10 years ago today...

Guy Lavoie

...Windows 95 was released with a level of hype and fanfare that hasn't been seen since. What are your thoughts on Win 95? Were you an early adopter or did you wait till it proved itself somewhat? Whas it a turning point in personal computing?

Myself, I waited a fair bit before using it, since I hadn't really used Win 3.1 much either, sticking to reliable ole DOS as long as it worked for me. I guess it was the need to access the Internet that created my first real need for a graphical OS.

I was an early adoptor. I like technology and I'm a programmer that, at the time, work for a software company that did multimedia software so we were looking at porting our app to the new world of 32 bits.

Eric

I was a beta-tester. By the time it was released I had four machines running it on a WinNT network. Looking back, it was not nearly as painful as the more recent upgrades. Except for the MSN part . . .

Since Win3.1 I have pretty much jumped on board each significant Win OS as they came out. I am sure I'll do the same with Vista. I even looked for a download link but found you have to be on the MS subscription program - unless someone else has a better link to share???

I used Windows 3.1 until WinME and 2K came out. My only home PC at the time was a 486 75mhz Laptop that had only a floppy and 40MB HDD. At work (DoD seems to wait a few years to change OS's, I'm just now starting to see wide-spread use of WinXP) we used Windows for workgroups (3.11, I think) until 1999/2000, although there were some units on the "cutting edge" that used NT4.0.

My first upgrade at home was when I bought a PC with WinME on it in September 2000. That machine (PIII800), now running XPHome, is still the primary PC at home, with the newest PC in the house (AthlonXP2600+)dedicated to HomeSeer/MLServer and the like, running XPPro... The old PC is fine for email, web browsing, and even PhotoShop, FlashMX, and DreamWeaver.