Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

Minibroker with vs2008


  • Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 mdonovan

mdonovan

    Dedicated Cocooner

  • Registered
  • PipPipPip
  • 321 posts
  • Location:York Haven Pa
  • Experience:average
  • Software:Elve, Custom
  • Hardware:Elk M1, Custom
  • Tech:Custom
  • Video:XBMC
  • CCTV:analog, ip, dvr

Posted 08 March 2008 - 11:44 AM

I wondered if anyone is using VS.Net 2008 (specifically vb.net) with the minibroker. I am getting COM errors when trying to use the .Connect method. Here is a code snippet:

Private miniBroker As ISYSMiniBroker = New SYSMiniBrokerClass
Private root As IRemotePremiseObject

Private Sub Form1_Load(ByVal sender As Object, ByVal e As System.EventArgs) Handles Me.Load
root = miniBroker.Connect("LocalHost", "", "")
PremiseObjectTree.Nodes.Add(New TreeNode(root.DisplayName))
End Sub

I am using a tutorial I found here: http://www.satter.org/premise/

This line: root = miniBroker.Connect("LocalHost", "", "") causes an ambiguous COM error.

Has anyone had any luck with using the minibroker nd vs.net 2008?

Matt

#2 kzboray

kzboray

    Cocooner

  • Registered
  • PipPip
  • 55 posts

Posted 08 March 2008 - 12:37 PM

I am not a programmer so take this with a grain of salt. But according to the Motorola/Premise Site...

Version 2.1
Published: 01/19/2006
Compatible with Visual Studio 2005 only

Download HSDK 2.1 (16.3MB)
New changes in Version 2.1

Version 1.0
Published: 04/11/2004
Compatible with Visual C++ 6.0, Visual Studio .NET 2002, Visual Studio .NET 2003

Download HSDK 1.0 (29.4MB)

#3 John in VA

John in VA

    Dedicated Cocooner

  • -=Gold Supporter=-
  • 240 posts
  • Location:Reston, VA
  • Experience:average
  • Software:Premise
  • Tech:INSTEON
  • Audio:Nuvo
  • Video:Windows Media Center
  • CCTV:analog, ip, dvr
  • Phone:Vonage

Posted 08 March 2008 - 12:51 PM

I'm not using VS2008 yet, but I discovered (painfully) how to make it work with VS2005. Check out this topic



VS2005 setup with minibroker

#4 mdonovan

mdonovan

    Dedicated Cocooner

  • Registered
  • PipPipPip
  • 321 posts
  • Location:York Haven Pa
  • Experience:average
  • Software:Elve, Custom
  • Hardware:Elk M1, Custom
  • Tech:Custom
  • Video:XBMC
  • CCTV:analog, ip, dvr

Posted 08 March 2008 - 04:16 PM

I fought with this for a while, then I decided to uninstall & reinstall Premise. After I did that, it now works. I loaded up the vbconnect sample from the minibroker sample code, and that runs fine in vs.net 2008, targeting the 3.5 framework.

In case anyone's interested

Matt

#5 Grayson Peddie

Grayson Peddie

    Dedicated Cocooner

  • Registered
  • PipPipPip
  • 401 posts
  • Location:Altha, FL 32421
  • Software:Open Source Automation
  • Video:MythTV

Posted 08 March 2008 - 05:50 PM

An SDK that is compatible with Visual Studio 2005 with no mention of Visual Studio 2008 doesn't mean it's not compatible with Visual Studio 2008.

I can say the same for Visual C++ 6.0, but then you'll have to upgrade the project to Visual Studio 2003, 2005, or 2008, depending on what you're using. However, VB6 to VB.net is very similar, but there are some differences in syntax. Visit .NET Journal: Converting VB6 to VB.NET, Part I for more information.

#6 mdonovan

mdonovan

    Dedicated Cocooner

  • Registered
  • PipPipPip
  • 321 posts
  • Location:York Haven Pa
  • Experience:average
  • Software:Elve, Custom
  • Hardware:Elk M1, Custom
  • Tech:Custom
  • Video:XBMC
  • CCTV:analog, ip, dvr

Posted 08 March 2008 - 09:12 PM

Agreed, especially since the .Net frameworks version 3.x are really the version 2.0 framework plus additions. I expected it to work with vs2008, but apparently something somewhere got hosed up when I installed Premise.

Matt




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users