wow. it looks like a neat gadget! is it out yet? how much is it for? :lol:

#3 Photon

Photon

    Dedicated Cocooner

  • Registered
  • PipPipPip
  • 437 posts
  • Location:SE Wisconsin
  • Hardware:Elk M1
  • Tech:X10-PLC
  • Video:Windows Media Center
  • CCTV:analog, ip
  • Phone:Vonage

Posted 07 November 2008 - 11:43 AM

How about this smaller version: http://www.windowsfo...5616302369.html

2.9" touchscreen display, 4GB storage, microSD expansion slot, WiFi, web browser

Expected to sell in Korea for $156 (equiv USD)

I suppose with a sub 3-inch touchscreen it might be difficult to control one's M1XEP though.

#4 sic0048

sic0048

    Cocoonut

  • Registered
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1570 posts
  • Location:South Carolina
  • Experience:guru
  • Software:CQC
  • Hardware:Elk M1
  • Tech:CentraLite
  • Audio:B&K
  • Video:SageTV
  • CCTV:ip
  • Phone:Asterisk, FreePBX, OBi100/110

Posted 07 November 2008 - 02:21 PM

Jetmall.net has it for sale. 40gb unit runs $369.99.

Too bad it runs Windows CE. If it was XPe or something like that I would be all over this. I'd use it for a wireless touchscreen to control my CQC system. I currently use some Nokia N800 and N770's for this purpose. But they have to RDP into another CQC machine which just adds a layer of complexity. With Windows CE I'd still have to RDP the same way.

#5 hucker

hucker

    Dedicated Cocooner

  • Registered
  • PipPipPip
  • 501 posts
  • Location:98072
  • Experience:guru
  • Software:CQC
  • Hardware:HomeVision
  • Tech:X10-PLC, UPB, 1-Wire, xPL
  • Audio:Russound
  • Video:SageTV
  • CCTV:analog

Posted 07 November 2008 - 02:21 PM

Looks like they are going for 600 to 700 Canadian

http://www.ncix.com/.....Cowon America




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users